RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2018, 05:46 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Forkyfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,977
Add water pump switch in bathroom?

Being a long time RVer I am in the habit of not leaving the water pump on especially overnight, when not in the rig, or while driving.
What ends up happening is heading to the bathroom and forgetting to turn on the pump. Sure its not the end of the world but its a PITA to have to turn on the pump to finish up.

I have a 2004 adventurer 38R, the wet bay is right under the bathroom sink and can be seen if I remove the magazine rack. There is a switch in the wet bay for the pump.

So my question is can I just splice into the wires on each side of the switch in the bay or is there something special I need to consider? If anyone has any insight as to what Im up against getting from the cabinet to the bay that would be awesome. I am out of commission due to my back I poked my head in there when I took the magazine rack out to see what was behind it but didn't pay attention to the wet bay...cause it wasn't an idea back then. lol
__________________

__________________
2004 Winnebago Adventurer 38R
Proud Navy Mom
Forkyfork is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-31-2018, 05:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,082
My first thought would be to move the switch from the wet bay to the bathroom. I do not think that you can just splice into the existing wires. I would mark the existing wire and just extend them with the same color wire up under the sink.

I don't think you would miss the switch in the wet since most of the time when you are in there dumping or whatever you are hooked up to city water.

To add a third switch I think you need what is called a latching relay and I am not the least bit familar with those.
__________________

__________________
Dave and Cindy
dabrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 06:03 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
CountryFit's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 5,774
Blog Entries: 4
this is a good thread. i am now running back and forth .

there are some wireless switches on ebay that may be used. splice the switch into the wires near the pump in the wet bay, and put the remote in the bathroom.
__________________
Steven & Polly
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40'
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 06:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 10,685
You can wire in multiple switches directly to pump. Each would function independently so you would have to turn pump off at switch used to turn it on.

You can wire in multiple switches using a 'latching relay'. Any current switch would have to be changed out to a momentary switch. With latching relay you can turn pump on/off at ANY switch

Example of latching relay (can be found at a lower price but this one gives INFO)
Intellitec Fresh Water Pump Control Module - 12 Volt Power - Electrical
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 07:37 PM   #5
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,066
Yeah that is fine. I added one to my bathroom. The panel with the switch is on the hall wall just outside our bathroom. So dumb to not put a switch close to where needed. I did not add a light. If I forget it the light is on in the hall and living area to remind me.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 06:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
nehog's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Monadnock Region of New Hampshire
Posts: 983
I'd recommend wiring a three way switch setup. With this you can have multiple switches and not have to search and find which switch is turned on or turned off.
__________________
My name is Peter, and I'm never going to grow up.
- Winnebago Era 2010 Class B
- Holiday Rambler 2006 Ambassador 40-DFD Class A
nehog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 07:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,382
My Monaco came with 5 water pump switches, I would check Monaco Signature, Executive wiring diagrams, I'm sure Dynasty also multiple switches, you can turn pump on and off at any location.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 08:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 10,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by nehog View Post
I'd recommend wiring a three way switch setup. With this you can have multiple switches and not have to search and find which switch is turned on or turned off.
3 way switch requires a 'traveler' wire.
Won't that require pulling another wire from each switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Outbound View Post
My Monaco came with 5 water pump switches, I would check Monaco Signature, Executive wiring diagrams, I'm sure Dynasty also multiple switches, you can turn pump on and off at any location.
Latching Relay.
__________________
Is it time for YOUR Medication or Mine?
Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 08:35 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Forkyfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,977
The two switches I have now are independent of each other so I have no problem having to go back to the bathroom to cut it off because it will likely get cut right back off after flushing and washing hands cause there was a reason it was off in the first place.

The remote switch sounds nice, never looked into 12V options. Ive recently put in several remote switches in my house because the person that did the wiring for the light switches was a complete idiot. Why would you have a long kitchen and one light switch nowhere near the door you enter the house by.

I am not up to pulling a new wire. I mangled my back and my husband is not always a willing participant in projects. I can get him to help me run one down to the wetbay but the long run from the front of the coach wouldn't be something he would willingly do.
__________________
2004 Winnebago Adventurer 38R
Proud Navy Mom
Forkyfork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 08:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rarebear.nm's Avatar


 
Excel Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 2,877
There are multiple ways doing this. I added an extra pump switch near the winterizing siphon tube, makes that job much easier.

The simplest option is to just extend two wires to a new switch location. You can tape into either side of an existing switch just fine. Just make sure you match the same gauge of wire as already being used. Mine was 10 gauge I believe. This option does require you to turn off at the same or each location where you've turned it on at. Not a big deal to me.

Option two is to install a replay system, a little more complex if you have not installed relays before. But doable for sure.

Option three is three or four way switches (two or more locations) where you turn it on/off at any one of the switch locations. Like hallway lights. This does require a traveler wire to be added between every switch. Could require a lots more work than 1 or 2 above.

Might also consider adding an accumulator or pressure tank. This will greatly reduce the frequency which the water pump has to cycle on. Real nice at night on those quicks runs to the head.
__________________
Fred & Denise (RVM157) New Mexico
2007 Excel Classic 30RSO & 2015 Mini Winnie 22R
2007 RAM 3500, Diesel, 6Spd Auto, SWD, 4x4, CC & LB
rarebear.nm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 10:13 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Rkesselus's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bastrop Texas
Posts: 1,052
Much of what has been said I think is misleading information. The Pump is 12v direct current. I lot of the statements of how to do this sounds like 120v alternating current which needs Hot Common Ground and Travelers. 12 v only needs a hot to the pump and one ground to the pump. So you can send a positive from any number of sites to the pump to make it work. But they will also all have to be turned off to deactivate the pump unless you have a main switch controlling all the hots from various switches. The system in my 2000 allegro Bus has separate hots from the main panel one in the toilet room and one at the lavatory all independent from each other
__________________
2000 Allegro Bus 35R 3126 Cat 300 Allison 3060MD 6 speed
Rkesselus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 10:24 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 36,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
You can wire in multiple switches directly to pump. Each would function independently so you would have to turn pump off at switch used to turn it on.

You can wire in multiple switches using a 'latching relay'. Any current switch would have to be changed out to a momentary switch. With latching relay you can turn pump on/off at ANY switch

Example of latching relay (can be found at a lower price but this one gives INFO)
Intellitec Fresh Water Pump Control Module - 12 Volt Power - Electrical
Our '00 DSDP was wired with three switches, had to figure out where it was turned on so I could turn it off. Had I known that I would have ordered the latching controller.
When we ordered the '02 DSDP I specifed the Intellitech latching control unit.
Present rig has at least four switches.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 07:28 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 5,052
Folks are making this way more difficult than it has to be. The switch in the wet bay is a spst Single pole single throw switch. It is hot on one side and supplies power to the pump on the other. Simply run a wire to each side and add a switch in the bathroom. You will have to turn the switch off at this position each time, but that is not a big deal. The only change in the wiring will be that if you leave the bathroom switch on, you will not be able to shut off the pump in the wet bay. No big deal. Just remember to turn off the bathroom switch. IT ain't rocket science.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 07:48 AM   #14
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 3,500
First I would assess if you have a Latching controller or not (even my old coach has one by Intellitec). These type of controllers have multiple switches (mine has 3) and when one is on they all are on, so you can turn off any and the pump goes off.
That IMO is the easiest way to add more switches. If you're going to run wires, run them to this controller.
__________________

__________________
Rick and Larrie Dee
1997 40' Newmar London Aire DP CTA 8.3 (Mechanical) 325 Spartan MM
Bringing her back to her glory.
'08 Jeep GC Overland.
RKins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch, water, water pump



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add water pump switch phays Country Coach Owners Forum 2 01-10-2017 04:14 PM
Add wall switch in bathroom Waiter21 RV Systems & Appliances 1 04-03-2015 12:30 PM
Trying to add a heat vent to the bathroom cimplexsound Class C Motorhome Discussions 1 10-10-2014 07:12 PM
'H' bathroom with door swinging into the bathroom? Geo-Col Excel Owner's Forum 10 08-20-2013 09:17 PM
Addition of Bathroom Water Pump Switch DancinCampers Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 16 03-20-2008 05:56 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×