Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2012, 12:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 21
a/c, frige & hot water

i need help, i bough a 1999 HR motor home. the front a/c runs for about a half hr. then the braker pops
the frige only works on lp. it worked on ac when i got it.
teh hot water works on lp, when i pot it on ac it pops the braker.
__________________

__________________
richardreyn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-30-2012, 12:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Are you plugged into 15 amp or 30 amp?
__________________

__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardreyn7 View Post
i need help, i bough a 1999 HR motor home. the front a/c runs for about a half hr. then the braker pops
the frige only works on lp. it worked on ac when i got it.
teh hot water works on lp, when i pot it on ac it pops the braker.
The 110v heater in the fridge can be removed and tested. Not uncommon for the 110v H/W element to fail/short. I carry a spare ( bad water where I spend the winters) Part is about $20.Home Depot 1440/1500 watt 110v heater & buy a 1 1/2" six point 1/2' drive socket to replace the element, the " Tool " that they sell for changing these heaters will break trying to get the element out of a 13 year old heater ! Check your whole coach to make sure the A/C breaker is a dedicated circuit, if it is then I think you should consider replacing the breaker, every time a breaker trips it gets a little weaker. The breaker may not be the problem , but it would be the cheepest of all possible repairs. Good Luck. I am assuming that you are talking about the internal to the coach circuit breakers, and that your not hooked to your houshold 15 amp circuits, and just blowing that breaker.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 05:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 48
Clean the AC coils they get dirty.
__________________
National Dolphin 35Ft. 1995 slide Ford 460
Banks SYSTEM Best thing I did. 6.5 MPG at 65MPH with toad.
gary peterso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:26 AM   #5
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
Sounds like your A/C voltage is low. How and to what are you plugged in?
Plugging in in your driveway with an adapter and a light duty extension cored would do it. Is any part of your shore power hookup warm or hot?
__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:44 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyon51 View Post
Are you plugged into 15 amp or 30 amp?
30 amp
__________________
richardreyn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 11:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardreyn7 View Post
30 amp
Is your coach 30 or 50 amp service?
Dual roof AC is the main reason coaches went to 50 amp.
Just to be clear, the breaker that blows, is internal in the coach and not the post power breaker?
Most coaches with dual AC , run a staggered start system on the AC compressors to prevent overload, but if you are running a 50 amp coach on 30 amp shore power , you will have problems .
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.