Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2011, 05:32 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
50 amp to 30 amp.

Thanks to all of you who so kindly responded to my question. I am truly amazed at how helpful MH owners are and appreciate all the good information that you have provided. Hope to meet some of you on my first trip! Rich
__________________

__________________
SEAK100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-05-2011, 05:01 PM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
I use a "cheater" box (twin 30A plugs) at home, where I have two independent 30A RV outlets, and a couple other palces. I rarely find it useful in campgrounds, for one of several reasons:
1) The 20A outlet is GFCI protected
2) Both the 20A and 30A outlet are fed by a single 30A source, so the source breaker trips if I pull more than 30A total
3) The park does not permit it (I was reprimanded at one park when they saw me using it)

Another wrinkle: if your coach has an energy mgmt system that tries to load balance to 30A, it won't let you use more than 30 when the twin tail box is used with outlets of the same polarity (phase). It is possible to modify the standard EMS to avoid this problem, but it takes some wiring knowledge and skill.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 07:19 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadeadeye View Post
So is it typical for a State Park receptacle to be GFCI?

Don
Only the 20A 110V receptacle will be GFCI. The 30A or 50A (if available) will not be GFCI.

The cheater boxes typically do not work if the 20A you plug into is GFCI, as posted above, and which almost all 20A receptacles are in CG's. It will pop the GFCI receptacle on the 20A.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 09:18 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Dadeaux's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 744
One of the easier ways to "cheat" the system is unplug your microwave/refrigerator from the coach circuit and use an extension cord to go directly to the 110 volt pedestal outlet and plug your 30 amp in as you normally would.
__________________

__________________
Del & Charlotte
RVing - Time well wasted
2004 Phaeton 40TGH w/ 2010 Acadia
Dadeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 amp power versus 50 amp question Paul T Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 07-14-2010 07:53 AM
Electric system monitor panel shows 30 amp when hooked up to 50 amp Magumba Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 03-05-2010 09:09 PM
30 amp to 50 amp Electrical Upgrade mikwallace Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 11-30-2009 11:17 AM
Frank's Super Automatic 50 amp Voltage Booster and Surge Guard. Logthumper RV Systems & Appliances 2 08-29-2006 08:23 AM
Hughes Autoformer, 30 or 50 Amp??? Logthumper RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-07-2006 12:27 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.