Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-24-2014, 01:23 PM   #1

1990 Mobile Traveler

Hello my name is Redds and this is my first post. I am looking to buy an RV. It's a 1990 MT. It has a 7.3 engine installed and the guy said it is only getting 7 mpg. He also told me the last owner replaced the gas for the diesel engine. Being a retired diesel mechanic my thoughts went right to the transmission as the cause. If the old trans was used then it's holding the engine back. He said it takes some time for the RV to get to 65 on the highway so I think it needs another trans to take care of this problem. I was in class 8 semi's so I know little of this class of what will work. From what I read John Deere did this unit. I know the 7.3 IH engine are good but it needs help. Any help would be great as to what trans it will need.
Thank you
Redds
redds72357@hotmail.com
Redds is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!