Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Allison Transmission Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 03-03-2012, 04:56 PM   #1

when to change transmission fluid?

hi i am new to rv, and seriously in market for one... i was talking with an owner of a 98 country coach intrigue yesterday, who told me that he had never serviced transmission as he didn't believe it was required. the coach has 83k miles on it, shouldn't be fluid change overdue? he also said he changed oil every 6kmi (traditional oil) and changed the filter every 10kmi but no receipts. i was wondering how could he change oil filter without oil change? Could somebody shed some light? thanks.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-03-2012, 05:11 PM   #2

Even when an Allison transmission is filled with Transynd, the advanced synthetic fluid which is now recommended (it didn't exist in 1998), the suggested interval for changing fluid and filters is 3-4 years since most RVers don't drive the necessary 100,000 miles between fluid changes. I do fluid sampling, which validates the fluid's condition, and gives me confidence with respect to changing it.