RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2019, 03:15 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spanish Springs, NV, USA
Posts: 288
Scan Gauge vs Ultra Scan Gauge

I've been having an issue with the temperature gauge pegging when first started, warm or cold weather. When I turn the key all the gauges go one way and then back to normal, except for the temp. gauge.
I replace the engine coolant sensor and burped/added coolant. It was OK for one day.
This AM it pegged again and won't go back down.
My wife says I have to get a scan gauge, unless someone has a clue on wheat else to do. It's the original Actia Gauge. So, here I am.
__________________

__________________
2006 Dolphin LX 6320 W22 34 FT.
Jeff H is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-01-2019, 05:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 9,149
UltraGauge OBDII Scan tool & Information Center

That's what I use to track stuff including engine temperature. The gauges you mentioned will work fine for that too.

I'm on my third Actia gauge although it has been for legibility issues.
__________________

__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS

Don't know where I'm going, spose I'll get there anyway.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 06:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
edgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 8,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff H View Post
I've been having an issue with the temperature gauge pegging when first started, warm or cold weather. When I turn the key all the gauges go one way and then back to normal, except for the temp. gauge.

I replace the engine coolant sensor and burped/added coolant. It was OK for one day.

This AM it pegged again and won't go back down.

My wife says I have to get a scan gauge, unless someone has a clue on wheat else to do. It's the original Actia Gauge. So, here I am.


The gauge is really just an idiot light that is programmed to almost always point to “normal” so I would not waste any time or money getting it fixed. Use a LL Scan Gauge II and you get accurate info directly from the OBD port.
edgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 11:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Oemtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jarrell, TX 76537
Posts: 4,387
Send a message via AIM to Oemtech
Unless the Ultra Guage has changed:
1. It's not user-programmable
2. It's hard wired
3. Must be sent back to be updated.
4. The display is small and the colors can't be changed.
5. Low Cost

The Scan Guage II can do all of the above and you can stack them.
1. Users can add Xgauges.
2. It is not hard-wired - RJ45.
3. A new board can be installed in 5 mins at your kitchen table.
4. You can change the background colors
5. The display has 4 gauges that very legible.
6. You can use 2 SG II's by connecting them with a dual RJ45 patch cable.
7. Not cheap
8. Send it to me and I will program it for FREE. It will just cost you 2-way postage.
__________________
Dale
AKA - Oemy
Oemtech is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 12:25 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 9,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oemtech View Post
Unless the Ultra Guage has changed:
1. It's not user-programmable
2. It's hard wired
3. Must be sent back to be updated.
4. The display is small and the colors can't be changed.
5. Low Cost

The Scan Guage II can do all of the above and you can stack them.
1. Users can add Xgauges.
2. It is not hard-wired - RJ45.
3. A new board can be installed in 5 mins at your kitchen table.
4. You can change the background colors
5. The display has 4 gauges that very legible.
6. You can use 2 SG II's by connecting them with a dual RJ45 patch cable.
7. Not cheap
8. Send it to me and I will program it for FREE. It will just cost you 2-way postage.

Good comparison. I wound up with the UltraGauge because it was cheap.

However it is a pain to change things so you can look at them. But for what I was doing it did the job.

Scan Gauge II gets lots of good reviews and with your support probably well worth the cost.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS

Don't know where I'm going, spose I'll get there anyway.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 07:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Kxbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 438
I installed a Scan Gauge II this past spring and love it! I use it to monitor engine and trans temp.
__________________
2005 Allegro Bay 34XB, W22 Chassis / 8.1L
2013 Honda Fit toad, Demco Dominator & base plate
RVi2 Brake System
Kxbronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 05:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
MoCoTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 431
I use the Scan Gauge II and wouldn't be without it. This past year while in Moab, Utah I noticed my maf reading was lower than normal and the fuel trims were elevated. Thing is the MH still idled and ran just fine with no symptoms but with the scan gauge I was able to see something was not the way it should be. Turns out the rubber cap on the intake vacuum port had cracked from age and was leaking. New $.50 cap and everything was back to normal. Now maybe this was not a large enough vac leak to possibly cause an engine damaging lean fuel mixture, but I don't want to find out.
Tom
__________________
2004 Coachman Santara 3480DS Workhorse w-22
Retired OTR driver ATA 5 million mile safety award
USMC Vet 1968-1972
MoCoTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 236
Do you have a photo..would not be a bad idea to check the same cap out since all Workhorse units will be aging the same...
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Terra LX
Workhorse W22 8.1 Allison
garyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 9,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyre View Post
Do you have a photo..would not be a bad idea to check the same cap out since all Workhorse units will be aging the same...
I'm curious too, I don't know what cap you are talking about but it sounds like I better find out.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS

Don't know where I'm going, spose I'll get there anyway.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 04:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
MoCoTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch Hoagland View Post
I'm curious too, I don't know what cap you are talking about but it sounds like I better find out.
I do not have a photo but the rubber cap I'm referring to plugs one of the two vacuum ports at the rear of the intake manifold. If you remove the engine cover (dog house) then look at the very back of the intake and you should see the vacuum fitting I'm talking about. On my MH the fitting has two nipples, one has the main vacuum supply line hooked to it and the other nipple has a rubber cap slipped over in order to block it off. It is this simple rubber cap that cracked wide open from age/heat that caused me to have a vacuum leak. Because it was drawing some of the intake air through that nipple instead of through the intake tract the MAF pressure was lower than normal range. The ECU now thinks the work load placed on the engine is less than it really is and reduces the injector cycle causing the engine to run lean.That's NOT a good thing!
Tom
__________________

__________________
2004 Coachman Santara 3480DS Workhorse w-22
Retired OTR driver ATA 5 million mile safety award
USMC Vet 1968-1972
MoCoTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scan Gauge D - preset gauge loss Dale70 Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 06-23-2017 08:32 PM
Faulty Fuel Gauge.......is Scan Gauge a good alternative? DGBPokes Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 9 07-06-2015 09:43 PM
Scan Gaue II or Scan Gauge E question wingtrike iRV2.com General Discussion 1 05-29-2015 03:42 PM
Scan Gauge II w/ x-gauge garykk Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 22 07-16-2013 10:28 PM
Ultra Performance, Ultra Service and Now Ultra Camping DriVer RV Industry Press 13 05-16-2009 09:20 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×