RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2014, 11:33 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Vacuum sensor 2001 V10 location?

Hi all, new member here with a problem. I just bought a coach with a V10 that won't pass smog. Everything passes except idle HC is 171 when limit is 150.

The only thing that seems bad is the vacuum reading on my obd2 monitor(12in idle) does not match the vacuum checked with a manual guage(18in idle). Is there a sensor that tells the ECU what the vacuum is? On our old 99 V10 truck there was the DPFE sensor but I can't find one on this engine.

I'm not getting any codes, CEL is normal, truck drives fine, O2 sensors working correctly, cleaned air filter(k&n), oil changed, Catalytic converter may need replaced (temp in same as temp out) but don't want to do that until the underlying problem is fixed.

Thanks for any info you may have.

Kirk.
__________________

ATCKirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-09-2014, 05:19 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,919
There is no vacuum sensor for that engine. This setup uses a MAF sensor. Air flow and engine load is calculated based on this sensor. Install a Motorcraft air filter in it and then unplug the batteries for 5 min. Drive the coach after installing the batteries down the expressway for 15 miles and then do some city driving. Let it idle for 10 minutes afterwards. I have seen enough aftermarket air filters including K&N cause calculation problems for the MAF. The Econoline vans were the most problematic for these aftermarket filter issues. This may help.
__________________

jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 05:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
subford's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Easton, Ks
Posts: 2,385
X2^^^

I have heard that you can not use a K&N filter with a MAF system as it will mess up the MAF sensor as the oil gets in the sensor. Some have had good luck cleaning them but other have had to replace the MAF sensor after putting the stock air filter back in and cleaning up the oil mess.

I hope what James says to do will work for you but if not you will have to replace the MAF sensor. Then you will need to do the routine that was posted above.

The first thing I did with my F53 MH was to get rid of the K&N it came with and put the sock air filter back in.
__________________
Bill
1995 COACHMEN Santara 350FL on a 1994 Ford F53
subford@gmail.com
subford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
LVJ58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by subford View Post
X2^^^

I have heard that you can not use a K&N filter with a MAF system as it will mess up the MAF sensor as the oil gets in the sensor. Some have had good luck cleaning them but other have had to replace the MAF sensor after putting the stock air filter back in and cleaning up the oil mess.

I hope what James says to do will work for you but if not you will have to replace the MAF sensor. Then you will need to do the routine that was posted above.

The first thing I did with my F53 MH was to get rid of the K&N it came with and put the sock air filter back in.

Interesting, back in NOV of 2005 I had the banks system installed on our coach along with the K&N filter, and to date never had a problem passing the smog inspection here in NV.

Once our of curiosity I checked the MAF sensor located in the filter housing and found no oil residue on it. It's possible perhaps when that happens someone may be over oiling their filter.

Best regards & safe travels..
__________________
Jim & SherrySeward

2000 Residency 3790 v10 w/tags 5 Star tune & Banks system Suzuki XL7 toad
LVJ58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:20 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Well I'll give it a try, at least it's an easy thing to check. I cleaned the MAF after cleaning and reoiling the air filter and it appeared clean, no oil on it that I could see.
ATCKirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:32 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by LVJ58 View Post
Interesting, back in NOV of 2005 I had the banks system installed on our coach along with the K&N filter, and to date never had a problem passing the smog inspection here in NV.

Once our of curiosity I checked the MAF sensor located in the filter housing and found no oil residue on it. It's possible perhaps when that happens someone may be over oiling their filter.

Best regards & safe travels..
The reusable air filter companies say that you cannot over oil the filters but personally I have never seen an over oiled filter. The issue with many aftermarket air filters is how the air is separated into streams. Some vehicles actually came with a screen or an insert that would clean up the air stream for better air sampling. Ford had an SSM a while ago about these issues for some time. In worst cases it would set a torque calculation error code with a check engine light.
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:44 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Well so much for that, the banks housing is too small for a normal paper element. At least the one from my 98 E350, aren't all those round ford air filters the same size?

I think I set a record, regretting buying this coach after only a couple of days
ATCKirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
subford's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Easton, Ks
Posts: 2,385
If they are both V10 then both should take the FA1632 air filter.
__________________
Bill
1995 COACHMEN Santara 350FL on a 1994 Ford F53
subford@gmail.com
subford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 07:58 PM   #9
Member
 
khogle2's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UTAH
Posts: 87
Vacuum sensor 2001 V10 location?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATCKirk View Post
Hi all, new member here with a problem. I just bought a coach with a V10 that won't pass smog. Everything passes except idle HC is 171 when limit is 150.



The only thing that seems bad is the vacuum reading on my obd2 monitor(12in idle) does not match the vacuum checked with a manual guage(18in idle). Is there a sensor that tells the ECU what the vacuum is? On our old 99 V10 truck there was the DPFE sensor but I can't find one on this engine.



I'm not getting any codes, CEL is normal, truck drives fine, O2 sensors working correctly, cleaned air filter(k&n), oil changed, Catalytic converter may need replaced (temp in same as temp out) but don't want to do that until the underlying problem is fixed.



Thanks for any info you may have.



Kirk.

Kirk, it sounds like a weak cat. convt. Make sure to get it good and hot and just run it in for the test. Many of the old GM big blocks would be high on idle HC, but would pass if you ran them under enough stress to get the entire exhaust system good and hot. Worth a try.

Don't let it sit in the lot for a couple hours prior to the test.
khogle2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 08:19 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,885
I've used K&Ns and on one occasion - a 3.4L Toyota that we supercharged, the K&N oil did get on the MAF sensor and it started going lean.. Most cars, no problems.

There is no mixture tuning at idle that I know about, so I'm going to call "cat" also. You're close enough to passing that getting it hot prior *might* get you by.

There are lots of aftermarket cats available that don't have OEM prices...
__________________

cb1000rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, v10



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Octane (87%, 89%, 93% use; and royal purple oil 6.8l V10 monamie Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 04-15-2014 12:52 PM
Ford V10, How many qts for oil change. frederick w iRV2.com General Discussion 9 03-30-2014 11:59 AM
Air Force One - Vacuum Leak Sky_Boss Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 2 02-27-2014 08:43 PM
Question on front vacuum pump. Gmann Newmar Owner's Forum 6 02-18-2014 06:06 AM
Good V10 driving habits John How Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 28 10-02-2013 06:12 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.