Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2007, 01:32 PM   #1
Member
 
jasonm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 97
We are going to a campground this weekend that has 20 amp service. Does that mean I shouldn't/can't run my A/C? Not sure.
__________________

__________________
Toys:

2007 Winnebago Sightseer 35J
jasonm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-19-2007, 01:32 PM   #2
Member
 
jasonm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 97
We are going to a campground this weekend that has 20 amp service. Does that mean I shouldn't/can't run my A/C? Not sure.
__________________

__________________
Toys:

2007 Winnebago Sightseer 35J
jasonm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 01:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Livingston, TX
Posts: 41
Hi Jasonm

The answer is probably can't and definitely shouldn't run an AC on a campground 20A ckt.

Dave O
__________________
Dave O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 01:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,546
I have run my AC on 20A more than once. Your power management panel should shed other loads to favor the AC.

On the basement units with 2 compressors I believe each pulls about 12-15Amps (approx).

So help your power management panel by turning off your electric H2O heater, don't run the microwave, turn your refrig onto gas, and I have also shut off the 2nd compressor on the AC at the circuit breaker panel. By doing this you can effectively cool your coach as long as you're not in too extreme conditions. At a minimum it will take the humidity out of the air.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 07:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 4,719
My basement unit pulls apx 18 amps on the 1st stage compressor, and apx 24 when both are running. Don't forget that when a compressor kicks in, it pulls much more than it does when it is up and running. I've never tried to run any part of the ac on 15 amp power Guess it would for sure work if the house circuit was 20 amp.
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
'03 Winnebago UA 40e / '05 Honda Odyssey toad
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 05:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Komvee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 66
Before I ran a dedicated 30 amp circuit at home, we plugged into 20 amps all the time and ran the A/C to cool down the coach.

You just have to be careful about what else you turn on.
__________________
-- Warren
Winnie Sightseer 30B
Komvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:17 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,193
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Komvee:
Before I ran a dedicated 30 amp circuit at home, we plugged into 20 amps all the time and ran the A/C to cool down the coach.

You just have to be careful about what else you turn on. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

We do the same but instead of letting power management turn off the second ac compressor we simply disable it at the breaker. We also unplug the coffee maker and microwave least someone forgets.

Effective temps here in Tampa Bay Florida have been hitting above 104 degrees and the single compressor is maintaining 77 degress throughout the day without excessive run times.
__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 01:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
MikeT's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL 34488
Posts: 466
Set the managment center to 20 amps
__________________
MikeT__and_Mo T
'05 Voyage, W20, SMI, '06 CR-V
Ginger, the cat --Daisy, the dog
MikeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 02:19 PM   #9
JC2
Senior Member
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 3,156
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by MikeT:
Set the managment center to 20 amps </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

We have the ability also of setting our mc on 20amps but having not done it before was wondering what is the advantage/disadvantage instead of leaving it on 30amps?
__________________
04 Newmar DSDP 4015-Cummins ISL 370hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 04:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,546
What the energy management system will do is shed more appliances so that you don't draw more than 20 Amps, thus popping the park circuit breaker.

I recommend you set it on 20A when hooked to only 20A.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 06:03 AM   #11
JC2
Senior Member
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 3,156
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Pusherman:
What the energy management system will do is shed more appliances so that you don't draw more than 20 Amps, thus popping the park circuit breaker.

I recommend you set it on 20A when hooked to only 20A. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks for the info. I learned something today.
__________________
04 Newmar DSDP 4015-Cummins ISL 370hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 05:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,546
Glad I could help!
__________________

__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 50 Amp coach on 30 Amp service Higgins RV Systems & Appliances 7 11-26-2008 05:46 AM
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 04:34 AM
Upgrade 30 amp to 50 amp service Kazoo Tom Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 20 09-20-2007 06:41 PM
50 amp service - help Norm Newhall Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 80 08-18-2006 05:36 PM
I want to change out my 30 amp service for a 50 amp NCTarheel 5th Wheel Discussion 10 07-19-2006 08:58 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.