Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-05-2017, 07:11 AM   #1

110v options at home

I need some advice on supplying 110v to a 50amp coach at home and clearly I am not an electrician. Just looking for some ideas.

My existing 240v (7.5 amp on the tag) pool pump was professionally wired using two (2) dedicated 20 amp circuits from two (2) dedicated breakers ( t the 200 amp panel) and there is also a 110v outlet in the pool pump room that draws its power from one of these 20 amp lines. Nothing is plugged into that 110 outlet. Pool pump is 1hp and runs about 6 hours a day.

I intend to park the 50 amp coach about 15 feet from the pump room and was wondering what amp options would be available for the coach from the two 20 amp circuits that are already there without running another line from the panel across the house.

I suspect I would have at least 20 amps by simply plugging into the existing 110v plug, but was wondering if that could be upped to 30 amps or more since there are two 20 amp lines going to the pool pump. I don't expect to need to run both AC's at the same time at home. I am aware that 50 amp needs to be wired differently for RVs vs a dryer, etc. Thanks for the help! Steve
StephenW is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!