Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2012, 09:30 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
VSPA's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Humble/Atascocita, Texas
Posts: 1,230
I've got a 25 footer in both the 30 and 50 amp thanks to the prior unit being a 50 amp service. Haven't had to use the 30 amp one yet, but since I have all the adapters, I think I would use the heavier 50 and adapt down to primary 30 amp line just for safety if I had to run an extension.
__________________

__________________
Stan, Shirley & 2 Schnauzers (Sandy & Sassy)
RV: 2014 Itasca Sunstar 35F
USAF, Retired, Life Member: DAV, VFW, VVA, & VSPA
VSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-06-2012, 09:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,246
in 300 days of use, I have never needed more length than the standard cord provides. I would insist on another site if it didn't work.

The sewer hose is a different matter. For reasons unknown, the sewer hookup is sometimes far away and requires an extension, which I do carry.
__________________

__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:07 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
CaymanPilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 175
I made my own 35 ft 50 amp extension which when added to the 30 ft one that came with the motorhome has so far allowed us to plug in anywhere we have gone. We like to camp in state parks and sometimes the pedestals are on the wrong side when you back in to the site. When it's raining we use a WalMart bag and a couple of heavy rubber bands to protect the exposed connection. Works like a charm!
__________________
Steve & Niki
2009 Monaco Cayman 35 SBD Cummins ISB 340HP
2011 Chevy HHR Toad
CaymanPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 12:54 AM   #18
Member
 
drwyatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, Phoenix and in between
Posts: 95
Putting a extension onto the existing RV cord should be done with care. The added resistance of the cord and connectors can cause a voltage drop of power to your motorhome, especially when a greater power demand is created. If a longer cord is needed it should be as short as possible. The longer the cord the more the voltage will drop at the power panel. Ohms law applies here E [volts drop at coach] = I[Current draw of load] X R[Resistance of cord]. A longer cord actually becomes a resistor in the power circuit. A recommendation is to have larger size wires in the extension cord than in the original power cord. It is also important to clean or burnish the prongs on your power cord. I have found that many RV parks have crappy plugs that make a poor connection and will blacken the prongs. Also feel the the cord and connectors for heat when in a heavy power use. If warm then it is resistor and a lower voltage will be at the coach panel. A site that has information is RV Tech Library - Wire Gauge Capacities
__________________
drwyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 02:32 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
danes-on-tour's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark and Spain
Posts: 1,975
I seems that carrying an extension cord is like taking an umbrella with you when out walking.

Bring it and it will stay dry all the time - don't bring it, and it will be bucketing down throughout your walk. Law of Murphy.
__________________
The Great Dane
2007 Monaco Diplomat PAQ - 2007 Saturn Vue Honorary Texas Boomer
Living in Denmark - visiting the US whenever possible. www.winnebago.dk www.lasramblas.dk

danes-on-tour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:56 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
CaymanPilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 175
drwyatt, you are so right! There are many things that can cause low voltage to our motorhomes and long or improperly made extension cords are definitely one of them. For protection against such issues, we have a Hughes rv220-50 Autoformer and a Progressive Industries HW50C EMS. The Autoformer can step the voltage up if necessary and the EMS protects against miswired pedestals, surges and other bad stuff. When I installed these components, I put a male 50 amp plug on the input side and a female 50 amp plug on the output side so we can easily put the Autoformer first in line or the EMS first in line or eliminate either or both components if there are problems with them. So far, this system has worked pretty good for us.
__________________
Steve & Niki
2009 Monaco Cayman 35 SBD Cummins ISB 340HP
2011 Chevy HHR Toad
CaymanPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:23 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Sutler's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: GreenValley , Arizona
Posts: 315
We carry a 30' 50 amp extention cord we do need it at our house to plug in. But we also have a switch at cord area of RV to switch from 50amp to 30amp ,depending on what CG has but when we need the cord, we need it. We dont mind carrying it either.
__________________
Tom & Christi Rae Sutler
Freightliner club member
Goodsam club member
IRV2-Supporter
Sutler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 09:00 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Watch your amperage! At 45 ft you start losing capacity due to line resistance. Power converters and the associated electronics (IE: D.C. controls in A.C., ref, H2O htr, Furnace etc,) can be damaged if you don't
__________________
Ron Buckner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 08:45 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Korryp's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 159
I carry a 30 foot 50 amp cord. We use it ab out four times a year...
__________________
'07 Fleetwood Bounder Diesel 38N
Brazel's added: MP-8, Aero Muffler, Koni FSD Shocks, Bell Crank and Comfort Ride Control Valves. '08 Ford Escape Hybrid, Brakemaster 9100
Korryp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:02 AM   #24
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
I carry three, two 50 amp 30 foot each and one 30 amp 25 foot. You just never know when you might need one.

When full-timing it pays to be prepared. When using your rig part-time or just a few times a year, it probably would pay for itself until you get someplace where you need it but will have to move because you don't.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:58 PM   #25
Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 64
I have a 25 ft 50 amp and a 25 ft 30 amp that I carry all the time. You never know when you might need it. Older campground utilities are not always accessable.

I'd rather have it and not need it than to need it and not have it
GJHD, 2012 Challenger, Saturn Vue, Sebring Conv, HD Ultra, Pressure Pro
__________________
GJHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:08 PM   #26
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
I carry an extra 30' of 50 amp, plus a 30' 30 amp cord to use when I have a 30 amp site and do not want to drag the 50 amp out.

I also carry a mix of adapters and dog-bones in case I need it or a neighbor does.

ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:22 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
I'm a bit different here. My coach has a 30 amp service, and I carry a 25 ft/ 30 amp cord (just in case). But I also carry a 15ft/ 50 amp along with a 50/30 adapter in addition. The reasoning is simple, sometimes we've been offered sites where the access to hook ups have been less then fully available or the 30 amp has service has been compromised, this keeps my options open.
__________________
Ron Buckner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 10:21 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
buck454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NorthEast Texas
Posts: 671
Yes, The reel 50 A cord on my MH got shortened at some point so I find the 30' 50A extension very useful at times. I also carry at least one 25' of 30A ext, couple of "dogbones', and a 50A adapter box for use if I want to borrow 15-30 amps from another breaker in my given pedestal and/or an adjacent pedestal.
__________________

__________________
competitive shooter RVer
2006 Gulfstream Friendship G7 8411 400HP Cum.
RM Sterling/'07 Chevy Colorado CrewCab 4x4
buck454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.