Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2011, 08:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Joe A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MN/TX/CA
Posts: 11
30 amp

My coach is set for 50 amp it has been suggested by the RV park that I use a 30 amp pig tale adapter. Essentially using two 30 amp outlets and plug in the 50 amp cable. Is there a threat of fire or system issues. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Joe A is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-01-2011, 08:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tallyrver's Avatar


 
Heartland RV Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 695
I have one ,it has two 30 amp plugs . If the pedestal has two 30 amp outlets you can plug into. I also have an adaptor for one of the 30 amp plugs to adapt to a 15 amp plug (this will only work if there is no GFI protection on the 15 amp outlet)
http://www.amazon.com/Progressive-In...=pd_sbs_auto_5

The two 30 amp outlets work well.

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Wayne and Debbie
2014 Gateway 3650BH
2008 F350 dually diesel .
www.mudflapscampingclub.com
Tallyrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wizard's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,457
Are you saying that the rv park does not have a 50 amp service.
__________________
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by joealessi View Post
My coach is set for 50 amp it has been suggested by the RV park that I use a 30 amp pig tale adapter. Essentially using two 30 amp outlets and plug in the 50 amp cable. Is there a threat of fire or system issues. Thanks
Joe,

If it looks like the adapter posted by Wayne you will be ok as long as the CG shore power will support the two 30 amp plugs. Last year while driving the Natchez Trace we stopped for 3 nights at the Powderhorn CG in Lawrenceburg, TN. When we checked in we were asked if we had 50 amp service, when we said we did they provided us with the adapter in Wayne's post. We had no problems and we do use a EMS-PT50C surge protector.

Bob
__________________
2006 Fleetwood Bounder 35E
Bob and Inga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:01 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Joe A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MN/TX/CA
Posts: 11
Yes they do not have 50 amp. The park is GlenIvy in CA>
__________________
Joe A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 12:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,313
Hi Joe A,
Make sure the CG has two separate circuits, one for each 30 AMP receptacle. If they do, you should be fine. If it's two receptacles connected to the same behind the scenes 30 AMP breaker, that can be a problem.

Two separate 30 AMP breakers will deliver 30 AMPS on each leg for a total of 60 AMPS. A 50 AMP receptacle will deliver 50 AMPS on each leg for a total of 100 AMPS. Depending on the weather and your power consumption, conservation may still be the thing to consider.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 06:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wizard's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,457
If the park has 50 amp service, why would you not plug into the 50 amp service. What would be gained by using the two 30 amp services.
__________________
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 06:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizard View Post
If the park has 50 amp service, why would you not plug into the 50 amp service. What would be gained by using the two 30 amp services.
Read Post # 5 for your answer
__________________
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 06:39 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Tallyrver's Avatar


 
Heartland RV Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 695
We stayed at Reed Bingham in Georgia a few weeks ago ,there was no 50 amp ,but were two 30 amp hookups on the pedestal for two rigs .

last weekend we sayed at Blue Springs state park in Alabama ,only one 30 amp and a 15 amp outlet. Boy was it hot !!!

I have a large gage extension cord but could not reach the pedestal on the next site. I tried.

Wayne
__________________
Wayne and Debbie
2014 Gateway 3650BH
2008 F350 dually diesel .
www.mudflapscampingclub.com
Tallyrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 07:41 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
I have used those and not had a problem

If you plug into two 30 amp outlets with one of those then there is one fact and a few possibilities

The fact: you are using 2 camp sites. They should be billing you for the 2nd.

Now: I recently did just that, IN my case I checked the master breaker box and I know for a fact that the two outlets were on different legs of the 120/240 volt service so basically it was the same as if I"d plugged into a 50 amp type outlet with an undersize breaker.

However the other posibility is that both are on the SAME leg, and if that happens you can be putting up to 60 amps down the neutral wire, which is designed for 50.

This is a 20% overload.

Truth be told.. I don't think it will be a problem.. The wire they used in my cords can easily haul the extra 10 amps.. Of course yours might be different, but the major danger is voltage drop.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 amp service hassels. TEDDE Monaco Owner's Forum 29 05-24-2011 04:06 PM
50 amp to 30 amp to 20 amp?? fansill MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 05-15-2011 02:36 AM
Electric system monitor panel shows 30 amp when hooked up to 50 amp Magumba Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 03-05-2010 09:09 PM
Frank's Super Automatic 50 amp Voltage Booster and Surge Guard. Logthumper RV Systems & Appliances 2 08-29-2006 08:23 AM
Hughes Autoformer, 30 or 50 Amp??? Logthumper RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-07-2006 12:27 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.