RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRUCK CONVERSIONS, MDT's & HDT's FORUMS > Truck Conversions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2019, 08:43 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 72
How To Know When Shore Power Is Lost

Twice now I have lost 120 volt power while plugged in at campsites. Since the inverter takes over seamlessly there is no notification. Besides looking at the dark inverter remote on the front bulk head is there any other way to know you lost shore power? I wish one outlet was not wired to the inverter so I could plug in a simple alarm. You could easily destroy your batteries if you don't know you lost incoming power while on generator quiet time.
__________________

tdeperte is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-24-2019, 08:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,579
Funny, but I plugged Christmas lights into the pedestal at a CG with power outage issues.

If the lights went out, I knew the power was out.

Maybe you could do something like that with an alarm.
__________________

twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 09:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5,681
I installed a Onan AGS EC-30W which requred it be plugged into an outlet not powered by the inverter. One of my outlets behind the Norcold was not powered by the inverter so I used an extension cord, drilled a small hole from a cabinet next to the fridge into the cavity behind the fridge and stretched the cord and then spliced it back together, leaving the female end exposed in the cabinet, I then ran the small plug end up to the remote start and I was done. When the remote start is activated and the temp in the RV reaches the set point the generator starts.

If you have a plug like this you could use it to provide an indicator when shore power is on.

If not go right to the service panel and just splice into a wire.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 09:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdeperte View Post
Twice now I have lost 120 volt power while plugged in at campsites. Since the inverter takes over seamlessly there is no notification. Besides looking at the dark inverter remote on the front bulk head is there any other way to know you lost shore power? I wish one outlet was not wired to the inverter so I could plug in a simple alarm. You could easily destroy your batteries if you don't know you lost incoming power while on generator quiet time.

I have a plug in voltage monitor that is also a night light. If it's off, so is my shore power.


In your coach - with the inverter - just plug it into an outlet that is not powered by the inverter.


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07JN1JDC1/
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 01:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 203
The Verona has virtually every outlet powered thru the inverter. In mine I added a new circuit and breaker to the shore panel panel ( shore power only directly powers the ac, dryer and hot water.....no plugs) and added extra plugs. That way I can run 2 things at once and not blow the 2000watt inverter and as a bonus, when that plug doesn’t work, I know shore power is out.
netjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 01:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo_RV_Guy View Post
I have a plug in voltage monitor that is also a night light. If it's off, so is my shore power.


In your coach - with the inverter - just plug it into an outlet that is not powered by the inverter.


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07JN1JDC1/
Not possible in a stock Verona.
netjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 01:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,384
Laundry is likely an outlet not on inverter that a power monitor could be detected. However the alarm needs to be disabled at time - li mh e when traveling - then re-enabled once camp is set up.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 01:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,799
Recent thread, maybe some idea's Shore power indicator light ?
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 03:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,346
My air conditioners quit working and my battery voltage starts to drop.
__________________
1993 Tiffin Allegro Bay 32'
Soppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 09:58 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 72
I think vsheetz idea will work in my situation since every other outlet in the Verona is on the inverter. I don't have the washer or dryer so those outlets are available for a plug in monitor alarm. I forgot about those outlets, thank you. I'll just unplug it for travel.
__________________

__________________
Tony
2019 Renegade Verona 40 VRB
2019 Ram 1500 Brake Buddy Select II
tdeperte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugging into shore power trips shore power breaker BFF Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 8 07-28-2017 10:53 PM
Lost shore and gen power 2002 Affinity MarylandRich Country Coach Owners Forum 39 03-05-2017 09:20 PM
Pets and hot weather & lost of shore power RVBuddy Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 03-21-2016 02:35 PM
Lost shore power Chickenman Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 07-29-2012 05:57 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.