Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2012, 03:36 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
30 amps versus 50

30 verseus 50 amps I have 2005 Winnebago Voyage. Does it matter what amps run the coach better when given the choice?
__________________

__________________
jkfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-06-2012, 05:23 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
harleychief's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 642
jk - if your coach is set up to run on 50 amp you can run off of 30 amp if you have to and you have a plug adapter. The only thing is that you won't be able to run everything, if you have 2 or more A/C's you'll probably only be able to run 1 of them, etc, etc. If you're set to run on 50 then it's always best to go with that.
__________________

__________________
Charlie, Jackie
w/Lucy the Dog & Jack the Cat
2008 Newmar Mountain Aire 4529
NHSO
harleychief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 05:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
randco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 604
It is a matter of choice and also what's available. The 50 amp service will allow you to run more appliances in your coach.

A typical 50 amp service will provide 12,000 watts. Plenty of power to run most everything in your coach at the same time.

A typical 30 amp service will provide 3,600 watts. Enough to run one and other appliances. Sometimes two air conditioners can run off of the 30 amp service.
__________________
2004 Damon Escaper 4076
randco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 05:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,614
If you have 50 amps available always use it. You won't have any load problems or at least shouldn't. No problem using 30 amps when 50 is not available, you just have to limit your usage on items a bit. Good luck.
__________________
Steve & Sally / HiTee & Hudson Our Little Poms / Heidi & Houston Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 06:32 AM   #5
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
What year / model coach?
Does it have a 30 amp or 50 amp system?
__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:06 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
38 Special's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irondale, Alabama
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by randco View Post
A typical 50 amp service will provide 12,000 watts.

A typical 30 amp service will provide 3,600 watts.
While that does not sound correct, it is. The 50 amp service is two legs of 50 amp power, or 100 amp service. So, plugging into a 30 amp service is less than one third the power.

Use 50 amp service whenever it is available.
__________________
2008 Monaco Camelot 42 DSQ
Irondale, Alabama
38 Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:19 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
As noted above, 30 amps is a total of 30 amps. 50 amps is really two 50 amp 120 VAC circuits fro a total of 100 amps.

Neither one is more efficient than the other.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
vraines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 695
I think there may be a question if the distribution panel will handle all 50 amps or not. May be only a 30 amp breaker.
__________________
2007 Dutch Star 4320
2010 Mazda Miata 6 speed
Roadmaster tow
vraines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:35 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by vraines View Post
I think there may be a question if the distribution panel will handle all 50 amps or not. May be only a 30 amp breaker.
If it's a 30 amp coach, then it can never draw MORE than 30 amps regardless of what it's plugged into because of the 30 amp main breaker in the coach's power distribution panel. If it's a 50 amp coach, then it should be able to take full advantage of 50 amp service.

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 11:20 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
randco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyJC View Post
If it's a 30 amp coach, then it can never draw MORE than 30 amps regardless of what it's plugged into because of the 30 amp main breaker in the coach's power distribution panel. If it's a 50 amp coach, then it should be able to take full advantage of 50 amp service.

Rusty
This is correct. Just because it is 50 amps doesn't mean that 50 amps is going to come rushing into the coach. The amount of amperage is the potential maximum that can be drawn from the supply circuit.

The main breaker in the coach will be the limiting factor for the potential amount of amps drawn in the coach.
__________________
2004 Damon Escaper 4076
randco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 11:22 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Someone commented on the efficiency of 30 v/s 50.. actually there is a slight (And I stress SLIGHT) advantage to the 50 amp coach in a 50 amp site in this area.

With 30 amps, each of those 30 amps goes from the park master distribution panel to your rig and back, (Conditions are a bit different between teh panel and the power transformer)

With 50 amps.. (And this applies to the transformer/distribution panel link too) Some of the power comes in on one leg, is sent back on neutral JUST LIKE 30

Some of it goes back via the 2nd leg, thus you are using the same amp twice. And cutting down on line loss, and thus increasing effiecency.

This is WHY homes and 50 amp RV's are wried for 120/240 volt. Less line loss epically if the loads are perfectly balanced.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:45 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
thanks everybody
__________________
jkfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:53 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
SuperGewl's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,781
You guys are just tooooooo technical. When available run the 50 amp coach on 50 amps. It may cost more at the park but it will allow yo run everything in the coach at once.
If you have a Power managment panel just look at it when things are running. It will tell you how much amperage you are drawing and from what source. Check it out when the A/C's kick in and the water heater.

I've got a 30 amp system due to the basement air and they didn't upgrade it to 50 amps. If i want to I should be to do so but I like taking advantage of using the 30 amp (lower cost) system. Works real good
__________________
Retired Navy Submariner
2014 Itasca Sunstar 35F; 5 Star tuned; 2014 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk
SuperGewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:19 AM   #14
ymi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 29
Since you've got the Winnie - I assume (dangerous) that you have the same power management system I have - - 30 amp is usually fine - I will use the 50 amp if available for the same price - - an example - you can have the A/C, fridge on elec and the elec hot water on BUT don't add the microwave into the mix ... on 50 amp you'd have no problem. I connect using the 50 amp cord but keep an adapter in the power bay - after checkin, my wife lets me know which amperage we have...
__________________

__________________
04 Itasca 35U; '99 Mazda Miata convertible Toad for "the OPEN road"
ymi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.