RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Allison Transmission Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2018, 07:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lottsburg, VA
Posts: 9
Allison Push Button shift selector - blank display

Have 2000 National Tradewinds with Caterpillar 3126B, Allison MD/HD/B Series Transmission (WTEC III Controls) on Freightliner chassis with 100,900 miles. Caterpillar mechanic replaced the injection actuation pressure sensor and valve based on error codes from engine. The chassis batteries went dead during the three month period before I returned to RV. I fully recharged them. After doing so, the Allison push button selector is "dead" (display blank, only a red light by mode switch "on"). All the dash lights come on during the startup check and all go out except for the "CHECK TRANS", "LOW AIR", and "OIL PRESSURE" lights. According to Freightliner help desk, I must have power to the shift selector or the engine will not start. Well, I've explored all the chassis fuses and relays both back by the transmission and in the driver's compartment that I can find. All fuses are good, relays "look" OK, can't readily test them but did swap "neutral start" and "neutral sense" with new relays. In exploring the wiring based on drawings from Freightliner, it appears that the shift panel only connects to the ECU (gray connector) so I'm guessing that the ECU is NOT supplying the necessary power to the shift panel, therefore it's unable to communicate to the ECM that the transmission is in neutral, and therefore, everything is "locked" out. BTW, yes I did check the battery voltage - it's about 12.6 with nothing on, 13.2 with charger running.

Has anybody had this problem (remember, with the display dead there are no error codes) and do you have any suggestions? Are there any other TCM power supplies links I need to find and check? I'm about 100+ miles from nearest repair facility and trying to get my rig running to avoid a long tow with whatever damage that might possibly cause. Thx
__________________

__________________
Bob R
Northern VA area
Bob7370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-14-2018, 07:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Shawnee OK
Posts: 256
sounds like he left something disconnected
__________________

__________________
99 Itasca, Sunflyer, ISB Cummins/Allison 36L
Skiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 03:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 169
I have the same problem, did you manage to solve this?
__________________
97 Discovery 36RS
00 Subaru
wirelessenab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 02:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 2,848
Maybe a fuse in the transmission VIM blew. There are some 10A fuses in there. See photo. On my coach the VIM is located in the front electric bay.

Mechanic working on your coach may have pinched a wire or something causing it to blow.

Good luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Allison Transmission ECU and VIM.JPG
Views:	51
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	225195  
__________________
- Mike
2005 Beaver Patriot-Thunder, 42ft, Tag, 525HP Cat C13, Allison 4000, carrying a 2014 V-Star 1300 Deluxe on a HydraLift
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 05:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 361
Had similar problem with my 07 but it was only a corroded connection under the coach driver's side - I think behind the rear tires. Took them all of 30 minutes to complete the work at Shebonna Creek RV, Atkinson, IL. Have had no further problems with mine.
__________________
2007 Itasca Meridian 34H; 2017 Buick Enclave; 2002 Jeep Liberty (Toad); Retired US Army MSG (20 years AFS); Retired Minister
rrtribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 09:12 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lottsburg, VA
Posts: 9
Thanks, still working on this

Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryB View Post
Maybe a fuse in the transmission VIM blew. There are some 10A fuses in there. See photo. On my coach the VIM is located in the front electric bay.

Mechanic working on your coach may have pinched a wire or something causing it to blow.

Good luck.
Thanks! I have the electrical diagrams from Freightliner and located the 10amp fuses with a bunch of relays. Have probably located just about every fuse and relay in the coach and underneath. All check good, the 10amp fuses have 12v on both sides of fuse with ignition on. Seems like a loose/corroded wire or something inadvertently knocked loose. Mechanic coming back out and we'll crawl under the rig for a more thorough inspection. Seems odd, though, that the Mode light on the push button shifter panel is lit up when I turn the ignition on. I would think that would mean that the shifter is getting power, have no idea why the display is totally blank.
__________________
Bob R
Northern VA area
Bob7370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 09:12 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lottsburg, VA
Posts: 9
Not yet, stay tuned!
__________________
Bob R
Northern VA area
Bob7370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 08:28 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lottsburg, VA
Posts: 9
Smile Allison blank display fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirelessenab View Post
I have the same problem, did you manage to solve this?
YES, finally! Because of weather delays and availability of a qualified mechanic willing to travel to my RV I just got this fixed three days ago.
Unfortunately for me, it wasn't the simple fix of a fuse, bad wire, corrosion, etc. The display itself was bad. Mechanic rechecked my work on fuses, etc. then decided to swap out the push button shift display with his test unit before digging deeper. He unplugged my original, plugged his in, and the old girl sprang to life!
I now have a brand new one installed ($1,086 part price for those wondering), and my RV is finally drivable.
__________________
Bob R
Northern VA area
Bob7370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 05:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 169
Thanks for completing the answer to this problem!
__________________

__________________
97 Discovery 36RS
00 Subaru
wirelessenab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
allison



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duo Therm 5 button thermostat blank display herbsells RV Systems & Appliances 5 12-12-2016 04:31 PM
No power to starter Relay, not the Allison Push Button Shift pad? Goochygoo15 Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 10-19-2016 08:26 AM
Strange display on Allison shift selector sdlowe11 Allison Transmission Forum 17 10-27-2014 06:37 AM
Allison - Display blank when cold fix gofastnow Allison Transmission Forum 2 03-16-2010 02:40 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.