RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRUCK CONVERSIONS, MDT's & HDT's FORUMS > Truck Conversions
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2018, 12:19 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
This might help. Hope my description is intelligible.

On the 2018 M2 106 under my 2018 Verona 36VSB it appears that provision has been made for future routing of wires/cables/airlines between the cab side and engine side of the M2 firewall.

There is a "gasket" directly adjacent to where the brake valve is mounted on my M2 firewall. The gasket is rectangular maybe ~2"wide (horizontal) and ~5 "tall. This gasket has numerous preformed, but not punched out, holes in it of varying size. These holes, if punched out easily allow wires or tubes of different sizes to pass thru the engine firewall bulkhead. On my M2, all of the currently present things passing thru this gasket appear to be tubing associated with chassis air brakes, and also camera cables. No electrical wires. There are many remaining and unused "punch outable" ports unused and of various diameters. In one punched out hole in the gasket on my M2 there is a ~3/8" piece of tubing inserted thru. It extends about 10" on either side of the firewall. It is much easier to find this on engine side than it is on interior cab side. There is nothing in this tubing, no wires, cables, just an empty piece of tubing. You con blow thru it from engine side into the cab.

I do not know the intended purpose of my piece of used gray tubing. Perhaps intended for an option I didn't purchase. Outside air temp sensor? Who knows.

Anyway, this feature looks to make it very easy to run a 12V wire(s) from engine compartment thru cab firewall and will be nicely sealed. Put a split lomb over the wire on the engine side along with a 20 amp circuit breaker and all would
seem well.

DeetsMaggie
__________________

DeetsMaggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-28-2018, 05:49 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
lslblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 163
TwinSix - did you ever get this figured out? I spent 15 minutes looking at the engine compartment of my Valencia tonight and can't find an easy place to pick up 12V. The instructions they sent reference a 12 volt lug you can tie into on the driver fender, but I don't think the S2 has it.

Anyone else successfully hooked up a Build 5 center console on an S2RV chassis?
__________________

__________________
2019 Regnegade Valencia 38BB
lslblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 09:49 AM   #17
Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 52
I think the reference to the 12V lug by the fender may refer to the fuse block that's there.
My guess anyway.
__________________
Walt
2019 Renegade Valencia 38RW
Gone: 2015 Seneca 36FK / 2010 Tiffin Allegro RED
WaltW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 10:39 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
lslblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 163
The instructions that come with the console have some pictures, and 1 picture shows a 12V lug next to some sort of distribution panel. S2 chassis doesn't have it. It has a bunch of wires going into little fuse boxes, but I can't for the life of me find the main 12V feed.
__________________
2019 Regnegade Valencia 38BB
lslblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 10:46 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 33
Have one. Mine was unwired same unit they just give you wire and connectors.

The best is to run a hot wire under dash to the power port under hood
There is a rubber groument with other wires you will see a red silicone was on min poke a hole for wire with a ring terminal do not connect yet

Install inline fuse the connect power to the console.

If your using a 2 wire harness it good to use a good under hood but can connect to any solid ground. Check for continuity with a meter.

Once you fused and grounded hook up power lead. It should be good to go

FYI. I recommend soidering and heat shrink all connections it will last for ever.

They do offer 2 models one with scan gauge cut out and one with out.
If you have a cut you new to buy the scan gauge and plug into port under driver side dash. Note if you plan on using a bully dog or similar you can not use your port for scan gauge. Unless you install and remove to reconnect scan gauge.

I recommend the bully dog that has its gauges built in and you leave connected. They sell one for under grand that you can program and then rep lug in scan gauge.

You can also contact a FL dealer and have them get the program from Cummins to get your 8.9 up to 450hp and 1250 torque.
It big money but it fully under warranty when you do.
Use a after market programmer they work great but. Remember to go back to stock program before going to dealer with a problem can and will void warranty if they no it is installed.
RichieCt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 07:17 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
lslblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 163
Thanks for the info. Can you give more details what the "power port" is? Where is it? What does it look like?
__________________
2019 Regnegade Valencia 38BB
lslblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 09:54 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Ziggy8321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: St Augustine, FL
Posts: 220
lslblues

I noticed you live about 50-60 mins away from me. If you feel like bringing your Valencia to St. Augustine, I believe I can help you get the console installed and working.

PM me if interested.
__________________
Paul
This opinion is worth what you paid for it
2018 Renegade Verona 36VSB
Ziggy8321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 12:13 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
lslblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 163
Ziggy - appreciate the offer very much. I found my answer over on the Renegade facebook group. There is a solenoid on the firewall that provides the 12V feed to the trailer plug. That's the most common place people are grabbing the 12V from on Valencias.

Going to get it hooked up this weekend.
__________________
2019 Regnegade Valencia 38BB
lslblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 04:19 PM   #23
Member
 
TwinSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by lslblues View Post
Ziggy - appreciate the offer very much. I found my answer over on the Renegade facebook group. There is a solenoid on the firewall that provides the 12V feed to the trailer plug. That's the most common place people are grabbing the 12V from on Valencias.

Going to get it hooked up this weekend.
lslblues, I posted all of my info with pics in the Renegade FB Group. I hope they helped you. Good luck with the install. Take your time and enjoy the time spent making your Rig Yours.
TwinSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 01:07 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 110
First time out this weekend in our 2019 Verona 36VSB. I see the need for the Build 5 Fab console so I just placed and order for one. It's a shame Renegade does not offer this product as an option.
__________________
Ray and Angie
Northern Virginia
2019 Verona 36 VSB
SSTuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 05:22 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 288
For the record.....the ScanGauge gets its power from the port and therefore does not need to be hard wired in. Two small angles hold the Fab5 to the floor. Plenty of room between front seats with console installed. I had Freighliner hard wire the power ports in so they are hot all the time
ragoodspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 06:44 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
lslblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 163
A fellow Renegade owner posted some great instructions over on Facebook Renegade group with photos and instructions on how to install. It is very easy once you know what you are looking for. Took me about 15 minutes to wire it up after reading his post.

Just my $.02, I thought the ScanGauge down in the console was too low. I want to be able to see things like instant MPG, transmission temp, etc. and didn't want to look down there to see it. I got mine without the SG mount and put my SG higher on the dash so it was easier to see.
__________________
2019 Regnegade Valencia 38BB
lslblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 06:16 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 110
Found the photos from FB that Patrick S. posted on his Build5 install in a S2RV chassis model Valencia. Pictures like these are very helpful.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	abuild5.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	78.8 KB
ID:	210878   Click image for larger version

Name:	bbuild5.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	210879  

Click image for larger version

Name:	cbuild5.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	210880   Click image for larger version

Name:	dbuild5.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	210881  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ebuild5.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	80.0 KB
ID:	210882   Click image for larger version

Name:	fbuild5.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	151.0 KB
ID:	210883  

__________________
Ray and Angie
Northern Virginia
2019 Verona 36 VSB
SSTuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 10:47 AM   #28
Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 52
lslblues, the way the console is wired do you have power at the outlets all the time or only with the ignition key on?
__________________

__________________
Walt
2019 Renegade Valencia 38RW
Gone: 2015 Seneca 36FK / 2010 Tiffin Allegro RED
WaltW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, wiring



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Renegade Valencia Review Ever4ward Truck Conversions 56 12-24-2018 06:58 AM
New Renegade Valencia IslandGuy New Rig Show-Off! 14 04-29-2018 06:31 AM
Renegade Valencia tail drag IslandGuy Truck Conversions 0 02-10-2018 10:11 PM
Renegade Valencia wolfwgn Truck Conversions 13 12-11-2017 08:56 PM
2018 Renegade Valencia Ever4ward iRV2 Owners Registry 0 09-19-2017 05:00 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.