RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2019, 10:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Hurricane1's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON Canada
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Hurricane1 Send a message via MSN to Hurricane1 Send a message via Yahoo to Hurricane1
30 to 50 amp

I am updating my power from 30 amp to 50 amp service. Can anyone tell me why I would have 2 30 amp automatic transfer switches? I am wired for 2 ac units but only have 1, the 5500 onan would run 2 ac units if there were 2 units.
__________________

Hurricane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2019, 02:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,085
The generator has 2 120 volt outputs. One for 30 amps to the RV, just like shore power and the second 15 or 20 amp output for the second A/C.

The second transfer switch takes the second A/C out of the shore power A/C selector switch and switchs it to the 15/20 amp generator output.
__________________

twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 04:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
richard5933's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 430
An RV with 50-amp service has two 'hot' conductors coming in, each supplying 50 amps. In total you would then have 100 amps available for use inside the RV.

Sounds like your generator has a 30-amp outlet and a 15/20-amp outlet. Your 5500-watt generator is only putting out approximately 45 amps, not 50 (Watts/volts=amps.) That's less than HALF of what you'll have available with the new 50-amp service, assuming you are connecting the 50-amp service in the typical fashion.

To properly switch to 50-amp service you need to get a new generator. Then you can get a single, proper, 50-amp transfer switch. What you're proposing sounds kind of hodge-podge. If you are running 50-amp service to the coach with the upgrade, those 30-amp transfer switches will be overloaded.

How are you planning this 50-amp service upgrade?

You've got to run new 6-gauge conductors from the new power inlet to your transfer switch and then on to your breaker panel as well if you are going to be using 50-amp service.
__________________
Richard
1974 GMC 4108 - Custom Coach Conversion
richard5933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 06:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Hurricane1's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON Canada
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Hurricane1 Send a message via MSN to Hurricane1 Send a message via Yahoo to Hurricane1
Going to run 6 gauge wire to a 41360 50 amp surge guard switch and then to 5355tc panel. I don't camp in the boonies and only run the gen set in emergency.
Hurricane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 07:04 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,085
You don't need a new generator !! The generator runs everything now, changing the breaker box won't change that.

The generator is producing a full 45 amp output, but its split up at the generator breakers to 2 outputs.

You can just run one existing line to each side of the new 50 amp auto transfer switch.

When you wire the new 50amp breaker panel, keep in mind that 1 leg is going to be able to supply more power then the other, while on generator power. Your never going to need the full 100 amp potential of shore power anyway.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 08:56 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 20,753
What twinboat says! Just get a 50A (4-wire) ATS and wire the two generator outputs to the two hot terminals. Just be aware that when using the genset, you have much less total power available, basically 30A on one hot leg and 15A on the other.


Presumably you will be moving some of the branch circuits to tghe L2 side of the load center, to take some advantage of the dual hots of a 50A hook-up? Just remember that when that generator emergency happens, the secondary leg will only have 15A available.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition and several other RVs
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 11:37 AM   #7
Member
 
Hurricane1's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON Canada
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Hurricane1 Send a message via MSN to Hurricane1 Send a message via Yahoo to Hurricane1
Thanks for the information everyone. I thought this is the way it should go but now I feel better about going forward
Hurricane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 11:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
richard5933's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
You don't need a new generator !! The generator runs everything now, changing the breaker box won't change that....
Technically speaking, correct. What I was talking about was if the OP was to install a 2nd a/c AND was expecting to be able to run the same on generator as on shore power.

Whichever side of the panel that is powered by the 15-amp output of the generator will be able to run the a/c and probably nothing else when on generator.

Once upgrading shore power to 50-amp service, 100 amps will be available. If the breaker panel is configured properly it will be possible to run much of the bus on the existing generator. But, it will take careful calculations since one side of the panel will be very under-powered compared to what's available on shore power, the other side only slightly under-powered.
__________________
Richard
1974 GMC 4108 - Custom Coach Conversion
richard5933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 12:59 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Teamfoxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
What twinboat says! Just get a 50A (4-wire) ATS and wire the two generator outputs to the two hot terminals. Just be aware that when using the genset, you have much less total power available, basically 30A on one hot leg and 15A on the other.


Presumably you will be moving some of the branch circuits to tghe L2 side of the load center, to take some advantage of the dual hots of a 50A hook-up? Just remember that when that generator emergency happens, the secondary leg will only have 15A available.
My Onan 5500 has two separate 30 amp breakers for the output. I'm fairly sure that only one AC unit (and nothing else) runs off the second power leg and both air conditioners have 15 amp breakers on them.
__________________
TeamFoxy ~ Sebastian, FL
2011 Coachmen Mirada 32DS
2005 Itasca Spirit 324V
Teamfoxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 04:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,085
You said he NEEDED a new generator. Your words not mine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard5933 View Post
Technically speaking, correct. What I was talking about was if the OP was to install a 2nd a/c AND was expecting to be able to run the same on generator as on shore power.

Whichever side of the panel that is powered by the 15-amp output of the generator will be able to run the a/c and probably nothing else when on generator.

Once upgrading shore power to 50-amp service, 100 amps will be available. If the breaker panel is configured properly it will be possible to run much of the bus on the existing generator. But, it will take careful calculations since one side of the panel will be very under-powered compared to what's available on shore power, the other side only slightly under-powered.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 04:09 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
richard5933's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
You said he NEEDED a new generator. Your words not mine.
What's your point? I already clarified what I said and narrowed my earlier statement.

Now it sounds like you're just picking at words, and I really don't know what you want here?
__________________

__________________
Richard
1974 GMC 4108 - Custom Coach Conversion
richard5933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"NORCOLD & DOMETIC RECALLS" & Service Manuals Norcold & Dometic "007" RV Systems & Appliances 89 07-18-2019 04:41 PM
Generator Maintenance & MANUALS Onan & Generac & PARTS "007" RV Systems & Appliances 34 07-06-2019 02:09 AM
February "Celebrity Classic" Meal Signups Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 29 02-06-2018 06:55 PM
2011 RV chassis Mods & parts & Tech info new & old chassis "007" Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 09-27-2011 07:26 AM
50 amp to 30 amp to 20 amp?? fansill MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 05-15-2011 01:36 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.