Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2011, 11:44 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
historyljc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 5,173
I plugged in to my 20 amp ground fault outlet on the front porch until I had my 30 amp breaker box installed. 30 amps is about all I need to keep the coach "live" until we're ready to go someplace.
__________________

__________________
Travel well, travel safe,
Jim
2006 Tiffin Phaeton - 2011 Cadillac SRX
historyljc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-24-2011, 12:37 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Before I installed my 50A service, I was able to run one AC unit off of my 20A service. It ran ok, but complained if I opened the refrigerator door.
__________________

__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 02:30 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
DutchStar38's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sarasota,FL
Posts: 448
Just play it safe and have an electrician install a sub panel then an outside 50amp recept. Drawing to close to max current on any line or extension will eventually break down that line and possibly cause a fire. Just to risky to be cheap concerning electricity.
__________________
Lynda & Ronny Sarasota, Florida
2005 DutchStar DP 3809
Sammy (Brussels Griffon\Maltese)
TJ (Teacup Poodle 2.7 lbs)
DutchStar38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 03:26 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchStar38 View Post
Just play it safe and have an electrician install a sub panel then an outside 50amp recept. Drawing to close to max current on any line or extension will eventually break down that line and possibly cause a fire. Just to risky to be cheap concerning electricity.
I agree, this is NOT a do it yourself project. Someone with the proper tools, equipment and knowledge should install your new outlet.
__________________
173dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:41 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
chuckinthebus's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,711
Have you checked into having a 50 amp outlet installed where you can plug the coach in? 30 to 50 amp converters work, but may increase your power consumption due to the amp draw?
__________________
chuckinthebus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:59 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,569
I have a question concerning power. I apologize if I'm changing the subject. I have always had 50amp MHs. My 84year young father just bought a class C which is 30amps, can he use a adapter to plug into a 50amp post? The adapter came with the MH and the teck that did a walkthrough said it would be OK. Can I have your thoughts?
__________________
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:18 PM   #21
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: indiana
Posts: 88
I just bought a 50amp RV outside box at Lowes... Got the disconnect there too... You should have an expert install it...
336muffin... go to camping world or visit online or someplace like that and get a 50 to 30amp adapter... It will work fine...
__________________
99 Beaver Monterey 36' 300hp Cat
99 VW Bug TDI diesel 5spd toad
06 VW Jetta TDI pk2 DSG
TDiGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:22 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,569
I'm sorry, the camper came with the adapter.......can he safely run 50amps into a 30amp camper? That is my question, All five of the DPs I have had were 50amp, the 30amp is unclear to me.
__________________
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:32 PM   #23
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by 336muffin View Post
I have a question concerning power. I apologize if I'm changing the subject. I have always had 50amp MHs. My 84year young father just bought a class C which is 30amps, can he use a adapter to plug into a 50amp post? The adapter came with the MH and the teck that did a walkthrough said it would be OK. Can I have your thoughts?
Yes
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:33 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Davie, Florida
Posts: 719
I turn off my A/C units and everything else runs fine.
__________________
Denis, Ruth and Gracie
the K-9 Dashboard Ornament
2007 Newmar Baystar 3202
D in Davie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 09:10 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
A MH will only draw as much as needed. You could supply it with 100,000,000 amps and it will only use what is needed.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 11:17 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,569
Thanks
__________________
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 08:23 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 876
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunner View Post
A MH will only draw as much as needed. You could supply it with 100,000,000 amps and it will only use what is needed.
The wire(s) might be a bit cumbersome, though.
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 10:32 AM   #28
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnkinthebus View Post
30 to 50 amp converters work, but may increase your power consumption due to the amp draw?
Not sure how this works. Can you explain? Are you talking about the additional resistance from the dog bone connections?

Rick
__________________

__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 AMP surge protector shortlance iRV2.com General Discussion 12 05-12-2011 05:45 PM
50 Amp Cord/ One 50 Amp AC Breaker. Edouard National RV Owner's Forum 7 10-28-2010 09:23 AM
Question on installing 50 AMP plug mom2mastiffs RV Systems & Appliances 10 09-28-2007 11:26 AM
50 Amp service question MO _ Jack 5th Wheel Discussion 23 07-03-2006 11:19 AM
30 Amp Wiring Question RustyJC RV Systems & Appliances 17 07-13-2005 01:19 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.