Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2013, 07:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Jarvis's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 147
50 Amp to 20 Amp

I am confused - probably not well educated in this area. I have owned RVs with 30 and had no problems plugging into my house with a 30 to 15 converter. I now have a 1998 Gulfstream Sun Voyager 36' Diesel pusher with 50 amp. I do have the converter from 50 - 30 - 15. Plugged in the house and tripped the breaker. Have read about as much as my brain can handle and need help or someone to explain in basic terms why it won't work.
BTW - I will eventually being getting 50 amp service.
__________________

__________________
Retired USN
2006 Allegro Open Road 32BA
2008 Honda Civic EX (Toad)
2009 Yamaha V star 1300
Jarvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-27-2013, 07:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,136
If you have electric hot water on it will not work.
If you are trying to run air conditioner it will not work.
Too many electric fans will not work.
In essence the only good you can actually do is keep the coach batteries charged and run the 12volt systems
__________________

__________________
trackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
dlovitt's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarvis View Post
I am confused - probably not well educated in this area. I have owned RVs with 30 and had no problems plugging into my house with a 30 to 15 converter. I now have a 1998 Gulfstream Sun Voyager 36' Diesel pusher with 50 amp. I do have the converter from 50 - 30 - 15. Plugged in the house and tripped the breaker. Have read about as much as my brain can handle and need help or someone to explain in basic terms why it won't work.
BTW - I will eventually being getting 50 amp service.
My power management system allows me to set the maximum amperage when on less than 50 amps.
__________________
2018 Newmar Dutch Star 4369, Spartan K2 Chassis,
Cummins ISL 450HP, Allison 3000

2015 F-150 King Ranch LB 3.5 L twin turbo Ecoboost Toad, Texas Boomers RV Club
FMCA F292298, NRA Benefactor Life Member
dlovitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,208
Not only check that water heater isn't on 120 AC, but also refrigerator if it can operate on 120 AC. Something is drawing too many amps. Your converter/charger shouldn't overload the circuit, but make sure no other items are drawing power from the same circuit the RV is plugged into. If all else fails, try plugging in another outlet on a different circuit.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:36 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,060
Actually, if you have a large inverter/charger and the batteries are low, the charger alone can eat most of your 15 amp budget. Some of them can charge at 100-120 amps, which means it can pull about 12 amps for that purpose alone. But if the batteries are fairly well charged already, the charger shouldn't be pulling more than 1-3 amps.

If you can't figure out where the amp loads are coming from, turn off all the circuit breakers in your load center before plugging in. Then turn them back on one at a time to find what circuits you can use. Air conditioners, water heater, washer/dryer are out for sure. The fridge is probably ok as long as you don't try to do much else - it is probably about 4-5 amps.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:19 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
When you say it is tripping the breaker are you talking about the breaker in the house electric panel or a GFI breaker?
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 08:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jarvis's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Canter View Post
When you say it is tripping the breaker are you talking about the breaker in the house electric panel or a GFI breaker?
Mike, Sorry about that. It is the house GFI in the garage. BTW, thanks for you service. I'm also a retired USN "AK".

Bob
__________________
Retired USN
2006 Allegro Open Road 32BA
2008 Honda Civic EX (Toad)
2009 Yamaha V star 1300
Jarvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:11 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
Bob--sometimes it depends on what else in your house/garage is drawing on the same circuit. Try plugging in to a different outlet. When we first got our moho, we plugged in the same circuit as our deep freezer in the garage and kept tripping that breaker. We can operate the fridge, some lights, a TV, and even an A/C when plugged in at home. Occasionally I will overload the circuit and have to reset a breaker, but I'm learning.
__________________
.2012 Fleetwood Bounder 33C | 2012 Jeep Wrangler

SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:21 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Playtime III's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 638
My EMS requires me to manually switch between 30 and 20Amp (50 to 30 is automatic). However, 20 is more than 15 so the EMS will allow more draw than your house will allow. Your gararge outlet is probably not a dedicated circuit and has other items on it. Since it is GFI, I'd bet your outside outlets and lampost are on it as well. On newer homes it is probably a 20A circuit and not 15A.
__________________
2006 HR Scepter 42DSQ
Playtime IV
Holiday FL
Playtime III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:53 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jarvis's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 147
I greatly appreciate all the words of wisdom. I do understand I will be limited to using only the TV etc and not A/C. I will follow the advice and start unplugging stuff until it works. I did have my garage and 1 outside receptacle wired for 20a, therefore the GFI.
I will be getting a cost estimate to have 50 amp service installed.

Again, Thanks Bob
__________________
Retired USN
2006 Allegro Open Road 32BA
2008 Honda Civic EX (Toad)
2009 Yamaha V star 1300
Jarvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:07 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,208
Bob, try plugging in to a non GFI circuit. It could be the GFI is sensing something to cause it to trip.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:40 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: San antonio, TX
Posts: 597
Bob, find out what else in the house is on that circuit. If there are heavy current draws from that circuit in the house, there will not be enough current left over to power your coach. Trip the circuit breaker and see what doesn't work in the house. You would be surprised what house builders put on a circuit to save on electrical wire.
__________________
USAF Retired
2000 Prevost Marathon H3-45
Towing 2006 Nissan Maxima
Peralko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:08 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Bob, the GFI breaker is popping because most mh inverter/chargers make them pop. It is NOT because of current draw. GFI breakers do NOT pop because of current draw but because of an imbalance to ground. Some MHs work ok on. 15 amp GFI in a house and some do not. My Monaco Signature blows GFI breakers and there is nothing wrong with it. You need to either replace that GFI with a regular non GFI outlet or put in a dedicated 30 or 50 amp box.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 03:45 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Playtime III's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 638
I'd bet your GFI is 15A even though your line (10 or 12ga wire) and circuit breaker is 20A. Most don't look when they buy them.
__________________

__________________
2006 HR Scepter 42DSQ
Playtime IV
Holiday FL
Playtime III is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.