Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2018, 09:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 319
A/C Quit

Need help from the pros. As we were readying for bed the a/c in bedroom came as desired, but immediately went off as if a breaker had tripped. DW had just finished drying some clothes, but dryer was not running. Checked breakers, but all seemed okay. Went through them anyway, but all is well. During that exercise, noticed front a/c not working. At the moment only the middle a/c is working. I also checked inverter,but green light there. Any thoughts, advice, help?
__________________

__________________
Russ & Lois Bell
2008 Monaco Dynasty Yorkshire IV
2013 Ford Flex
Arby49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-01-2018, 10:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 699
Your account units don't go thru the inverter.
My guess is maybe you momentarily overloaded one side of your electric circuit and cut off the AC units. And it takes 5-10 minutes to reset the ac compressors to protect them.
__________________

__________________
Brian & Jennifer K.
2016 Winnebago Forza 36G
Pushed by a 2003 Chevy Tracker
awol50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 04:15 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,047
I'm with awol50 in that maybe you overloaded half of the breaker panel but for some reason the main breaker (the one with the bar connecting the two breakers together) didn't fully trip and drop power to the other half of the panel. Had it happen in my coach. One side of the breaker tripped but didn't pull both sides off. Cycle the main breaker off/on and see what happens.
__________________
2006 Hurricane 31D built on a 2006 Ford F53
Sweetbriar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 05:13 AM   #4
Ex Millwright / Army Vet
 
marjoa's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Livingston, TX - This is our legal domicile/home base as we are FTers and travel around the country.
Posts: 1,755
I'm not a pro but, experience has taught me it may be because of low voltage at the pedestal, that's why the middle A/C is still running but not enough power to run all three. Not sure where you're parked, but as temps rise and more people use their A/C. This can happen often in some parks that are crowded. This pedestal current can fluctuate up and down during the day or night.

We keep a Kill-A-Watt plugged into one of our outlets all the time so at a glance we can always see what current we have coming into the coach.

https://www.amazon.com/P3-Internatio...70_&dpSrc=srch

BTW...do yourself and us a favor by putting your MH and Toad information into your signature
This will really help in all your future posts, so you won't have to type it in each time.
You do this by:
1) Going to the top of this page and click the top left tab named “User CP”
2) Look at the menu on the left and scroll down to “Settings & Options” and click “Edit Signature”
3) In that text box type all the information about your MH, Year, model, length, mileage, any aftermarket extras installed, your toad and so on. You’ll be limited to 3 lines unless you become a IRV2 supporter
__________________
TEAM Martin & Joanie...and Wookie (our wonderful Yorkie)
2012 WGO Vista 35F, 5 ST, Toyo M122's/duallys, Centramatics (all around), TPMS, ScanGuage II, Safe T Plus, SS Rear Trac Bar, CHF (F/R), Koni FSD's, 2017 FORD Fiesta Toad, Escapees
Making Traveling, FTing and Our Motorhome "GREAT AGAIN".
marjoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 10:45 AM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 29,584
I think I remember that there is a fuse on the control board inside the A/C unit on top!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 12:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Citra, Florida
Posts: 891
Three 110 volt AC units, only two will be on the same buss and the third on the other buss. If a breaker tripped that might explain that. If one of the main bkrs tripped, as suggested, it might explain that. If low power overheated the compressors then the ones that were running would be affected. Low power to a compressor will switch it off at the internal overload device and could permanently damage the compressor.

You have not indicated weather the units were able to restart or not.
__________________
Q
1999 Newmar, Mountain Aire 3768, V-10, CAI, Headers.
"Spending our kids inheritance one trip at a time"
Quincy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 12:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 319
We had that a/c replaced in October of 2017, so thinking it may be related to that. Hopefully, as there is warranty available.
__________________
Russ & Lois Bell
2008 Monaco Dynasty Yorkshire IV
2013 Ford Flex
Arby49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 12:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Citra, Florida
Posts: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arby49 View Post
We had that a/c replaced in October of 2017, so thinking it may be related to that. Hopefully, as there is warranty available.
Compressor warrantys are 5 years or lately some are 10 years. Dont know for sure.

What about the AC units, did they both come back on?
__________________
Q
1999 Newmar, Mountain Aire 3768, V-10, CAI, Headers.
"Spending our kids inheritance one trip at a time"
Quincy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 12:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tenn. - on the road again
Posts: 5,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arby49 View Post
We had that a/c replaced in October of 2017, so thinking it may be related to that. Hopefully, as there is warranty available.

I'm a little confused .... I assume at 45 ft. you have 3 A/C units. How many are running OK? Does everything else work (microwave, all wall outlets, Tvs, etc.)? Are you plugged into 50 amp shore power?
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 04:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 319
Yes, 2 are working. Everything else is working as well. Not sure what is going on.
__________________
Russ & Lois Bell
2008 Monaco Dynasty Yorkshire IV
2013 Ford Flex
Arby49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 04:36 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 319
I am plugged in to 50 amps.
__________________
Russ & Lois Bell
2008 Monaco Dynasty Yorkshire IV
2013 Ford Flex
Arby49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 04:47 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Citra, Florida
Posts: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arby49 View Post
Yes, 2 are working. Everything else is working as well. Not sure what is going on.
So you lost two AC units and only one did not restart? If that is the case and the CB's have been reset then look closer to the problem, ie the AC unit itself. What you described as the possible cause could have caused a compressor wire to burn through which can be repaired if the compressor is not damaged.

It is a pretty good assumption that the two units that went out were on the same leg. That being the case then because one was able to restart we can assume, at least for now, that the electrical circuit that fed those two units is OK which is why I suggest looking closer to the problem for the solution.

Keep us in the loop please
__________________
Q
1999 Newmar, Mountain Aire 3768, V-10, CAI, Headers.
"Spending our kids inheritance one trip at a time"
Quincy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 07:16 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 835
You have a 2008 Monaco Dynasty? Your multiplex electrical is completely different than every other manufacturer.

I don't know the 2008 electrical but the 2007 Dynasty has a Intellitec Automatic Energy Select Switch which controls the aft A/C unit. The washing machine (Washer/Dryer with a Combo Unit) has priority over the aft A/C and the A.E switch commonly goes bad. The washer will work but the A/C will not.

https://www.intellitec.com/assets/pd...-00714-000.pdf

Mine is in the rear closet under the floor panel. The 2007 wiring diagram page "Schematic, Power Management, A.E" says it may be "next to the washer/dryer recept, next to main breaker box, behind TV or under bedroom wardrobe"

If you have an electric stove you probably have two A.E. units.
__________________
2007 Monaco Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600HP
hypoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 07:23 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 835
You need to put your year, make and model in your signature or you will go on a lot of wild goose chases.

Only the Monaco guys will be of any help with a lot of your problems, everyone else will try to help but they just won't have the information you need.
__________________

__________________
2007 Monaco Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600HP
hypoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a/c and furnace quit critterslave MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 02-06-2009 11:32 PM
ShurFlo 5.7 Pump Just Quit Rusty Bear Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Generator Quit Ed-Deb Newmar Owner's Forum 19 07-16-2007 02:22 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.