RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-01-2010, 08:39 AM   #1

Winnebago Owners Club
Brake issues//temps at the rotors/calipers

I recently purchased a 94 Winnebago Suncruiser 34RA with a chevy P30 frame. Just to be on the safe side for my family and others on the road----I would like to confirm a couple of things. The brakes are working fine at present. It does not pull to one side or the other when the brakes are applied. I am new at this RV experience. I am just respecting this machine and others on the road. I recently took a 2-3 hr road trip. The outside temp was 98 degrees. I thought I heard a possible brake dragging sound a couple of times. I took a temp gun along and checked the temp at each wheel (rotors/calipers) and I got as high as 250 degrees f to as low as 140 degrees f at diff intervals. Does anyone know what is a satisfactory temp for this procedure? With outside temp near 100, the temp on the asphault has got to be much higher. Your thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks,
James

94bago is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!