RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2010, 03:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Dash Display Woes

W20 2004 Safari Trek 31SBD

This is an ongoing problem. Some time ago I posted that I was having problems with my dash dislay module. It was suggested that I send in the module and get a new one. I did that and a new one cured the problem with reading the digital display. It is now a very readable orange.

I put in the new display and the old "other" problem is still there. That problem is that I cannot shut the display off without disconnecting the chassis battery.

Here is the sequence.

Start with the chassis bat disco'ed.

Put the key in try to start nothing happens to anything.

Connect the chassis bat and the fun begins.

Put the in the key-nothing happens, display dead.

Turn the key to acc position-nothing happens, display still dead.

Turn the key to start-engine starts and display is still dead.

Turn on the headlights and the dash starts working!

Turn the lights off and the dash keeps working.

Eng runs a minute or so-"CHK BATTERY VOLTAGE" displays and alarm sounds.

An aside: With eng running, put the emergency brake on, dash alarm lights. Release the brake and the tach goes to zero and returns to show idle speed, alarm buzzer stays on.

Turn the key off-engine stops-dash stays on. Remove the key and dash is still on.

AT this point the dash displays, "NO 1850 ACTIVITY", "NO 1939 ACTIVITY" "CHECK BATTERY VOLTAGE" messages with eng off and key removed.

Disconnect the chassis batt and the dash turns off.

I know that I have seen in these threads that I probably have a ground problem. I have cleaned the battery chassis ground point. I know that somplace in fooling with this new dash that it read on the display that the batt voltage was 10.3. On my rig info panel, eng running, the voltage is 14 and with the eng off it is 12 and change.

I have crawled under the dash and wiggled lots of wires, with no changes.

The bottom line is that I can drive the rig, but with a constant alarm sounding. I expect that is due to the LOW VOLTAGE alarm displayed on the dash. Not so bad for me cause I can't hear anyway, however the navigator has to wear ear plugs.

Anyone have any ideas?

roger1938
__________________

roger1938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-04-2010, 05:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
My first thought while reading this was, as you indicated, a ground issue. You might try pressing and holding the house battery transfer switch just to see if it is a battery problem.
__________________

__________________
Scott
2003 Allegro, 32BA, W20,'06 Saturn Vue, Demco Aluminator, RM9700, R1150RT B'mer
SE Louisiana
RottenRalph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:22 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Scott,

I did try engaging the house battery and it didn't change anything.

Roger
roger1938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:34 PM   #4
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,488
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger1938 View Post
I did try engaging the house battery and it didn't change anything.
Roger, I'm going out on a limb .... is it possible or not that the 2 plugs that connect to the back of he IP might have gotten crossed? I'm just asking ... have not visited the possibility. Whatever is wrong with your IP display has got to be something obvious. Stuff like that just don't happen.
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:54 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
The plugs are keyed such that they will only go in one way. I will try spraying some contact cleaner on them.

Also, this is exactly what was happening before I installed the new IP. I expect that the problem is someplace in the chassis. The only thing that the new IP solved was the problem I had reading the display.

I called WH today and they said take it to a WH shop, gee thanks for that guys.

Roger
roger1938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 12:43 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mfire1339's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glendora Ca.
Posts: 1,442
Roger, Have you tried calling Monaco to find where the ground connections are for the dash?


Mike
__________________
2004 Monaco Monarch
Blueox, SMI, 1990 Wrangler YJ
mfire1339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 03:34 AM   #7
Member
 
SuperMike's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
I have exactly this on my Winnebago which is also built on a W20 chassis. The dealers are coming to my house this coming wednesday to have a look. Over the phone they seem to think it is an earth problem. Anyway, as it is only been a few months since the rig left the Winnebago factory and with only 1490 miles on the clock, it's their problem. I will let you know what they find, if they fix it then.
__________________
Regards
SuperMike
SuperMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:51 AM   #8
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,488
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger1938 View Post
The plugs are keyed such that they will only go in one way. I will try spraying some contact cleaner on them.
Roger, If you do that make sure it specifically says, electrical contact cleaner and not some other product.
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:54 AM   #9
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,488
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMike View Post
I have exactly this on my Winnebago which is also built on a W20 chassis. The dealers are coming to my house this coming wednesday to have a look. Over the phone they seem to think it is an earth problem. Anyway, as it is only been a few months since the rig left the Winnebago factory and with only 1490 miles on the clock, it's their problem. I will let you know what they find, if they fix it then.
You've got to be British or Commonwealth. I certainly do want to know the outcome of this session. It's not very often that you will get a Winnebago dealer to come to your house to repair your vehicle. You stated dealers. Is there more than one dealer responding to the location of your vehicle?
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:55 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriVer View Post
Roger, If you do that make sure it specifically says, electrical contact cleaner and not some other product.

Roger that.

Roger
roger1938 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 03:59 PM   #11
Member
 
SuperMike's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriVer View Post
You've got to be British or Commonwealth. I certainly do want to know the outcome of this session. It's not very often that you will get a Winnebago dealer to come to your house to repair your vehicle. You stated dealers. Is there more than one dealer responding to the location of your vehicle?
Yes we are in England and there is only one official Winnebago Dealer in Europe and that is Dudley's in Witney near Oxford. There are lots of grey imports, but we chose to go the offical route for obvious reasons and paid top £ for the honour. So far, can't fault the service and this will mean a 140 mile round trip for Mike Edwards, their top mechanic and the man in charge of their workshop, who is coming personally.

Excellent, lets hope he has the answer.

The link to our RV as it stood at Dudley's http://www.dudleys-rv.com/reg/RtvJV
__________________
Regards
SuperMike
SuperMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 04:16 PM   #12
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,888
On most Workhorse chassis there is a ground post welded to frame, off this post there will be ground wires for the HWH leveling system and other white ground wires that I believe go to fuse panels above under dash.
When I got my coach new the wire nut to hold these wires was loose and connection dirty.
Traveling on salty roads or just road grime will cause some problems.
The bolt is located drivers side up on cross brace of frame.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 04:36 PM   #13
Member
 
SuperMike's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by "007" View Post
On most Workhorse chassis there is a ground post welded to frame, off this post there will be ground wires for the HWH leveling system and other white ground wires that I believe go to fuse panels above under dash.
When I got my coach new the wire nut to hold these wires was loose and connection dirty.
Traveling on salty roads or just road grime will cause some problems.
The bolt is located drivers side up on cross brace of frame.
Thank you, I will have a look tommorrow. It might save the mechanic man a trip.
__________________
Regards
SuperMike
SuperMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 04:39 PM   #14
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29,888
Here is the Workhorse Tech Bulletin for ground post.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Load on Dash display footdoc Newmar Owner's Forum 7 03-16-2010 05:17 PM
Dim Display In Dash Radio CoCoDave Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 11-03-2009 07:21 PM
Freightliner dash display goes to inverse display -- how to change? rv rick Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 7 05-12-2008 10:46 AM
7" LCD monitor added to dash to display VMS software SargeW RV Systems & Appliances 1 10-30-2006 06:10 AM
ACTIA IP DASH DISPLAY PANEL- DISCUSSION !!!!???? "007" Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 20 02-08-2005 05:18 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×