RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2019, 03:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Odometer

I have a 2006 f-53 v-10 class A, my odometer went dead, Speedometer sporadic, gains speed, then pegged at over 100 mph., anyone experience this. Everything else on cluster works fine, tranny shifts fine, cruise works fine
__________________

Tmbucktoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-30-2019, 04:17 PM   #2
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 6,345
Use your OBDII and the Torque app to verify speed is ok. You may have a bad cluster.
__________________

__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10 275hp 4R100 4 spd trans) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 11:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
avfordguy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kingsville TX
Posts: 1,088
If trans shifts normal and cruise works ok, issue is in the cluster,as they all get the same signal, remove connectors on backside if cluster and clean and reseat connections
avfordguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 09:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,044
Most likely the speed sensor has gone south. It's a common failure. In your year rig I think it's located on the differential housing.
__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 01:29 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Great Falls, MT.
Posts: 20
Does anybody rebuild these clusters ? Mine has a problem with returning the trip meter to zero. Thew last few times it took about 50 or so pushes before it zeroed.

Ken.........
__________________
2000 Gulf Stream Palm Breeze 8325

91 Metro Convertible and 92 Suzuki Swift GT toads
givemeaboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 02:21 PM   #6
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 6,345
I've never had it done, but I googled Ford F53 instrument cluster repair and a bunch come back. One in particular was right at $200 for a rebuild. all ne servos, etc.

1999-2000 Ford RV Stripped Chassis F53 Instrument Cluster Repair


..
__________________

__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10 275hp 4R100 4 spd trans) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odometer fuse Chappie Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 02-19-2009 05:05 AM
Display in odometer malfunction Greg from Almanor Monaco Owner's Forum 4 01-24-2009 06:31 AM
My tripmeter has defaulted to the odometer reading dreamer Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 3 12-06-2008 07:10 PM
Need odometer for 1999 36FDS Gene D MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 06-26-2007 09:34 AM
Speedometer/odometer quiting & other stuff SRT Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 03-21-2006 07:51 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×