RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRUCK CONVERSIONS, MDT's & HDT's FORUMS > Bus Conversions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 06-05-2019, 05:30 PM   #1

Looking for some advice and constructive criticsm

Hello IRV2,

Just joined the group because I'm looking for some advice from others that have "been there done that".

Accidental Love........

A few weeks ago I stumbled onto a 4x4 20 passenger super duty diesel twin turbo shuttle bus with two 40 gallon tanks and deleted DEF. Took it for a test drive and was completlely blown away by the power.

Backstory....

I have no experience with busses or diesels, and had no intention of ever becoming a bus owner or diesel owner up until about 21 days ago. I'm an avid RVer whos owned Class A/B/C, truck camper and 30 foot travel trailer. Currently living full time out of my travel trailer. Which if I am hooked up is literally a penthouse. Dual vanity bathroom, 800 sq feet of living space, massive slideout, tons of storage, solar and useable counter space. Its perfect for me......if I had a permanent destination. Which I don't.

I am always traveling around which means the gas tank is always stealing my money. The rig itself is 30 + feet. Add the truck to tow it and I'm basically a 40-45 foot rig who needs at least a 50 foot parking spot minimum, but 60-70foot parking spot is more realistically required.

This setup does kind of work for urban/city boondocking, but not really. This rig is super comfortable and allows me to carry all of my gear, but I constantly have to be checking with google maps to see what turn around options lie ahead. I am tired of having just enough engine power to move, but not enough trust in my engines power to go wherever I damn well please.