Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 05:36 AM   #1
Junior Member
BigRandy's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MaryDel, De
Posts: 7
30 Amps vs. 50 Amps!

I have a (factory) Parallax Model ATS 5070 transfer switch in my '02 Winnebago Adventurer. It is a 50 amp. My shoreline cord is a 30 amp wired into it. Can I simply replace the 30 amp cord with a 50 amp cord to upgrade to 50 amps? My site power pole offers both a 30 and 50 amp outlet. I want to use the 50 amp. Thanks, Randy

BigRandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-22-2012, 06:22 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Mike Canter's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,700
I don't think it is that easy. You should call Winnie and ask them how they wired it or get a wiring diagram. 30 amp has a SINGLE line of 30 amp power coming and 50 amp has TWO 50 amp lines coming in. It depends on how the transfer box was wired to the circuit breakers and if the power from the breakers was split up or not. If it was wired as a single circuit then just going to 50 amps will only increase you amperage on one line. If it was that easy then why was it not wired up as 50 amp from the factory.

Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:39 AM   #3
Registered User
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lake George, Mi
Posts: 385
No. Your 30a cord is merely a single leg 120vac connection capable of handling 30a. (1 hot, 1 common and 1 ground.) A 50a is 2 - 120vac connections (2 hot, 1 common and a ground) capable of 50a on each with a total of 100a.

Since you have a 30a cord, you have a 30a system. You would need to re-wire your coach to 50a to use 50a service.
jlyon69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,078
Only if you want a fire (jlyon69) is correct.
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
Wizard's Avatar

Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,334
Short answer is probably not. Mine had 50 amp transfer switch and 100 amp distribution panel with one 30 amp breaker, so was fairly easy, course I'm an electrician.

Had to replace the power cord, rewire the transfer switch, replace the feeder wire from the transfer switch to distribution panel with 6-3 with ground cable.

replace the 30 amp breaker and two 20 amp breakers for a/c with a 20-50-50-20 breaker and some minor rewiring inside the distribution panel.

All drawings are available on Winnebago website and you can print off and compare side be side the two wiring configurations.

Be glad to help any other way I can. I've helped several other people, search for other threads on this forum, there is several.
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Texas Boomers Christmas Rally Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 98 11-30-2011 09:29 PM
10th Anniversary Rally Package Payments Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 2 07-29-2010 05:33 AM
30 Amps vs 50 Amps !!! BigRandy MH-General Discussions & Problems 16 06-20-2010 06:33 AM
Generator AMPs available pocoloco Boondocking 4 06-12-2009 03:16 PM
Power Line One Panel Limits One Leg 50 Amp circuit to 30 Amps SteveG Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 03-05-2008 04:43 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.