Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2017, 06:49 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
AC does not work with generator

Our AC units will not work under generator power. They run without any problems if we are hooked up to power but for some reason they will not function with the generator. Has anyone experienced this problem and if so what was the solution. Thanks again in advance, this website is awesome!!
__________________

__________________
Rita1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-20-2017, 06:51 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,262
Is this a new problem or new to you MH ?
__________________

__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
gemert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita1 View Post
Our AC units will not work under generator power. They run without any problems if we are hooked up to power but for some reason they will not function with the generator. Has anyone experienced this problem and if so what was the solution. Thanks again in advance, this website is awesome!!
First are you sure that everything (115vac) is working with generator on? Make sure the inverter, if you have one, is off. All systems I am aware of, and I am not an expert, that have a transfer switch are identical circuits from the transfer switch on. So it is important to know for sure that 115vac is or is not good in all 115vac circuits on both shore power and generator power.
__________________
Jerry, "EWC (SW)" USN Retired
2003 Beaver Patriot Thunder 505 HP C-12 1550 TQ
Allison 4000MH Ram 4X4 towed
gemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
manderson2228's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Forest River Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita1 View Post
Our AC units will not work under generator power. They run without any problems if we are hooked up to power but for some reason they will not function with the generator. Has anyone experienced this problem and if so what was the solution. Thanks again in advance, this website is awesome!!
With only 2 posts I am assuming your MH is new as are you. This is great welcome to the site and the fun of RV'ing. My guess is one of two things here, 1 your automatic transfer switch isn't working right, or you have to go into your basement where the power is and switch the power cable over to the generator feed.
__________________
-Mike
2018 Coachmen Mirada 35kb
manderson2228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:21 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 4,262
According to their profile, they have a 32 Four Winds Hurricane if that helps the diagnosis.
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:35 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,149
Rita,

Please add the model and year of your motorhome to your signature. The makes it easier to figure out how to approach this problem.

Your generator has one or two circuit breakers mounted on it near the start switch and dipstick to check the oil. Flip those off and then back on. Start your generator and see if you don't have power for your A/C units.

You should also check circuit breakers in the coach. Locate the A/C breakers, turn off and then turn back on.

Sometime you should try and locate which outlets in the coach are not powered by the inverter. This will allow you to quickly check whether or not you are getting power through the generator.

And finally, the transfer switch. The normal setup on a transfer switch is that the generator is the default connection. In other words, the generator is your primary power source, shore power is secondary. Based on what you told us, the generator breakers have tripped and need to be reset.

Got more questions? Keep posting...
__________________
Roger & Mary
2017 Winnebago Navion 24V
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 36GH (Sold)
luvlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:36 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Thank you for the suggestions, I will have my husband check tonight. This is a new problem, last summer we ran the AC under generator power without any issues. We do own a Four Winds Hurricane.
__________________
Rita1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:39 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Shooting Creek, NC... for now
Posts: 2,652
it sounds like your inverter is supplying power to everything in the coach, but the generator BREAKER is tripped, meaning that the generator is running but nothing is going to the coach - therefore the AC will not work.
__________________
The Turners 2014 Thor Palazzo DP 33.3 35'

'14 FordFocus, KingTailgater2 DishHD, 200w/10a mobile SOLAR, 75,000+ miles
all continental US states, Alaska, and yes, most of Canada!
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
brobox's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW FL
Posts: 14,585
As luvlabs stated, the generator breakers can trip for unknown reasons and are a common "no power" problem. Possibly the A/C was on before the generator was up to operation conditions, which is normally 2 minutes.
__________________
Chuck in SW FL
A "Classic" 2014 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Colorado Z71 PU
brobox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 07:50 AM   #10
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,398
Welcome.

As mentioned, there may be a breaker on the generator. You may also need to turn it off to reset it.

In some cases, if you have had batteries go way down the electronics in the thermostat and AC's can get confused. Just like a blue screen on a computer.

You can try removing shore power, generator off, and then turn off or better yet disconnect the negative leads of the batteries for a couple of minutes. Then reconnect and try again.

One other thing that can happen on mine is the switch, if you have one near the entrance, can get bumped and that will remove the 12 volts necessary to run the circuits in the AC's.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 09:36 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Rkesselus's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bastrop Texas
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
Welcome.

As mentioned, there may be a breaker on the generator. You may also need to turn it off to reset it.

In some cases, if you have had batteries go way down the electronics in the thermostat and AC's can get confused. Just like a blue screen on a computer.

You can try removing shore power, generator off, and then turn off or better yet disconnect the negative leads of the batteries for a couple of minutes. Then reconnect and try again.

One other thing that can happen on mine is the switch, if you have one near the entrance, can get bumped and that will remove the 12 volts necessary to run the circuits in the AC's.
Trouble shoot like this. 1. Make sure the breakers on the gen set are reset. 2. if set check the voltage at the transfer switch, if there is power at the transfer switch make sure it has switched from shore to gen. 3. If power at the transfer switch, check to see if there is power to any of the duplex plugs or Microwave. 4 if no power there check the breakers at the converter.5. If noting there See a repair shop.
__________________
Rkesselus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 09:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Rkesselus's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bastrop Texas
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
Welcome.

As mentioned, there may be a breaker on the generator. You may also need to turn it off to reset it.

In some cases, if you have had batteries go way down the electronics in the thermostat and AC's can get confused. Just like a blue screen on a computer.

You can try removing shore power, generator off, and then turn off or better yet disconnect the negative leads of the batteries for a couple of minutes. Then reconnect and try again.

One other thing that can happen on mine is the switch, if you have one near the entrance, can get bumped and that will remove the 12 volts necessary to run the circuits in the AC's.
If the 12v circuits are off the AC wont work on either shore or gen. I believe he said it worked on shore.
__________________
Rkesselus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 06:26 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,461
Some comments about the Generator breakers.. On my coach there are two, both 30 amp. and the handles move side to side, not up and down.
Generally if they move up and down.. UP is on (No guarantees of anythign) but if it's side to side?????? well you may wish to take a flshlight, when the light is right you can see ON/OFF markings on the "Base" of the levers.. Took me several times before the sun was properly positioned.. I then got out my 2nd favorite Brother (The first one is my actual Brother, this one is a P-Touch) and made a label, and stuck it on .. On my generator it worked best on the OFF side (did not cover anything) so I can tell easier.

As noted: I have had these breakers shut off under basically no load conditions. My "Suspect" is vibration,, when the Generator shuts down it can shake thigns up rather well and I think that trips the breakers.

I can tell you though... Sitting on top of over 5,000 watts of ONAN came in kind of handy this summer when Matthew came to visit. I was 3 miles from the mandatory "Get out of town" line (on the safe side) 5' Above the water line and had all the comforts of home, here in my home, including Hot and Cold running water. lights, HEVAC (When generator running) or Fans (cool enough to sleep at night with just fans) Refrigerator worked, Toilets, TV/Radios.. Just like normal.

Save for the PURRRRRRR of that big Onan that is.

I also fed power to one of my neighbors cause.. Well.. he needed it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 06:11 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Had the same problem, found the issue to be a bad breaker on the generator side. Replaced the breaker, no more problem.
__________________

__________________
Rutrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does does generator exhaust point out the side??? 89sandman Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 03-19-2014 09:23 PM
my ac does not work(not even the fan) don meyer RV Systems & Appliances 11 02-27-2010 11:29 AM
Why do you advertise Wifi if it does not work Higgins Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 08-30-2008 05:05 PM
horn button does not work repoman Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 06-29-2005 04:46 PM
Emergency Swith does not work justjo RV Systems & Appliances 6 05-23-2005 09:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.