RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2019, 04:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 33
50Amp portable surge protector - jeez I need a loan to pay for it

OK so I know these things will pay for themselves if I ever have a problem, but wow they are expensive.


So which one are you using? Any problems?


Thanks!
__________________

profjedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-08-2019, 04:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
les.warden's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Auburn, IL
Posts: 968
50Amp portable surge protector - jeez I need a loan to pay for it

Progressive 50A portable, but wired into my electric bay. Had it when we still had the 5er.

Expense is relative. Think of everything that gets zapped if itís not in place, including the coach/5er/trailer operational circuit boards. Cheap insurance.

Zero problems in 8 years. Saved my butt several times on both 5er and MH.
__________________

__________________
Les & Pam
2017 Phaeton 40QBH-All Electric-380 ISL
2016 Jeep JKUS with Ready Brute Elite towbar
les.warden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 04:51 PM   #3
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,358
If you want a portable unit I would go with the Progressive Industries PT50X. I have the HW50C, the hardwired version of that!

Yes, they're expensive, but so is replacing most everything electrical in your RV ! They protect you against just about any AC problem, not just surges, and have a lifetime warranty!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 05:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ThePowells's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Zebulon, NC
Posts: 5,183
We have a hardwired 50 amp in the 5er and had a 30 amp hard wired in the class C.
If the cost of the EMS is an issue, then you have two options. First you can call it an investment in a plastic and electronic insurance system for your electrical system, or you can reevaluate your choice of recreation due to the costs.
__________________
Kelly and Jerry Powell with Halo (Lethal White Aussie), Nash the Rat Terrorist, and now Reid, the "Brindle we have no idea puppy"
2020 Grand Design Solitude 390RK-R
ThePowells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 05:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 33
all good advice so far... 2 other questions...


1) my coach is 50amp and for parks with only 30amp I have a dogbone - can I plug that into the 50amp EMS? Or do I need an EMS just for 30amp too?


2) For those of you who have the hardwired EMS - did you do it yourself? How difficult was it? I'd say on a scale of 1 to 10 I'm about a 7 on the handy scale - could I do it myself?


Thanks!
profjedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 05:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ThePowells's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Zebulon, NC
Posts: 5,183
A 50 will work for a 30 amp hook up, but will show 0 volts for one line ( as I understand it).
Sometimes the biggest battle is accessing where you want to put it. My 30 went into the side compartment where the power cord was installed and I was able to lay in there and work on it, then mount it to the wall. Our 5er has lots of room and cable, but accessing that area will be a challenge as I will have to remove then replace some supports.

It is a 4 wire cable. Cut, skin the jacket back, strip the wire ends, put thru case and into connectors, tighten, mount the case and yer done. Probably many Youtube videos on this and they come with great instructions.
__________________
Kelly and Jerry Powell with Halo (Lethal White Aussie), Nash the Rat Terrorist, and now Reid, the "Brindle we have no idea puppy"
2020 Grand Design Solitude 390RK-R
ThePowells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 05:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by profjedi View Post
OK so I know these things will pay for themselves if I ever have a problem, but wow they are expensive.


So which one are you using? Any problems?


Thanks!
Amazon is your friend.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 06:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 20,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePowells View Post
A 50 will work for a 30 amp hook up, but will show 0 volts for one line ( as I understand it).
Sometimes the biggest battle is accessing where you want to put it. My 30 went into the side compartment where the power cord was installed and I was able to lay in there and work on it, then mount it to the wall. Our 5er has lots of room and cable, but accessing that area will be a challenge as I will have to remove then replace some supports.

It is a 4 wire cable. Cut, skin the jacket back, strip the wire ends, put thru case and into connectors, tighten, mount the case and yer done. Probably many Youtube videos on this and they come with great instructions.
The 30 to 50 amp adaptor will power both legs of the 50 amp service, so 120 volts should be detected on both lines.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 06:28 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ThePowells's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Zebulon, NC
Posts: 5,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
The 30 to 50 amp adaptor will power both legs of the 50 amp service, so 120 volts should be detected on both lines.
He's right, but just remember you only have 30 amps to work with so you will have to do your own "load management"on your high draw stuff to keep from popping the breaker.
__________________
Kelly and Jerry Powell with Halo (Lethal White Aussie), Nash the Rat Terrorist, and now Reid, the "Brindle we have no idea puppy"
2020 Grand Design Solitude 390RK-R
ThePowells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 06:51 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Martind4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Marshfield, WI
Posts: 541
You shouldn't have any trouble installing it yourself, just a PITA working with the heavy wires.

We have the hard wired 50A Progressive and it's saved us several times over the years.

My sister has the 30A model and it just kept her rig from getting 220V from a mis-wired circuit. Electrician thought she needed 220V for her rig.
__________________
Denny, Connie & Shadow (former barn cat made good)
2006 Tiffin Phaeton, Cat C7, Freightliner Chassis
Martind4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 07:00 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,075
I have the hard wired Progressive 50 amp. Actually bought it on Ebay at a very good price.
Installed it myself, not hard, about a 5 on a scale of 10.

I only bought it after I had a lightening strike that took out my Intellitec EMS system, cost me $450 to replace.

After I installed the surge protector we had had 3 different instances it saved our bacon on the first trip. Who'd a thought.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 07:02 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 230
I'm not sure what you're calling expensive. I picked up my hard wired progressive unit for around $250 on amazon. Here's the unit with a remote display for $270 with prime 2 day shipping. https://www.amazon.com/Progressive-I.../dp/B003AN1UA8
__________________
97' Overland Ospery 4012, 42' long, 41,000 miles, 8.3 cummins, 6 speed allison, freightliner chassis, pulling a 24' enclosed trailer.
Shawn6596 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 08:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
momdoc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 7,829
We have the 50 amp progressive system hard wired and a remote mounted in the cockpit next to the inverter monitor. That way we can see what is going on from the inside.

It has saved us 3 times so far. So worth the $$$$.

And yes if you are handy you can do it yourself.
__________________
momdoc
2018 Tiffin Allegro RED 37PA
2016 Veloster Toad
momdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 08:29 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 3,265
X2 Progressive 50A portable, but wired into my electric bay. Easy job.

It has paid for itself in problem prevention.
__________________

__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50amp surge protector RVSSNAKE Monaco Owner's Forum 6 03-07-2019 10:25 PM
Surge protector/EMS for stepping down from 50amp to 30mp apporter Travel Trailer Discussion 8 03-07-2019 05:39 PM
Surge Guard portable surge protector Bymorris Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 11-30-2013 08:39 AM
Progressive 50amp surge protector FlashG Monaco Owner's Forum 42 03-12-2013 11:46 AM
50amp to 30amp to 50amp SwampTrash RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-09-2010 09:23 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×