Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2016, 03:42 PM   #1
Member
 
fishdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Houston,Texas
Posts: 72
50 amp breaker

Who has installed a 50 amp breaker and outlet at your home or garage?
How much? How difficult was it? and How's it working?
Thanks,
frank
__________________

__________________
2005 HR Navigator
fishdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-04-2016, 03:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
znt1186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 488
Had one put in for about $1500. It did involve a lot of trenching and covering, but it works fine. Just don't use a GFI breaker. Had to change mine because the rv tripped it when I came in off the road and plugged in. Standard breaker works fine.
__________________

__________________
znt1186 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 04:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HerbZilla's Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Lake Katrine, NY
Posts: 242

Name:   ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1459803675.792289.jpg
Views: 682
Size:  89.9 KB

Name:   ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1459803693.428051.jpg
Views: 678
Size:  83.2 KB
About $100 in materials. The black cable on the left of the breaker box is what runs to the outlet on the outside of the garage. Use it all the time when I have the mh at the house.


Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Herb, Anna and Lil Herb
2018 Fleetwood Discovery LXE 40G

HerbZilla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 08:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,507
50 amp breaker

Free leftover wire and breaker luckily the panel was on the other side of the wall. It's really ample if you have some electrical knowledge. I think it's a must when you come home from a trip you can run everything while unloading and cleaning up.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 09:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rsponsford's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 375
I had one installed by an electrician. Even though I could have done it myself I wanted to make sure it was to code. It cost me less than $300 and has been extremely convenient.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________

Russ
1990 Country Coach Concept 36' Anteres
1997 Jeep Wrangler, Blue Ox
Rsponsford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 09:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,382
For an RV you need a double breaker, 50 amps for each leg. I only need a 30 since our rig is just stored next to the stick house and 3,600 watts is enough for that.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 09:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
slemnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 809
I installed it, purchased a 50a breaker and installed it inter box, ran my wires and ground to my plug in the correct sequence and it works great
__________________
slemnah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 09:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 113
I previously had installed a 30. Bought a motor home that had 50 AMP service. Replaced wire, single pole 30 amp breaker with double pole 50 amp breaker, and the outlet in the RV box. Used the old wire to pull the new wire through the conduit.

I have been wiring my own things for 40+ years and worked in a maintenance shop for a few years back in the 70's.
__________________
JumboJet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 09:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,775
Several years ago I installed a 30a breaker and outlet, with wire that could handle 50a to make it easier should I ever want to upgrade.

First two motorhomes were 30a, found I usually just have 15a cord plugged in for battery charge and lighting. Now have 50a Motorhome, still don't use the 30a very often - only when air conditioning is needed and the 30a will still do the job.

So doubt if I will ever upgrade/install 50a breaker and outlet.

YMMV.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 10:52 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Wobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 232
I had mine professionally installed, total cost inclusive of materials was about $800. I have a 30 amp one on y other building dating back to when I had trailers but there isn't a good place to put the class A next to that building. That one was also professionally installed but it was only about $300 as it is right behind the breaker box.
__________________
2005 Airstream 396 XL Land Yacht with Cat 330 C7
2016 Grand Design Solitude 369RL-R 5th Wheel
Wobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 11:31 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
OK for your folks that are advising others to do it themselves let me add more advice.

1. If you are in the city limits it is illegal and if you get caught there is a fine. A lot of counties and states also have laws about doing electrical wiring without a master electricians license. The local government just has to make one phone call to the utility company and you will not have a meter until you pay a master electrician to come in and redo your work.

2. If it is not illegal where you live ask your friendly home owners insurance agent if there is a house fire and it started from the 50 amp service you wired in will the insurance cover it. Unless you have a master electrician license they probably will not cover it.

3. I do not have a master electricians license. However I worked in the Navy as an Electronic technician on high power equipment with our own seperate 50kw generators. I worked in a steel mill as an electrician and helped work on our substation that was bigger than a lot of small towns have feeding them. I do not do my own house wiring because of 1 and 2 above.
__________________
2005 Allegro Bus 38DP
2012 Enclave tow vehicle
No Dogs, No cats.
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 11:32 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
John Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
For an RV you need a double breaker, 50 amps for each leg. I only need a 30 since our rig is just stored next to the stick house and 3,600 watts is enough for that.
Thats what I needed too. I used the 50 amp plug for convienence so I wouldn't have to install a pig tail, but I installed a double 30 amp breaker.
__________________
John Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 11:45 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Jones View Post
Thats what I needed too. I used the 50 amp plug for convienence so I wouldn't have to install a pig tail, but I installed a double 30 amp breaker.
When we bought our stick house we had them change out the electric stove for a gas unit. The double 30 amp breakers are still in the box so I could "re purpose" them. Would have to do a little wiring since the range still needs 120 for the controls and microwave above it.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 11:46 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini5362 View Post
OK for your folks that are advising others to do it themselves let me add more advice.

1. If you are in the city limits it is illegal and if you get caught there is a fine. A lot of counties and states also have laws about doing electrical wiring without a master electricians license. The local government just has to make one phone call to the utility company and you will not have a meter until you pay a master electrician to come in and redo your work.

2. If it is not illegal where you live ask your friendly home owners insurance agent if there is a house fire and it started from the 50 amp service you wired in will the insurance cover it. Unless you have a master electrician license they probably will not cover it.

3. I do not have a master electricians license. However I worked in the Navy as an Electronic technician on high power equipment with our own seperate 50kw generators. I worked in a steel mill as an electrician and helped work on our substation that was bigger than a lot of small towns have feeding them. I do not do my own house wiring because of 1 and 2 above.
In our area the home owner can pretty much do any wiring they want as long as it's AFTER the lead from the power company.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaker Breaker hibypass Newmar Owner's Forum 6 08-26-2015 09:58 AM
50 amp receptacle breaker: 60 amp OK? draboo RV Systems & Appliances 52 10-02-2014 01:52 PM
No breaker on Post - Can I use RV breaker instead? RichK MH-General Discussions & Problems 14 05-11-2012 11:14 AM
50 Amp Cord/ One 50 Amp AC Breaker. Edouard National RV Owner's Forum 7 10-28-2010 09:23 AM
60 amp breaker Woody MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 02-21-2008 01:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.