Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2013, 10:28 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 292
50A to 30A question

I have a 30A service at the house and a 50A in the motorhome. So I have to use a converter (2 feet) chord from 50A to 30A. I keep it plugged in all the time. The converter and 50A plug connection is exposed to the elements. Is there some type of cover I can purchase or any DIY ideas?
__________________

__________________
2015 Flagstaff Super V Trailer
Model 26VFKS
Towing with F150 Crew cab 5.0L
TXredfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-16-2013, 10:43 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,517
It's no difference than you Rv cord made for the elements, just don't let it sit in a water hole. I have the same thing 50amps at home but only 30 at storage carport.
__________________

__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:44 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gorlininc's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 1,723
I agree. I have the same set up. I just keep the connections out of puddles.
__________________
Gorlininc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
StevieG's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Milton, NY
Posts: 915
It wouldn't hurt to punch a small hole through a freezer bag, snake the cable through the bag, and then tie wrap the open ends of the bag. your connections are made for weather, but I like to do it anyway to keep it nice and dry. Maybe a little overkill, but that's just how I roll...
__________________
Steve & Beth - Milton, New York
2006 Monaco Knight 38 PDQ
Ready Brute Elite-2016 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
StevieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:46 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
I tape up the join area with Scotch vinly electrical tape. The other way is to buy one of those cheap throw away sterofoam ice chests from the food store and cut a slot up high just under the lid to get the cable in and out.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,240
You could put a shield over the connection, but I'd hesitate to wrap it in plastic. That will seal in any humidity and make corrosion happen faster. A cover that allows air to flow freely will prevent moisture from being trapped. A spray of WD-40 on the metallic parts will help keep moisture from the metal corroding, just be sure the rubber or plastic insulation is not going to be harmed by the WD-40. If the outlet is on a wall, putting a 'roof' or upside down bucket to shield the connections might be best.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
I have 15-50A and just leave the converter in the storage bay.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 07:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,000
The flat storage containers can be used to cover cord connections. Just cut a slot on each end of the container so the cords slide in the slots and put the lid on. Just buy the container for the size connection you have. The container can be use to store the converter in when not in use.
__________________
dabrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Matchayan's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 170
I use a 4inch wide piece of black plumbing pipe from Home Depot and put it over the connection and a brick paver underneath, this keeps it out of the water and the rain/snow off of the connection.
__________________
Matchayan
2011 Monaco Cayman 36PFT, Cummins 340 600w of solar 4 6v batts, residential fridge
2011 Colorado Toad, Blue ox Aventa Tow Bar
Matchayan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 10:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
My electrical bay has a hinged door at the bottom, with a slot for a 50A cord to go through. At home, I just close the bay door with a 14ga cord hanging out of it. I can run one AC with it. The cord gets a little warm, but not dangerously so. If I want to run both ACs, I run the 50A cord through the slot and into my inside garage 50A outlet. I thought they were standard on all MHs. Even my 5er had a door on the side with a slot for the 30A cord to go through.
__________________

__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.