Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2012, 11:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 84
30 and 50 amp Electrical Systems on Motorhomes

I don't have a caoch yet but I am looking at all electric rigs that need 50 amp electrical service. So if I stayed at a park that only had a 30 amp service here are my questions:

1) Can you still physically plug the coaches 50amp plug into a smaller 30 amp service and just reduce the demand loads inside the coach such as not running AC?

2) If the configuration of the 30 and 50 amp plugs are the same then would you damage the coaches electrical stsyem if you exceeded 30amps or would this just trip the park service breaker?
__________________

__________________
BucketList is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-21-2012, 11:17 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by BucketList View Post
I don't have a caoch yet but I am looking at all electric rigs that need 50 amp electrical service. So if I stayed at a park that only had a 30 amp service here are my questions:

1) Can you still physically plug the coaches 50amp plug into a smaller 30 amp service and just reduce the demand loads inside the coach such as not running AC?

2) If the configuration of the 30 and 50 amp plugs are the same then would you damage the coaches electrical stsyem if you exceeded 30amps or would this just trip the park service breaker?
You can't physically plug the 50 amp plug into a 30 amp recepticle. However, there are adaptors that allow you to plug your 50 amp plug into a 50 to 30 amp adaptor and then plug it in to the shore power at a park. This answers both your questions.
__________________

__________________
Denny & Kylene, Abby (Golden) and Josie (Sheltie),
2004 Itasca Suncruiser 38R, W22, Ultrapower
2012 Jeep Wrangler Sport Unlimited
golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 11:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by BucketList View Post
I don't have a caoch yet but I am looking at all electric rigs that need 50 amp electrical service. So if I stayed at a park that only had a 30 amp service here are my questions:

1) Can you still physically plug the coaches 50amp plug into a smaller 30 amp service and just reduce the demand loads inside the coach such as not running AC?

2) If the configuration of the 30 and 50 amp plugs are the same then would you damage the coaches electrical stsyem if you exceeded 30amps or would this just trip the park service breaker?
You can always run one AC on 30 AMP maybe two depending on what other electrical items are running at the same time. We ended up staying at campsites with only 30 AMP more often than ones with 50 AMP and had no problem using everything other than both AC's.

Adam
__________________
Sold 2009 Allegro Bus 36QSP.
hellojohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 12:09 PM   #4
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
As has been stated, there is an adapter to enable you to plug your 50-amp coach into a 30-amp receptacle. The adapter is relatively inexpensive. There is another adapter to enable you to even step down even further and plug your 50-amp coach into a regular household 15 or 20-amp plug. You won't be able to run much except the TV, a few lights and the battery charger, but it will work. If you try to draw too much power, it will trip the breaker.

If you have a choice, go for a 50-amp RV.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 03:49 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
paula55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13
Hi Everyone,
I just purchased my first motorhome, a 1996 Newmar Kountry Star DP and was wondering something similar to this post. I keep seeing references to 20, 30 and 50 amp. How do I know what my coach has and what are the differences? I don't have the coach yet but thought I would start learning about it as there is much to learn. Thanks.
Paula
__________________
paula55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 03:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by paula55 View Post
Hi Everyone,
I just purchased my first motorhome, a 1996 Newmar Kountry Star DP and was wondering something similar to this post. I keep seeing references to 20, 30 and 50 amp. How do I know what my coach has and what are the differences? I don't have the coach yet but thought I would start learning about it as there is much to learn. Thanks.
Paula
It will probably be a 30 amp unit, our first DSDP was a 50 amp in 2002. You can tell by looking at the shore power plug in. If it's three prongs its 30 amps. 50 amp takes 4 prongs.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 04:17 PM   #7
RVM 18
 
okmunky's Avatar


 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fulltimer, SD resident
Posts: 7,256
Website that helps explain RV electrical service

RV Electric
__________________
Barb (RVM18), Sena (capuchin monkey, RVM Head Mascot) & Lily (Maltese/Yorkie)
2011 Shasta Cynara 230F, 2012 Smart Car toad FMCA #F466348
The Journey is Our Destination. Full-timing since 5/18/2011 and loving it.
okmunky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 04:18 PM   #8
RVM 18
 
okmunky's Avatar


 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fulltimer, SD resident
Posts: 7,256
another

Electrical Tutorial
__________________
Barb (RVM18), Sena (capuchin monkey, RVM Head Mascot) & Lily (Maltese/Yorkie)
2011 Shasta Cynara 230F, 2012 Smart Car toad FMCA #F466348
The Journey is Our Destination. Full-timing since 5/18/2011 and loving it.
okmunky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 04:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ardbark's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Logan, Ut
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
It will probably be a 30 amp unit, our first DSDP was a 50 amp in 2002. You can tell by looking at the shore power plug in. If it's three prongs its 30 amps. 50 amp takes 4 prongs.
Last fall I bought a 1996 HR Endeavor, and it's a 50 amp coach. So don't assume based solely on the year - check your shore plug. And like others have mentioned, you can easily adapt a 50 down to 30 and then another adapter on that one will get you down to a house plug.
__________________
Its not the destination, its the journey
2003 FW Disco 39L chased by 2300 lbs of raging GEO Tracker
ardbark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 06:37 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Go Dawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,051
I have 50 amp in my 87 Allegro. I also carry adapters to go all the way down to 15amp. No big issue. I have been in 98 degree weather and still only needed to run on AC. Never had an issue. Can't run AC at home, but in the PNW you very seldom need AC.
__________________
Arnold
2017 Grand Design Reflection 303 RLS
2004 Ford F350 Lariat 4x4 Dually
Go Dawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 07:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 84
Thanks to all for the replies. I especially like the links from okmunky. The link to the RVcruzer.com site is great! Bruce
__________________
BucketList is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 09:24 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
1) Can you still physically plug the coaches 50amp plug into a smaller 30 amp service and just reduce the demand loads inside the coach such as not running AC?

A: Yes but you have to use an adapter, the 50 amp plug will NOT fit in a 30 amp outlet.

2) If the configuration of the 30 and 50 amp plugs are the same then would you damage the coaches electrical stsyem if you exceeded 30amps or would this just trip the park service breaker?[/QUOTE]

A: they are different, however every RV place, including Walmart Automotive carries adapters.

And they also sell adapters that let you plug a 30 amp rig into a 50 amp outlet (you may wish to do this due to the higher quality of the 50 amp connection)

If you plug a 50 amp rig into 30 amp outlet, you can (As my wife just did) trip the park breaker.

If you plug a 30 amp rig into 50 amps (using proper adapter) you trip the main breaker INSIDE the RV,

One caution.. And there are many who have felt this bite.

The TT-30 (Travel Trailer 30) outlet looks a lot like common outlets used by 240 volt hardware, Dryers, Welders and such. Though there are several different outlets used for 240 volt.. At least one of them is close enough to plug a 30 amp RV into..

Of course the RV is a 120 volt device, plugging into a welder outlet will ..... Let all the money out of your wallet.

Now at a campground.. You **SHOULD** not have a problem.. But many have plugged in at home, or at a friend's house, often with assurances that other RVers have plugged in there...... At great expense.

For compairison. 30 amp is 3 wires, Hot, Neutral, Safety ground.

50 amp is 4 wire L-1 (hot), Neutral, L-2 (hot) and safety ground, it, like your house, is 120/240 volt service, 50 amps at 240 volt, or 12000 watts, as opposed to 3600 watts on 30 amp
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easy Chairs & TVs in a floor plan Gnijman Travel Trailer Discussion 12 03-04-2012 06:51 AM
Camp ground on the Gulf side in Flordia Beacher Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 16 03-03-2012 10:07 AM
50 amp with one AC Crossroaders 5th Wheel Discussion 12 02-25-2012 04:23 PM
Need an RV park NW of Atlanta on I75, any suggestions? sjenkins93 Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 2 02-21-2012 09:48 PM
Towing on a dolly. cokeinator Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 02-21-2012 09:34 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.