Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2010, 09:02 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
LCD Display on instrument Cluster

OK, I know I have seen this one before but I can't find it.

The LCD Display on my instrument cluster is gone out. I know that I have to send it back to mfgr., but I don't know to whom, nor do I have their address. I thought that the mileage info should be stored in the computer and the LCD was simply a reader, but according to my WH Service center that ain't so. Mfgr. has to reset the replacement using the ionformation stored in bad one.

Domestic Duc
__________________

__________________
Domestic Duc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-11-2010, 09:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 4,991
The odometer is supposed to accumulate mileage (this is either by law or by ASE standard, maybe both). So it takes info from the computer network constantly & calculates distance traveled, compares it for "reasonableness" against last known good calculation (since the computer sensors send garbage data from time to time), stores the last 8 or so consecutive mileage updates (again in case the odometer's software/hardwarehas a brain fart), and displays the figure it feels good about (I just made that last part up, it actually thinks its correct). You will see a small difference between the mileage in the odometer and the mileage similarly calculated in most ECU's memory. These are due to algorithm, rounding, etc. and generally insignificant.
__________________

__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 11:21 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 217
I can confirm It's [also,]stored inside the display's flash memory as well. Mileage is taken from the display unit for all replacements done that I know of.

I mailed my display unit in & received the new replacement in 12-14 days time frame. Simple process. Nothing to sweat about. Unfortunately, 2 years ago... Don't have the address now. Recall that I Tracked down the toll free phone number & asked for instructions. Plugged it in and remounted into the dash board. Done. Love the new orange color readout.
__________________
62Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 02:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Thudman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Destin, FL
Posts: 891
Phn: 574-264-2373; Elkhart, IN
ACTIA US
Paul Windbigler; in charge of warranty; his direct line is 574-266-2672

Thudman
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, W22, 22.5 Whls

Koni FSD's, TracBar rear, SteerSafe, 50A SurgeGuard, Eternabond; 2012 Honda CRV EXL w/Nav & AWD
Thudman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 05:07 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
gbs2320's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domestic Duc View Post
OK, I know I have seen this one before but I can't find it.

The LCD Display on my instrument cluster is gone out. I know that I have to send it back to mfgr., but I don't know to whom, nor do I have their address. I thought that the mileage info should be stored in the computer and the LCD was simply a reader, but according to my WH Service center that ain't so. Mfgr. has to reset the replacement using the ionformation stored in bad one.

Domestic Duc
On your model that might be true. On some like my UFO chassis the odometer dash display does not have a chip and instead that info is stored in the Chassis Control Module. Actia can tell you based on you VIN. Greg
__________________
2008 Winnebago Destination 39W UFO/Gas Pusher 8.1
2009 Honda Fit
gbs2320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 03:55 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
I should have also said that it is a 2004 Allegro Bay (8.1 gas), chasis is Workhorse built in 2003.
__________________
Domestic Duc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 05:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
FDchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 547
I am on my third one, and this one appears to be doing well. Knock on wood!
__________________

Greg & Lynn (Full-Timing)
2011 Phaeton 42 QBH / Spartan Chassis
2003 Jeep GC Overland in Tow
FDchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 08:47 PM   #8
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 22,389
Blog Entries: 70
I'm on my 2nd IP. The IP was replaced back in 2006 under warranty. The replacement has an orange background in the Command Center. Working well since.
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 04:57 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Gary N.'s Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Woodslee, ON, Canada
Posts: 123
Do we send the old one in for exchange or does WH have new ones available? My local repair center has been waiting since the middle of Nov. for a new instrument cluster and no word on when a replacement my be available.
The LCD display ('05 Winni) has stripes in it and is hard to read. Sounds like the orange display my be easier to see. Hope that's what I get.
__________________
Gary & Mary - Woodslee, Ontario
2005 Winnebago 38J, Banks exhaust, Ultra Power
towing '06 Royal Star Venture and '06 Smart diesel
Gary N. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:18 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northwestern Montana
Posts: 2,678
Gary,

I have had 3 Actia display units in my coach. The first two units were sent pre-programmed with the mileage info on them to my repair center who just exchanged the new for the faulty ones. On the last unit, the repair center sent in my old display for repair, because Actia forgot to program a shift indicator into it. So it is possible to be done either way. Check with your repair center about sending in your old one if a new one isn't available. The mileage and other information has to be programmed into the exchange unit by Actia, the manufacturerer.

Dieselclacker
__________________
dieselclacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 10:08 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
two2go's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 961
I am still in limbo. W/H service shops want north of $700 to replace the odo display, which I ain't doing. What does Actia want for a direct replacement? My neighbor can help me R&R mine. He's been there, done that.
I have heard of and talked to a few folks who got theirs replaced under warranty or good will. I don't seem to be so lucky. I probably can get along without the display. I got a Scan Gauge deal from Brazels, so I should be able to get all the info I need on it. I can add the mileage on S-G to what I last saw on the Actia display. I can feel what gear I am shifting into. Don't need no stinkin' $700 gauge.
__________________
'05 NRV Dolphin 5342 Workhorse W22 8.1L UltraPower, '07 Chevy HHR Tow'd (Both Sale Pending-Thinking about our next RV--What will it be?)
two2go is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 01:08 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Bob/Becky D - VA's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 233
Mine went out this year with the same problem. Couldn't read because of the vertical lines. Local RV sent it to ACTIA and they sent programmed replacement.

Like DriVer, the new display is a huge improvement on the old. My aftermarket warranty paid all but my $50 deductable. Believe it was about $700 to replace.
__________________
USMC (Retired) Not as lean - Not as mean - but still a Marine!

2003 Itasca Suncruiser 38G Workhorse W22 8.1L, 2005 Grand Cherokee Toad
Bob/Becky D - VA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 02:59 PM   #13
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 22,389
Blog Entries: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary N. View Post
Do we send the old one in for exchange or does WH have new ones available? My local repair center has been waiting since the middle of Nov. for a new instrument cluster and no word on when a replacement my be available. The LCD display ('05 Winni) has stripes in it and is hard to read. Sounds like the orange display my be easier to see. Hope that's what I get.
Gary N., You must send in the old IP to Actia through either Workhorse or directly to Actia. If you are out of warranty then DIY the replacement and go through Actia and do it on your schedule. I believe we're looking at about a $350.00 - $450.00 cost for the IP if it's rebuilt (maybe) but call them and check. No need to buy a NEW once. I think those are about ~$700.00 give or take a country mile.

Yes it will come with the Orange background.

Quote:
"See the "Contact Us Number." I used their Elkhart, IN number: 574 264-2373"
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 03:45 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,060
Seems Workhorse and Actia are both very smart companies.
Make them with defective parts and make steady income replacing parts that the consumer can get no where else. Especially a federally mandated odometer.
An absolute Brilliant business strategy!
Too bad for us that the media is not interested in 'rich men toys'. They'd have a hayday if Ford, GM or Toyota made odometers that had an average life expectancy of a couple of years, regardless of miles.
It was only a couple of years ago that the forum was saying that , no one has had to pay for a replacement.
__________________

__________________
Max
'05 Damon Daybreak, 3270 on '04 P-32 Workhorse
Parker, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 Workhorse Instrument Cluster LCD Unreadable wdfreshour Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 15 03-04-2014 08:33 AM
Workhorse Instrument Cluster Display Drifterpilot MH-General Discussions & Problems 17 12-18-2008 05:02 PM
Instrument cluster lights going out TXredfish Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 1 11-02-2008 03:12 PM
Instrument Cluster LCD Display pace89 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 10-24-2008 06:45 AM
Instrument Cluster LCD Display pace89 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 1 10-23-2008 11:09 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.