Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2011, 05:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
94 Fleetwood Southwind AC shut down

We have only one unit installed. It shutdown in the middle of the night. tried running unit on gen power and shore line with negative results. checked breaker panel and the "optional A/C" breaker was tripped. I reset the breaker and the unit would still not run. Also verified that the Gen breaker was on. my question is....would the unit just shutdown or should their have been some warning signs? We just returned home from our trip so I havent had a chance o see if power is at the unit. Any info or troubleshooting assistance would help along with the cheapest place to purchace a Mach 15 system.


Thanks,
Shane
__________________

__________________
heatherlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-23-2011, 06:21 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Hello Shane and . We are glad to have you join us here and we look forward to reading of your adventures and experiences. I am sure you will enjoy the website and forums. Good luck, stay safe and keep us posted.
Not always does a warning come from an appliance that has failed. If this is the original air conditioner, it is doubtful you want to put any money into repairing it. Due to the weight of these units, buying online and paying for shipping will negate any purchase savings. What part of the country are you located? Can you provide info on the thermostat you have or the model number of the unit as it may require a thermostat upgrade as well as a new roof unit.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 06:50 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Senior Chief's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere in the woods in Belfair, WA, WA
Posts: 1,250
If you know how to use a meter, you might first check the forward/rear switch that selects between dual AC's (even though you only have one installed).

Or try climbing up on the roof, removing the cowl and seeing if the fan will turn freely and if you can see or hear anything obviously out of the ordinary.

Any good AC/heating/HVAC company will be able to diagnose and repair your unit- no need to take it to an RV repair.

It may be cheaper to replace rather than repair, but I'd wait until a technician actually diagnoses what is wrong.
__________________
Life rocks when your house rolls
Senior Chief
& the Cheese Queen


Senior Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:06 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Smile

Thanks for the replies. Trouble shot this issue to the circuit breaker tripping after the unit runs for a long period of time. . I was not familiar with the reset procedure. It felt loose and not latched in either position. Went full off and back on. Ac worked after that. Suspect circuit got hot and tripped the breaker. The unit was old and tired. We upgraded to a Mach 15 unit. Install was a breeze. All is well.
Thanks, Shane
__________________
heatherlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:15 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
94 fleetwood Southwind ...No power to dash AC!!

It seems we are having bad luck with ac ! I have no power to the dash ac. I have checked all of the fuse boxes that I can see. Under drivers dash, battery center and power distribution box and don't see an ac fuse. The entire panel is out. No blower power or compressor power at all. The owners hand book makes no mention of the dash AC system nor does the fuse charts. I'm at a loss to where a fuse could be. There is a 10 amp in line fuse in the bundle coming from the panel but it checks good. We are sacheduled to leave for a trip on Friday. Any help with trobleshooting or where I can get a PDF of the wiring diagram (no time for mail) would greatly be appreciated.



Thanks, shane
__________________
heatherlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 03:51 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by heatherlea View Post
It seems we are having bad luck with ac ! I have no power to the dash ac. I have checked all of the fuse boxes that I can see. Under drivers dash, battery center and power distribution box and don't see an ac fuse. The entire panel is out. No blower power or compressor power at all. The owners hand book makes no mention of the dash AC system nor does the fuse charts. I'm at a loss to where a fuse could be. There is a 10 amp in line fuse in the bundle coming from the panel but it checks good. We are sacheduled to leave for a trip on Friday. Any help with trobleshooting or where I can get a PDF of the wiring diagram (no time for mail) would greatly be appreciated.



Thanks, shane

What chassis are you on? Look on the firewall for chassis fuse blocks. Also be sure to check the resistor pack on blower motor.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:01 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Ok guys....I believe I have the dash AC narrowed down to a 30 amp heater fuse. I don't have power on the main AC relay circuit. I changed the relay and checked all other circuits and fuses going through the main power relay and they were good. I am an aircraft technician and don't know what a 30 amp fuse would look like or where it would be located. My guess would be power distribution box. All fuses in both the Power distribution box under the hood and fuse box under dash are good and correctly populated as per the owners manual. The diagram makes it appear to be in line with the positive batt feed wire. This fleetwood southwind is on a ford chasis.

We made a trip this weekend with no AC and 6 kids on board I just can't pay 112 dollars an hour to pay a tech to finish this job I am buried in. I just need help finding the fuse and knowing what it might look like. The fleetwood tech agrees it looks in line but none of the positive leads have aditional wiring for a fuse. Leads me to believe that its in a box staring at me and I don't know what it looks like. The manual doesn't specifically call out an AC fuse. I figured ACC (accessery) and bodybuilder (manufaturr supplied power source?) Would be closest and they are all checking good. Also looks near water temp switch on the diagram but I don't know where that is either. New to RV world but I'm tryin like crazy to catch up. Thanks for the help!
__________________
heatherlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 03:24 AM   #8
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
One place to check is the Battery Control Center; a black plastic box with fuses and solenoids inside.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
94 Fleetwood Southwind Electrical Issues Cleaner Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 5 04-14-2011 10:22 PM
Type of Roadmaster Brakemaster for Fleetwood Southwind Gas Motorhome Troglegs Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 03-02-2011 09:46 AM
Weight sheet for 89 Fleetwood Southwind Senior Chief Vintage RV's 8 06-02-2010 04:50 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.