Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE CHASSIS CLUB FORUMS > Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-17-2013, 06:45 PM   #1

Pressing brake pedal causes continuous drop in front brake pressure - Normal?

I had a look at a 2000 American Coach with Spartan chassis today. When I held down the brake pedal, I could hear hissing from the front end and the front air pressure continued to drop for as long as the pedal was held down. The dealer assured me this was normal, but I don't remember seeing this happen on other DP's. the rear pressure did not continue to drop. Obviously, I have little experience with air brakes and would appreciate your input.

How long should the front and rear tanks hold their pressure after the engine is turned off?

If the tanks are empty, how long should it take the compressor to fill them? Less than several minutes?

Most likely places to search for a leak? How expensive a problem could it be (best SWAG)?

Thanks.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-17-2013, 07:24 PM   #2