Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2012, 12:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 50
30 amp vs. 50 amp

I have a 1996 Winnebago Adventurer with 2 ac units. I can run 1 unit on 30 amp shore power or both units with generator running. Can I adapt my 30 amp plug to a 50 amp plug and plug into 50 amp shore power without causing any damage. This should allow mw to run both ac units when pluged into shore power, right?
__________________

__________________
joelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-02-2012, 12:39 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Hi and welcome to the forum.

If I understand your question correctly I believe the answer is no.

50 amp service is actually two separate 50 amp circuits delivered on two different legs. Your coach is probably wired for only one leg and protected with a 30 amp breaker.

I'm sure some of our experts will chime in with the technical details but I think it's not something you want to try.

Rick
__________________

__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Rich is right not a easy mod to make and not cheap either.
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
Hello joelem,

This is a common concern with 30 amp coaches. There are many threads here concerning adding a separate 20 amp line to power the a/c.
Here is the most recent thread

Running Both A/C's @ same Time On Shoreline Power

There was a company called Power Solutions that made a product called a dual power adapter, but they have gone out of business. It's not difficult to fabricate your own solution.
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
50 amp is really 100 amp. It has two 50A lines (legs) coming into the MH. Your 30A coach has one 30A line.

To change over, you need a new 120v distribution panel, much new wiring, transfer switches and the list goes on....very expensive.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 04:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,790
If your rig is a 30 amp, then in the generator junction box is a power line that runs to the REAR (normally) air conditioner. You need to identify this lead.

Currently it runs something like this.

Generator------Line----A/C

You will "Break" the connection in the junction box and add a short run to an outlet box. IN many rigs it may be handy to mount this right next to the generator's J-Box. (But it is not necessary)

Remove the A/C line, the one that runs directly to the air conditioner with no stops or pauses. and route it to a single breaker box (20 amp) Many ways to do this.

Now feed that with a short Appliance type power cord, they make them in 12ga, heavy duty, you can get 'em at the hardware store.

Plug into the outlet if you want "Normal"

If you are wanting to run both A/C's on a 30 amp post, plug the rig in normal, as I'm plugged in now, and unplug the A/C from it's dedicated outlet,, Plug it into a 12ga Extension cord (I like the ones from Sears or K-Mart with the lock-on outlet end)

NOTE 12 ga extension cord, NOT 16ga


Plug that into the 20 amp outlet on the pedistal.

NOTE you move all 3 wires, HOT, Neutral and Safety ground when you do this.. That way the rear A/C is like a different RV, No common anytthing with the rest of the house... Thus the GFCI on the 20 amp outlet...... Is not upset.

As I said. This is how I'm keeping cool as I type this save for one small change.

I'm in a 50 amp motor home.. So instead of breaking the circuit at the generator J-Box.. I "Broke" it at the main breaker box.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 05:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
As I said. This is how I'm keeping cool as I type this save for one small change.

I'm in a 50 amp motor home.. So instead of breaking the circuit at the generator J-Box.. I "Broke" it at the main breaker box.
wa8yxm,

Can you tell us why a 50 amp rig would need this mod done
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:10 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
He's on a 30amp pedestal?
__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Qwert66's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 762
Send a message via Skype™ to Qwert66
They have a single 50 (fake 50) made up of 1-30a for the coach and 1 AC and separate circuit 1-20 for #2AC fed from an extension cord apparantly from the same pedistal which has at least a 30 and 20 outlet. Thats my understanding from their comments.
__________________
1999 Newmar Mountain Aire MADP 4080, Cummins ISC 8.3L, Allison, Spartan MM IFS, Howard Power Center, Chev Trailblazer LTZ Towed w/ BlueOx rigging, Segway X2.
www.shaw11.com
Qwert66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 06:30 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
If your coach is 30 amps, that is all the wiring and breakers are rated. So plugging into a 50 with an adapter,,,,,buys you nothing. Some times in the summer, running off a 50 amp will let you pick up a few volts if the park is having power problems.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:51 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
I wonder where the OP is in this discussion?

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:25 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Some post a question and never bother to thank anyone for the help.....

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickO
I wonder where the OP is in this discussion?

Rick
I would assume shaking his head someplace like most new OPs bombarded with technical info they don't understand. We all try to help, but many fail to properly evaluate the OPs knowledge and then get on our own tangents. The forum is great, but the written word is pretty lousey for good communication. IMHO
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 07:46 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 50
I apologize for not being more involved. I appreciate all the responses. I have been out of my office and away from a computer. I just thought that maybe since my generator is 5.5 that a 50 amp. input may work. Not the first time I have been wrong. Thanks, Again
__________________

__________________
joelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MP-8 setting 30% or 15% sevenmacs Caterpillar Engine Forum 145 07-13-2012 07:14 PM
2003 30' 5th wheel hadlock Excel Owner's Forum 15 04-25-2012 09:28 AM
Easter Rally Set Up & Clean Up Crews Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 3 04-03-2012 06:22 PM
Owners of 2007 & 2008 Freightliner chassis input needed shoreco Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 04-03-2012 01:17 PM
Water leak & damage odaat Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 03-31-2012 01:44 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.