RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-29-2006, 08:33 PM   #1

Workhorse Chassis Owner
First a little background info. In my last life I was a logic design engineer. Designed many systems similar to the inst panel, worked with everything that would be inside that panel now. That was 20 years ago. I would think that most components would be refined from my time frame, but I sure doubt that about the LCD module that is being supplied to Actia.

As most know, when you turn on the ignition, the panel goes thru a self test or what I would call a power up reset (just like your computer). If you watch the lcd readout when you turn the key, it goes dark momentarily. If you look close and see white lines, either horizontal and/or vertical, those are the row/column drivers going south.

My panel was replaced in Jan 05 because the lcd became and stayed very hard to read. Since then, I have been accustomed to watching the lcd each time I turn the key. Just came back from a 20 day trip and about the middle to the trip I saw a bunch of white lines. Actually I had to laugh to myself. Every time I started up in the morning or after a rest or gas stop, the failure pattern would be different and as I would be driving the display would get better at times and worse at times. This is very common for electronic components, but you can be assured that the LCD is slowly dieing. The last couple of days coming home, you had to look very close to see any bad segments.