RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Duramax Engine Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2010, 06:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 767
computer chip

has anybody put a chip on there deisel. have duramax o4 5500 chassie. bought a used class c has a bulldog chip on it called company they said it . was out dated and can't be upgraded. here about gator, wan't to update any suggestion?
__________________

new rver is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-20-2010, 07:13 PM   #2
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,479
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by new rver View Post
has anybody put a chip on there diesel. have Duramax o4 5500 chassis. bought a used class c has a bulldog chip on it called company they said it . was out dated and can't be upgraded. here about gator, want to update any suggestion?
You can call Brazels RV Performance for some insight into what they do on DMax Engines. I know that they do have DMax solution. I'm not sure about your 2004.
__________________

__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 12:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 17,318
Brazels RV Performance and a few other diesel performance programs are excellent. Some cheaper "chips" do not have the necessary features to prevent inadvertent engine damage.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG 11B5MX retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA." My fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country. John F. Kennedy
Ray,IN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 10:14 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Vectra_Bob's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Curently traveling , MO,NE, SD IA
Posts: 11
Send a message via Skype™ to Vectra_Bob
I had a 2003 Duramax 6.6L and ran a Hyperteh Max Power unit on it. It is better than a Chip as it tunes all of the items you need to set where a chip just does some of them. I have it listed for sale under the part on here. I can tell you it makes a big difference in pulling as we had a 39' Montana with 4 slides and we were full-timers with a lot of stuff with us we maxed out at just over 14,000# that we were towing. It pulled the moutians fine and the settings on the fans kicked in to keep temps in line. Power was a lot better and so was the fuel usage from stock. We just sold out truck and fifthwheel and changed to a MH.
Vectra_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 03:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
Brazels RV Performance and a few other diesel performance programs are excellent. Some cheaper "chips" do not have the necessary features to prevent inadvertent engine damage.
Back in 2007 I had two chats with some customer service reps.. One from Workhorse and one from Ford.

Both told identical stories of customers who had seriously "Upgraded" their engines.. With the result of needing a full major overhaul to replace damaged components in the engine.. NOT just the Ultra Power or Banks Power pack but these folks had used some "Discount" Upgrade Chips. With predictable results.

There's a hole, there's a hole there's a hole in the piston in the block.

One thing I have read about the folks who sell Untra Power (Brazel's and Redlands) is that they stand behind their upgrades.

You buy from Joe's Engine Chips. and when the thing goes BOOM on you.. Well, Joe... has changed his name to Pete and he won't talk to you.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 04:53 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 767
yes i agree.
new rver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 07:06 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Vectra_Bob's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Curently traveling , MO,NE, SD IA
Posts: 11
Send a message via Skype™ to Vectra_Bob
We pulled our 5th wheel for over 30,000 miles and there was never a problem with the Hypertech Max Energy unit or the Duramax engine. In fact it ran smoother, and cooler when under a load, and pulling a 39 ' 14,000 # 5th wheel will do that for sure in the mountians. I know that one of our RV buddy's rig had a "Chip" in it and he was overheating all of the time, but is was not a GMC I think it was a Ford 350. Most of the Escapees that I talked to preferred the programer to the chip. Any thoughts on the difference between the two?
Vectra_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 12:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wingnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 3,861
"One thing I have read about the folks who sell Untra Power (Brazel's and Redlands) is that they stand behind their upgrades."

What do they say when Ford voids the warranty simply because you had the Ultra Power unit on it?

Joe
__________________
'15 38RSSA Mobile Suites
'05 36TK3 Mobile Suites--retired but not forgotten
'17 F450--trying one more Ford
'09 F450--died, replaced with '10--retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 01:52 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Vectra_Bob's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Curently traveling , MO,NE, SD IA
Posts: 11
Send a message via Skype™ to Vectra_Bob
I could just go online and download any upgrades for my Hypertech MaxPower programer, and then hook up the control unit to the computer and it was updated. Then it was just a simple hook up to the truck computer and go through the questions and save it and I was upgraded. Fast and easy. My DuraMax ran great with this unit programed. More power, and ran cooler, and fuel milage was better as well. No complaints.
Vectra_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 07:03 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 24
I have a used DiabloSport Predator for 2001-2004 LB7 Duramax engines for sale it you want it. This unit is unlocked and ready for use. I traded my 02 for an 08 and don't have a use for this tuner anymore. They run $309.00 new. I will sell it for $150.00 plus shipping. PM me if you're interested. The website below shows the details for the tuner.

DiabloSport :: Gas and Diesel Tuning Systems
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Predator_1.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	6525  
__________________
1999 Holiday Rambler Aluma-Lite
unit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 10:13 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 17,318
This is from the Diablo website that unit is talking about. " DiabloSport strongly recommends the use of larger diameter performance exhaust components and exhaust temperature gauges with the use of any performance diesel tuning." This is true for any performance enhancing product, not just Diablo.
A diesel engine is a heat engine; approximately 1/3 of heat produced is exhausted, 1/3 is absorbed by the cooling system and radiated from the engine proper, 1/3 is producing power. As you can see, if you increase heat production (increase HP) you must also provide means for getting more heat away from the engine faster.
To me this means one must install a larger exhaust system and gauges BEFORE increasing HP.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG 11B5MX retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA." My fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country. John F. Kennedy
Ray,IN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 07:34 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 24
The Duramax has a three inch diameter, factory exhaust and is more than adequate for the lower horsepower settings on the Predator. However, I wouldn't run a tuner without an EGT gauge, because you do need to know what the temps are. If you want the truck to come alive, then put a tuner on it. You'll love the performance and no - you won't harm the truck unless you abandon all reason. In addition you can use the tuner to monitor many engine functions, such as injector balance rates - key indicators of injector failure on the early Dmax engines and you can adjust the speedometer for different size tires. Not many owners are fans of the 245 factory tires and go to 265's. The Predator can correct the speedo so you know how fast you're really going and you can keep accurate mpg figures.
__________________
1999 Holiday Rambler Aluma-Lite
unit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 07:15 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 24
Sorry boys - I sold the tuner!
__________________
1999 Holiday Rambler Aluma-Lite
unit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 03:59 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 832
Once you install a chip, it is detectable after you take it out.

A tuner leaves no imprint.

Just saying.......

Kerry

Kerry
__________________

two-niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer chip mikeyrph Newmar Owner's Forum 6 05-17-2010 09:25 PM
RAM Computer Mount Installation Theberrys National RV Owner's Forum 9 12-06-2009 07:08 PM
Cheap Tablet Computer for VMSpc Display Fred Cooper MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 11-24-2009 03:36 PM
Ultrapower C7 chip results The Woodieboys Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 9 06-04-2008 03:42 PM
Banks computer chip John&Mona Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 04-09-2007 05:06 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.