Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2014, 01:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
12Volt Battery Power

I have a 05Winnebago 37B Adventurer. I recently had a new converter installed. Everything works fine on 110V but when unplugged ThePower center shows no 12v powe and no 12v items work.Can someone offer an answer to this? Thanks
__________________

__________________
hbjajags is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-12-2014, 02:07 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
Scarab0088's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 14,054


What is known is that the (new) converter is producing 12VDC when on shore power and when off there is no 12VDC. For my post, I am assuming the system was reassembled properly...

With no shore power (and no solar system) all 12VDC comes from the batteries - so either:
-The batteries are drained and are not taking a charge from the converter.
-The feed from the batteries has an issue like a popped breaker/fuse.

The first thing I would check is the condition of the batteries and the cables connected on them.

Best luck
__________________

__________________
Kim and Steve, Mustang LCDR (Ret), Damon Outlaw #1193
I have seen gross intolerance shown in support of tolerance, Samuel Coleridge
https://www.irv2.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic84535_7.gif
WE LOVE OUR OUTLAW RV
Scarab0088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 02:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Rockwood27's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Freedom, NH
Posts: 949
Is the battery switch by the door turned on?
__________________
Fran, Mary & Zoey (silver Cocker)
2006 Itasca Sunrise 35A, 2005 W-22, Allison 1000 5 speed
'13 Ford Focus ST or '10 Prius on Master Tow Dolly 80THD-SB or '00 Jeep Cherokee 4-down
Rockwood27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 03:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,825
#2 on the disconnect.. In fact check the batteries as well.

Standard procedure, per the book, which young mechanics tend to follow, is to DISCONNECT THE BATTERY GROUND LEAD before doing any work on the electrical system.

Common practice is to forget to hook it back up

(Alternate is to operate the house battery (Aux) Disconnect and forget to re-connect)

On many RVs the switch is labeled AUX on others USE/STORE (mine is like that) and also on mine the STORE (Disconenct) worked just fine.... The USE.. Not so fine (Yes I was able to fix it)

If you have that problem (HINT, it goes CLUNK when it works) I'll talk you through a possible no-cost repair. Will need make of battery control center though.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 04:31 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
I forgot to add that I bought two new deep cycle batteries. Yes, the disconnect switch does go clunk. I just checked and the switch was in STORE and I turned it on and I have 12v. Boy do I feel stupid. Thanks for all the help
__________________
hbjajags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 04:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbjajags View Post
I forgot to add that I bought two new deep cycle batteries. Yes, the disconnect switch does go clunk. I just checked and the switch was in STORE and I turned it on and I have 12v. Boy do I feel stupid. Thanks for all the help
Welcome to the Forum and we've all been there so don't feel bad!
__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep Wrangler Sport and/or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 12:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
dvmweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 982
Ah Yup! Glad it's ok.


2013 FleetWood Expedition 38B
__________________
dvmweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 01:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 10,476


Glad to have you here in the forum with us.
It's the simple things that'll get ya everytime. I'm glad you got it solved. Best of luck with your Winnebago and Happy Trails!!!!!
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 03:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbjajags View Post
I forgot to add that I bought two new deep cycle batteries. Yes, the disconnect switch does go clunk. I just checked and the switch was in STORE and I turned it on and I have 12v. Boy do I feel stupid. Thanks for all the help
Ok, now that I know what switch you have.. I will (hopefully) make you feel a bit less stupid.

That switch is very very easy to hit by accident, done it many times, Usually figure it out when selected radios (Connected directly to the battery) start to malfunction while other radios (Connected to the house fuse panel) work perfectly (off the Progressive 9180 + wizard) .

I finally built up a "Switch guard" (Basically a couple layers of craft stick either side of the switch) to make it harder to push by mistake.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 03:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Ok, now that I know what switch you have.. I will (hopefully) make you feel a bit less stupid.

That switch is very very easy to hit by accident, done it many times, Usually figure it out when selected radios (Connected directly to the battery) start to malfunction while other radios (Connected to the house fuse panel) work perfectly (off the Progressive 9180 + wizard) .

I finally built up a "Switch guard" (Basically a couple layers of craft stick either side of the switch) to make it harder to push by mistake.
Switch guard is a great idea.

I don't know how many times mine has been accidently shut off when sweeping off the steps. (It's built in the side of the stair well.) I usually find out when we unplug and take off to the tune of the refrigerator beeping that it has no 12v power.
__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep Wrangler Sport and/or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 11:48 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 56
I too like the idea of a switch guard, as mine has gotten switched many times, while fumbling for a different, but VERY closely placed switches that even feel the same in the dark.


Jimmy
__________________
Jimmy & Becki Cullipher, Stuttgart AR
2013 Thor Challenger 37DT 37'
2011 Jeep Wrangler on the Blue Ox
jcullipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 05:14 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: montverde fl
Posts: 13
I have a 05 vectra parked it the other day went back a day later and no 12v power to the coach I chked batterys and all are 13.5 volts chked disconnect and still no 12v any ideas
__________________
Denny1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 08:47 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny1949 View Post
I have a 05 vectra parked it the other day went back a day later and no 12v power to the coach I chked batterys and all are 13.5 volts chked disconnect and still no 12v any ideas
There may be a circuit breaker or a heavy duty fusible link (fuse) in the 12v supply between the batteries and the coach. That would be the next thing to check if your disconnect relay is working properly.

To check the disconnect relay, make sure it shows the 13.5 volts on both sides of the relay when is is supposed to be turned on. They are normally a latching type relay that stays on or off without having power to the coil like a regular relay.

The next would be make sure the ground connection from the batteries is making good contact.
__________________

__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep Wrangler Sport and/or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, battery



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large power draw on chassis battery '94 Kountry Star omegacanuck Newmar Owner's Forum 54 01-31-2016 09:22 PM
Battery power question Ramsky Travel Trailer Discussion 9 06-05-2014 11:37 AM
Pedestal or MH Power Problem sgtjoe National RV Owner's Forum 32 02-19-2014 07:47 PM
Question About Chassis Battery Charging on Shore Power TandCplusRV RV Systems & Appliances 15 02-05-2014 11:57 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.