Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-19-2018, 04:56 PM   #1

generator tray

I have a 94 Ford Travelmaster 28 Ft.? I was given this by a dying relative. So I'm stuck with it for now. I have NO experience with RVs so I am flying blind. I do have a few issues with this thing . Most I can figure out but I do Have 1 I am not sure what to do.
The generator compartment bottom has been cut away . A new generator was installed and now its dead. So I bought a new one with hopes of just sticking it in the opening and moving on to the next issue. But not so fast. The opening of the compartment is 30x21x20. That's wide,high and deep. I purchased a Wen generator that's 26x17x17. The old generator was in a pan like tray that was about 3" lower than the bottom of compartment due to its size. The Wen fits well . Problem is the tray . It was made hastily and isn't very well constructed. You cant slide it out due to weight and there's no way to support it.
I want to make a slide out tray so I can operate it outside the compartment for safety reasons (gases etc.) and be able to put fuel in the tank when needed.
There is an edge going round the compartment that the built tray rests on.That ledge is where I want to install a slide mechanism and be able to pull it out . Just not sure how to do that. I know there are many made ones out there. I believe I can make it just as good but cheaper.