Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2011, 01:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
sCarycary's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Jose, CA.
Posts: 149
A/C compressor bad?

So I got to troubleshooting why the dash air blows warm. The A/C compressor never clicks on. I checked and it is getting +12VDC when I select the A/C function on the dash control. I hooked up my HF(Harbor Freight) A/C manifold gauges and the low side is right where it should be at 40psi. The high side is of course at the same since the compressor doesn't turn ON. I'm going to the Rock Auto Parts site and see if I can determine which compressor to order. Oh, I have a 1999 Rexhall on the the Ford chassis. I believe we call that the F53. I think some of the F550 parts are interchanceble too. Anybody ever change their own A/C compressor before? Wish me luck.

sCary
__________________

__________________
Cary McHugh & Stacey Fairchild
San Jose, CA Clovis , CA
1999 Rexhall Aerbus 3250BSL
sCarycary is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-28-2011, 02:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sc3283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,126
Are you sure your clutch is getting +12vdc?

You can just replace the clutch...you do not have to replace the whole compressor for just a clutch failure
__________________

__________________
sc3283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 02:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,383
Your static pressure is too low to turn on the pressure switch. You have a pressure switch that will not supply 12v to the compressor if the freon is too low. you DO NOT have a compressor problem. Add freon until the switch comes on or jumper out the switch to add freon. Of course hook up the switch again when the pressure comes up.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 03:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,358
Before you order a compressor try adding a can of freon to your system;low freon charge and compressor will not start.
Gee some one already said that. sorry for the repeat.
__________________
melvonnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 04:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,383
I just went back to my A/C course book. It takes 45 to 50 psi to turn on your switch. You don't have a compressor problem, as i said before. Your compressor just will not switch on at 40 psi.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 11:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
sc3283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,126
Not all low pressure switches are calibrated with same pressure cut in and cut out rates. The system in question may not even have a low pressure switch.

OP if you can find the low pressure switch, jumper the 2 wires and then recheck the AC clutch for voltage..........that is if you had no voltage at the clutch originally.

Just going and randomly adding freon in hope to fix an electrical problem is a BAD way of diagnosis. We have NO clue the ambient outside temp where the vehicle is parked. if ambient temps are low enough...40 psi could be perfectly normal..
if this would be the case, then the system could be 1 can overcharged on freon
__________________
sc3283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 10:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by sc3283 View Post
Not all low pressure switches are calibrated with same pressure cut in and cut out rates. The system in question may not even have a low pressure switch.

OP if you can find the low pressure switch, jumper the 2 wires and then recheck the AC clutch for voltage..........that is if you had no voltage at the clutch originally.

Just going and randomly adding freon in hope to fix an electrical problem is a BAD way of diagnosis. We have NO clue the ambient outside temp where the vehicle is parked. if ambient temps are low enough...40 psi could be perfectly normal..
if this would be the case, then the system could be 1 can overcharged on freon
#1 looked at his profile. It is a 1999. All 1999's have a pressure switch. #2 I looked at his hometown It san jose california. Not known for being freezing. I have been to school on A/C and have been taught that 40 psi and below will not turn on the compressor. If I had not had the information he supplied, I would NEVER have just said add freon!
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 10:45 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,946
Hummmm! My compressor will run when low as 15 PSI blowing warm-cool air and after adding 2-3 cans of 134. It will get up to 30-35 PSI and is putting out a lot of cold air.
By the outside temp of around 70 plus, 30-35 PSI is enough by the cheap Walmart gauge. Anywhere between 25-45 is good over 45 is too much.
__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB
2014 MKS AWD EcoBoost Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 11:14 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
mfire1339's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glendora Ca.
Posts: 1,344
The low pressure switch is on the "high side".


Mike
__________________
2004 Monaco Monarch
Blueox, SMI, 1990 Wrangler YJ
mfire1339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:21 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
sc3283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,126
sCarycary, back to your original question....if you do need to change your compressor, it is just simple mechanical skills required to replace..BUT>>>>

you do have freon in the system, so by law that has to be recovered. The days of just letting it be released into the atmosphere are gone(legally, if you catch my drift).

You will have to evacuate the system(draw a vacuum on the sealed system) after replacing the compressor, then recharge with proper amount of refrigerant(freon).

The REAL bad news is though....if your compressor has failed and failed to the point it actually blew up internally, you have an extreme chance of total system contamination(various parts and pieces of the compressor, throughout the sealed system). Keep your fingers crossed this has not occurred as this is now a really expensive repair.

Remember shooting from the hip for diagnosis can end up costing you a ton of extra time and money. It is always best to diagnose properly first, then properly repair 2nd
__________________
sc3283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:46 PM   #11
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by sCarycary View Post
The A/C compressor never clicks on. I checked and it is getting +12VDC when I select the A/C function on the dash control.
sCary
Assuming the OP is checking and found 12vdc at the clutch on the compressor it should have "clicked on". Unless..........the compressor is seized and then the belt would probably be broken. So, my diagnosis is replace the clutch if after removing the old clutch the compressor shaft spins freely.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:41 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triker56 View Post
Hummmm! My compressor will run when low as 15 PSI blowing warm-cool air and after adding 2-3 cans of 134. It will get up to 30-35 PSI and is putting out a lot of cold air.
By the outside temp of around 70 plus, 30-35 PSI is enough by the cheap Walmart gauge. Anywhere between 25-45 is good over 45 is too much.
You are right. If you go over 45 psi on the low side, you will be over serviced. However we are talking static pressure. That is the pressure on both sides when the compressor is shut off. The switch is on the HIGH side. I state again you need 45 to 50 psi to make the switch work. I was only trying to save the guy from buying a compressor. I am not there to do a correct eval. of his system, which is the only way to correctly diag. the problem.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:38 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
FYI,
You can check the pressure switch without anything running. Just disconnect the two wires from the pressure switch and check for continuity across the switch using a volt ohm meter. If you have continuity, then the switch is closed, you have enough static pressure, and the compressor should run. This does not mean that the system is not low on charge and could still trip the switch after running.
__________________
tkolbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:29 AM   #14
Member
 
DesertRhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 67
Seems most of the posters are on track.

45# static pressure is too low. That is the definite first thing that should be checked prior to any other troubleshooting.
__________________

__________________
DesertRhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compressor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New A/C Unit Compatability With Old (1996) Intellitec Control System tomnorman457 MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 10-05-2010 01:16 PM
Front a/c runs in fan position and stops on a/c position Wanabee FTer MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 09-29-2010 12:19 PM
Summer Ready Basement A/C Pubtym Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 16 07-26-2010 03:28 PM
Kit Camper Projects - Project #7, Installing a Household A/C Unit RedneckExpress Vintage RV's 1 02-03-2008 09:18 PM
"Summer Ready" Basement A/C Pubtym Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 06-30-2007 09:43 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.