Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2015, 06:38 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
usnret997's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: milton, Florida
Posts: 198
30 amp to 50 amp

I'm wanting to change to a 50 amp system. Will be adding a 2nd A/C this year. Any ideas on doing this or directions to the forums that discuss this would be helpful. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Retired Navy Corpsman. Fare winds and following seas.
98 Damon Day Break F53 chassis.
LT & D. Trixie, Marley and Leo
usnret997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-27-2015, 06:48 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Coma's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Emerald Coast
Posts: 1,757
A couple of thoughts. 50A RV service is really two 50A 110V circuits. A 30 A will run 2 A/C's if your other loads are small. Maybe a 30A load shedding EMS would be easier/cheaper. Do you have an inverter? You may need a new load center to handle the 50A. Do you intend to use 220V on a dryer, perhaps? It is a matter of dividing the loads in half by circuit and wiring the load center that way.
__________________

__________________
Jim and Jennie, Cats=Bittles and Potter, 2000 Dynasty 350 ISC
2013 Silverado 4x4 Towed with R1200GS in bed.
PROV23:4 Do not wear yourself out to get rich; have the wisdom to show restraint.
Coma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 08:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
usnret997's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: milton, Florida
Posts: 198
Everything coming in will be new. Power center, inverter. Cook with slow cooker, residential frig,electric skillet. Just would like the added amps to make sure everything runs with no problems.
__________________
Retired Navy Corpsman. Fare winds and following seas.
98 Damon Day Break F53 chassis.
LT & D. Trixie, Marley and Leo
usnret997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 08:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
In most cases the campground that has 50 amp service will have 30 amp and several 15/20 amp plugs.

A cheaper alternative to run a 2nd AC unit is to wire a dedicated cord to this AC unit that you can plug into the available outlet.

People with 50 amp units that don't have an EMS load shedding system sometimes will put a pigtail onto one of the AC units so it can be run with an extension cord if they only have 30 amp available.

I have the EMS system in my coach, it does work but sometimes you still want to be able to run 2 AC units. The previous owner put a pigtail on the bedroom AC unit in order to do this. I've never used it but it is an option if we are in hot weather.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 08:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
usnret997's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: milton, Florida
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
In most cases the campground that has 50 amp service will have 30 amp and several 15/20 amp plugs.

A cheaper alternative to run a 2nd AC unit is to wire a dedicated cord to this AC unit that you can plug into the available outlet.

People with 50 amp units that don't have an EMS load shedding system sometimes will put a pigtail onto one of the AC units so it can be run with an extension cord if they only have 30 amp available.

I have the EMS system in my coach, it does work but sometimes you still want to be able to run 2 AC units. The previous owner put a pigtail on the bedroom AC unit in order to do this. I've never used it but it is an option if we are in hot weather.
Never thought of doing it that way. Makes more since and cheaper too. May give that a try first.
__________________
Retired Navy Corpsman. Fare winds and following seas.
98 Damon Day Break F53 chassis.
LT & D. Trixie, Marley and Leo
usnret997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 08:36 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
You have a motor home so you will need

A new power distribution panel
A new ATS
A new shore cord.. IF detachable you will need a new inlet and you will need to replace the wire between the inlet and the ATS.

After that you need the hook up diagram for your generator (You likely will NOT need a new generator epically if it is 5,000 watts or more)

and after that it is easy.

ONE RECOMMENDATION..on that 2nd a/c.....

Power panel branch breaker (20 amp)--------13/20 amp outlet/plug--(optional 20 amp breaker)---A/C

That outlet and plug and optional breaker are either in a special compartment or in your electrical bay in the basement.... When you are stuck on a 30 amp site.. PULL PLUG from outlet and use a 12GA extension cord to park's 20 amp outlet.

When you need 120vac on the service side of the motor home (Say for an air compressor) well.. Pull plug and use outlet.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 10:24 AM   #7
Member
 
kschoon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 60
Check out the link below:

Converting the Rig to 50 amp service

As I recall this person has done this and provided a step by step How to with pictures. Other good info on this site as well.
__________________
2003 Fleeetwood Southwind 35R, Mesa, AZ
kschoon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 11:27 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
If you are putting in a residential frig make sure it can run on MSW inverter, if not you may have to put in a small dedicated PSW inverter.

They do make small ones that have an internal transfer switch so that it can run on shore power but transfers to DC when traveling. Attached is a file I have in case I go that route, this is the installation instructions but it provides the Manufacturer and model#. Looks like an easy install.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 03:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
usnret997's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: milton, Florida
Posts: 198
Thanks for the help. I'll let you all no how it turns out.
__________________

__________________
Retired Navy Corpsman. Fare winds and following seas.
98 Damon Day Break F53 chassis.
LT & D. Trixie, Marley and Leo
usnret997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 50 amp service for 30 amp MH 2014-319DSF Class C Motorhome Discussions 5 01-03-2015 09:05 AM
50 amp coach to 30 amp extension to 50 amp house? abarkl RV Systems & Appliances 10 01-02-2015 09:55 PM
30 amp configuration on 50 amp circuit panel TexasTwoStep RV Systems & Appliances 9 12-24-2014 09:03 AM
30 Amp But No 50 Amp Shore Power fixn2gocamp RV Systems & Appliances 27 10-03-2014 05:48 AM
50 amp to 30 amp on surge protector ? TinCanTee iRV2.com General Discussion 6 06-29-2014 05:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.