Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2016, 10:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
50 amp plug reduced to 30 amp

I have a 2004 pace arrow with a 30 amp shed system. My question is can I use a 50 amp plug reduced to a 30 amp plug on my unit without causing any problem. I was told by a camper that has the same rig that I have that he uses a power cord with a 50 amp plug on one end and a 30 amp plug on the other end. He plugs the 50 amp into the 50 amp power supply,and the 30 amp into the motor home for power supply. He said he has done this for years with no problems. He said it will not let the 50 amp get to the motor home, but gives him a true 30 amp supply. I would like some feed back from some more experienced campers if this is true or not. Thank you in advance for any information on this subject.
__________________

__________________
Jimdel41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-11-2016, 11:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jfran304's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 2,496
Our 2003 Allegro Open Road was set up for 30 Amp and I never had a problem hooking it up to a 50 Amp. When I had a plug installed at our house I had a 50 Amp installed just in case we traded the coach which we did.

Jon
__________________

__________________
Jon & Sue Francis (Retired U.S.A.F.)
Lil Girl-Rescued, Abby Rescued, Peaches Rescued
06 Allegro 35TSA Workhorse Chassis
2013 Chevy Spark Dinghy
jfran304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 11:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4,085
50A to 30A adapter.....only one Hot leg of the 50A is used along with the Neutral and Ground






50A is supplied thru adapter and 30A power cord.....BUT RV 30A Main Breaker protects RV 120V AC System
__________________
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 11:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
gemert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimdel41 View Post
I have a 2004 pace arrow with a 30 amp shed system. My question is can I use a 50 amp plug reduced to a 30 amp plug on my unit without causing any problem. I was told by a camper that has the same rig that I have that he uses a power cord with a 50 amp plug on one end and a 30 amp plug on the other end. He plugs the 50 amp into the 50 amp power supply,and the 30 amp into the motor home for power supply. He said he has done this for years with no problems. He said it will not let the 50 amp get to the motor home, but gives him a true 30 amp supply. I would like some feed back from some more experienced campers if this is true or not. Thank you in advance for any information on this subject.
The 50 amp connection that you would use with an adapter is really only a "potential" current that is the maximum can be used before you pop the breaker on the pedestal. If your coach starts pulling more than 30 through it, the main breaker in your coach should pop. Within reason, your coach will protect itself from too much current.
__________________
Jerry, "EWC (SW)" USN Retired
2003 Beaver Patriot Thunder 505 HP C-12 1550 TQ
Allison 4000MH Ram 4X4 towed
gemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 11:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,803
Yes, you can with the adapter other have pointed to. However, why? Our PA is a 30a shed system as well. I don't think I have ever been to a CG that didn't have a 30a connection in a 50a pedestal.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 11:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimdel41 View Post
I was told by a camper that has the same rig that I have that he uses a power cord with a 50 amp plug on one end and a 30 amp plug on the other end. He plugs the 50 amp into the 50 amp power supply,and the 30 amp into the motor home for power supply. He said he has done this for years with no problems. He said it will not let the 50 amp get to the motor home, but gives him a true 30 amp supply. I would like some feed back from some more experienced campers if this is true or not. Thank you in advance for any information on this subject.
Wrong! He's getting one hot lead (50 amps) through the cord. A 50 amp RV service can be used as two 120 Volt 50 amp circuits or one 240 volt 50 amp circuit. Very few RV's use the 240 volt though, ours happens to be one of them for the 240 Volt dryer.
A 30 amp plug can provide 50 X 120 X 1 or 3,600 watts. A 50 amp service can provide 50 X 120 X 2 or 12,000 watts or 50 X 240 X 1 or 12,000 watts.

We stayed at one park on a reservation some years ago. They advertised 50 amp service. When I went to plug in I found that instead of two 50 amp breakers they had a 30 amp on one leg and a 20 amp on the other. Yep it adds up to 50 but it only gives 20 + 30 X 120 or 6,000 watts. Luckily it was cool enough that we didn't need the heat pumps.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 01:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Wrong! He's getting one hot lead (50 amps) through the cord. A 50 amp RV service can be used as two 120 Volt 50 amp circuits or one 240 volt 50 amp circuit. Very few RV's use the 240 volt though, ours happens to be one of them for the 240 Volt dryer.
A 30 amp plug can provide 50 X 120 X 1 or 3,600 watts. A 50 amp service can provide 50 X 120 X 2 or 12,000 watts or 50 X 240 X 1 or 12,000 watts.

We stayed at one park on a reservation some years ago. They advertised 50 amp service. When I went to plug in I found that instead of two 50 amp breakers they had a 30 amp on one leg and a 20 amp on the other. Yep it adds up to 50 but it only gives 20 + 30 X 120 or 6,000 watts. Luckily it was cool enough that we didn't need the heat pumps.
Mr D.

Re-read what OP posted

Looking to use a 50A to 30A adapter on his 30A RV.

At least that is what I read it as.
__________________
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 01:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Yes, you can with the adapter other have pointed to. However, why? Our PA is a 30a shed system as well. I don't think I have ever been to a CG that didn't have a 30a connection in a 50a pedestal.


Have run into several 30A power pedestal 30A Receptacles that were:

Loose contacts
Burnt contacts
Broken receptacle

Where the 50A was in MUCH better shape.
50A to 30A adapter allowed use of the 'better receptacle w/o issues.
__________________
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 02:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Brad Felmey's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wherever we're parked
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimdel41 View Post
I have a 2004 pace arrow with a 30 amp shed system. My question is can I use a 50 amp plug reduced to a 30 amp plug on my unit without causing any problem. I was told by a camper that has the same rig that I have that he uses a power cord with a 50 amp plug on one end and a 30 amp plug on the other end. He plugs the 50 amp into the 50 amp power supply,and the 30 amp into the motor home for power supply. He said he has done this for years with no problems. He said it will not let the 50 amp get to the motor home, but gives him a true 30 amp supply. I would like some feed back from some more experienced campers if this is true or not. Thank you in advance for any information on this subject.
So, in summary, your friend does not understand electricity (see the post with the picture of the adapter cord for a correct explanation) but you can use the adapter. If you don't care about the deep explanation, simply get an adapter and use it - you'll be fine.
__________________
Brad Felmey
Non-Retired Full-Timer
2018 Tiffin Allegro RED 33AA
Brad Felmey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 07:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Palm Desert, CA
Posts: 1,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimdel41 View Post
I have a 2004 pace arrow with a 30 amp shed system. My question is can I use a 50 amp plug reduced to a 30 amp plug on my unit without causing any problem. I was told by a camper that has the same rig that I have that he uses a power cord with a 50 amp plug on one end and a 30 amp plug on the other end. He plugs the 50 amp into the 50 amp power supply,and the 30 amp into the motor home for power supply. He said he has done this for years with no problems. He said it will not let the 50 amp get to the motor home, but gives him a true 30 amp supply. I would like some feed back from some more experienced campers if this is true or not. Thank you in advance for any information on this subject.
The way I interpret the question/statement, he has modified a power cord, one end is 50 amps and the other is 30 amps. Maybe I'm missing something???
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PRQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 07:15 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsorbill View Post
The way I interpret the question/statement, he has modified a power cord, one end is 50 amps and the other is 30 amps. Maybe I'm missing something???
That's the way I read it too. So he can receive the full 50 amps through the cord and into the RV's breakers, which would be 30 amps. Those breakers then limit the power coming in to 30 amps.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 08:43 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
NMRVer's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 281
50=2 hot legs, 30=1 hot leg.Not problem the adapter drops the 2 phased hot leg.
__________________
Ford RV V10 5 star Tow tune
Front/Read Roadmaster 1 3/4" anti-sway bars. Roadmaster steering stabilizer
2009 Acme Tow dolly w/ 2014 Avalon Hybrid Limited
NMRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 03:16 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Shaky's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 183
We use a 50 amp to 30 amp power adapter with no problems on our 30 amp Fleetwood. We also use a surge protector.
__________________
'97 Pace Arrow Vision 36 with Tag Axel, Ford 460 with Banks Power Pack. 2000 Jeep Wrangler Toad, one miniature schnauzer that rules the roost and a wife that enjoys traveling. Retired FTCS (SS) USN and loving it. FMCA#461483
Shaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 01:17 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
50 amp plug reduced to 30 amp

I would like to thank everyone that replied to my question about the use of the plug. It is great to have this resource from fellow campers and friends. Your expertise has saved me many mistakes. This is what makes camping a pleasure. Happy camping and thanks again.
__________________

__________________
Jimdel41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you plug a 50 amp RV cord into a 4 prong appliance plug? Jeff753 RV Systems & Appliances 33 10-17-2015 12:19 PM
Reduced Engine Power DTC's P2135 & P0220 ruddpatter Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 6 07-22-2013 01:07 AM
Reduced Power Stan Hunter Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 6 09-27-2006 06:29 AM
Hitch towing weight reduced? Nick and Sheila Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 13 10-05-2005 06:11 PM
Reduced power mode this weekend, I have a question. Gregg Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 12 06-20-2005 03:07 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.