Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2015, 12:38 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 197
30 to 50 amp adapters

I am getting a large voltage drop on most 30amp posts I have hooked up to lately. At first I thought the campgrounds electrical was at fault, but after of number of times I am starting to wonder. No significant voltage drop when I am hooked to 50 amp. I am wondering if my adaptor could be the problem. I had a really crappy one once from Walmart and upgraded to another brand that was much better built.

Is it possible for the adaptors to start failing? Is there better adapter that anyone could recommend.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Deas
Tiffin RED 34
deasnealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-02-2015, 12:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,845
How are you measuring the voltage drop?
You should be using a volt meter at the pedestal.

There will never be a voltage drop if there is no current being drawn.
And as the current increases through a poor connection, the voltage drop increases.

The first thing to do is measure the 50amp voltages, then plug in your adapter and measure on the 30 amp plug.

Voltages can be +/-5% at the pedestal without a load.





You should feel significant resistance when plugging in your adapter if the contacts are good.
Finally a weak spring or corroded contact in the adapter can certainly cause a problem.

IF you have a cord reel, it also has contacts that can go bad.

Regards,

Dan
__________________

__________________
2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2014 Jeep Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -South Orange County Ca.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 04:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Is it possible for the adapter to start failing....

First a question: Are you plugging a 50 amp rig into a 30 amp site or the other way around.

30 amp plugs DO FAIL, I mean I see it all the time, Pull it out and look at it, the neutral is likely BLACK not shiny, and the plastic near the base melted.. When I'm on a 30 amp site I clean my plug EVERY time I plug it in (Well unplug it more than likely) and I carry a spare tt30 plug. Even on 50 amp sites you need to clean the pins from time to time but .... much longer times between.

That said. I'm sure other failures can happen and of course some adapters are just better built.. Just like some parks are better wired.

I have one where if not for my Autoformer I'd be in serious trouble.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 10:06 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Yes, adapters fail. Wires get broken inside and that reduces the ability to carry much current, resulting in a voltage drop under load. You can have 120v with no load, but have the voltage drop substantially as the amp draw increases.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 07:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 197
Thanks. . Getting new adapter. . Will update all on this. .
__________________
Deas
Tiffin RED 34
deasnealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ada



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Needing 50 amp but only have 30 amp service rwill1952 Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 5 10-09-2015 11:40 AM
Using 50 amp service for 30 amp MH 2014-319DSF Class C Motorhome Discussions 5 01-03-2015 09:05 AM
50 amp coach to 30 amp extension to 50 amp house? abarkl RV Systems & Appliances 10 01-02-2015 09:55 PM
30 Amp But No 50 Amp Shore Power fixn2gocamp RV Systems & Appliances 27 10-03-2014 05:48 AM
50 amp to 30 amp on surge protector ? TinCanTee iRV2.com General Discussion 6 06-29-2014 05:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.