Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2015, 08:33 AM   #57
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
Is there a meter there at that pedestal?

No?

Then it is treated as sub-panel or outlet.

Function of safety ground is to allow fault current to ground to pull the breaker thus the need for low resistance path back to where breaker.

Rod into dirt is not that path.

Wire to breaker is while a SECONDARY rod is often placed at these for extra measure.

Local inspector is proper authority here.
__________________

__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-05-2015, 08:52 AM   #58
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ellijay, Georgia
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingDiver View Post
I believe this type of breaker would be for something like a hot tub.
__________________

__________________
bulldog620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 09:51 AM   #59
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulldog620 View Post
I believe this type of breaker would be for something like a hot tub.
Doesn't matter what it's for. It's a 240V 50amp GFCI circuit.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 11:45 AM   #60
Senior Member
 
BobGed's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingDiver View Post
Doesn't matter what it's for. It's a 240V 50amp GFCI circuit.
Correct but it shouldn't be used for a motor home connection as it has its own GFCI protection.
__________________
Bob, Sherron & Kinsey (Goldendoodle)
2017 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited
BobGed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 03:33 PM   #61
Senior Member
 
Gdawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by maneddi View Post
Ok..so the box is installed. Surge guard gave all ok with 3 green lights. Hots checked out ok by voltmeter. BUT he drove a new ground rod below the box and ran ground to there instead of back to the main panel. Yes it is NOT a sub panel. Does that make any difference?
My pedestal is setup like yours with the grounding rod next to the box. Since the house is old and only had the 2 hot lines and neutral (like the older dryer outlets) I had to bond ground and neutral at the pedestal because I had no way to run ground back to the panel. Works fine and the coach's power control panel is happy. Without this bonding power to the coach cuts off in about 30 minutes after it can't see the bonding.
__________________
2013 HR 43DFT RR10R
All Electric FWS-Tag FMCA 451687
2017 Ford F150 4X4 Toad
Gdawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 03:46 PM   #62
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdawgs View Post
My pedestal is setup like yours with the grounding rod next to the box. Since the house is old and only had the 2 hot lines and neutral (like the older dryer outlets) I had to bond ground and neutral at the pedestal because I had no way to run ground back to the panel. Works fine and the coach's power control panel is happy. Without this bonding power to the coach cuts off in about 30 minutes after it can't see the bonding.
Curious, where is the 'bonding' detector? Has to be in the transfer switch?
I replaced the connector on the end of my 50A cord not long ago as the White neutral was N/C. Nothing damaged...

Oh, I know they have that feature built-in a Surge Protector, just didn't know about anything in the coach that would do it.
__________________
DanielB
'06 Mountain Aire 4309, ISL 400-CM850, Spartan MMGT
'16 Jeep Wrangler
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 06:16 PM   #63
Senior Member
 
Gdawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by HHIDan View Post
Curious, where is the 'bonding' detector? Has to be in the transfer switch?
I replaced the connector on the end of my 50A cord not long ago as the White neutral was N/C. Nothing damaged...

Oh, I know they have that feature built-in a Surge Protector, just didn't know about anything in the coach that would do it.
On my power control panel it lets me know if both hot legs, neutral and ground are OK. On the lower line in the display the panel illustrates whether the bonding is good by displaying Neutral=Ground. I've been in situations where this was not the case. I had power but only for about 30 minutes. After the coach could not detect the bond it shut power off from the pedestal. I cranked the generator and everything was fine. I then moved to another site that was correct.
__________________
2013 HR 43DFT RR10R
All Electric FWS-Tag FMCA 451687
2017 Ford F150 4X4 Toad
Gdawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 07:01 AM   #64
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ellijay, Georgia
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobGed View Post
Correct but it shouldn't be used for a motor home connection as it has its own GFCI protection.
Thanks Bob, that's what I've been saying all along. Very easy to trip the 50 amp GFCI on the post, in fact I've never seen a 50 amp GFCI in any campground.
__________________
bulldog620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 07:21 AM   #65
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,932
FWIW in the motor home ground and neutral are not connected together when on shore power. They do connect at the pedestal. That makes it easy to see that the ground and neutral connection is made when one plugs in. It cannot tell if the ground is really connected to ground unless you also stick a probe in the soil. ;-)
__________________
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 10:07 AM   #66
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
I have a GFI question. When stored at my house, I have the MH plugged into a GFI 15 amp outlet to keep batteries charged and to cool the RV refrigerator before starting off on a trip. Is that OK?
__________________
Celerator (Joe)
'09 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS
Victoria, BC Canada
Celerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 10:22 AM   #67
Senior Member
 
Cobra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Maryland
Posts: 464
Sure is. I have mine plugged in all of the time when at home. I use a 20 amp outlet but a 15 is adequate for what you are using it for.
__________________
Getting there is half the fun - take your time and enjoy the scenery.
2012 Thor Outlaw
2000 Heritage Softail
Cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 03:15 PM   #68
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Thanks cobra.
__________________

__________________
Celerator (Joe)
'09 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS
Victoria, BC Canada
Celerator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 30 amp service hwbuck Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 16 10-10-2015 06:39 AM
Can 30 AMP Service run AC unit ? chrisgolden RV Systems & Appliances 8 06-24-2015 04:32 PM
50 amp service?? bettertogeth Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 10 04-12-2015 07:48 PM
Storing w/ 50 amp service Ron & Kerrie Newmar Owner's Forum 27 12-28-2014 05:40 PM
50 amp service for RV Rog1965char iRV2.com General Discussion 19 05-18-2014 03:09 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.