Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2016, 09:52 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
rdrv831's Avatar


 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Lincoln, CA
Posts: 153
You might consider

50, 30, 20 amp Surface Mount RV Power Outlet Box


http://www.rvparksupplies.com/p/503020AMPSMPOWER/
__________________

__________________
Ray and Maria
Lincoln CA
Our iRV2 Gallery & Family Photo's link
rdrv831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-06-2016, 11:53 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Columbia, TN
Posts: 24
Why do you need it plugged in all the time?
__________________

__________________
DakotaSatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 12:07 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
mhbell's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Georgie Boy Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ogden Utah
Posts: 522
Like packer power said, I just took a hack saw and cut the handle off. Don't need it anyway.
Mel
__________________
2017 Forest River EVO 2360 TT Towed with a 2011 Ford F-250 Super Cab Heavy Duty 4WD Towing Package, Blue OX Sway Pro Hitch.
http://www.rvbloggers.wordpress.com
mhbell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 08:12 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by DakotaSatch View Post
Why do you need it plugged in all the time?
To keep the fridge and AC running.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 08:23 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by DakotaSatch View Post
Why do you need it plugged in all the time?
I keep mine plugged in all the time. Before I did keep it plugged in the electric bill for the garage was on average $12.00. With the RV plugged in it now averages about $20.00. The batteries stay charged and if I want to do some work in it I can turn on the A/C or heat. I also turn on the fridge a couple of days before each trip. It is a nice convenience for 8 bucks a month.
__________________
dabrooks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 08:33 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 2,392
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
I was already making up a new chord so I bought the style of plug that has a swivel handle it that folds down out of the way. My box was from Lowes around $30
__________________
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 08:51 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,250
Adding 50amp box on side of house

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
I bought one of these

Shop Eaton 50-Amp, 30-Amp, 20-Amp Overhead or Underground Temporary Power Panel at Lowes.com

I am currently using to provide power to a deep well pump powered by a portable generator but have plans to move it for my motorhome once I develop a parking area.

The advantage with this box is that you have a circuit breaker at the plug so you shut down the power before you attach or detach your RV, no problems with when the neutral and/or ground are connected.

I would also think about if you really need 50 amps or not. Yes it allows you to run everything while you are at home, but do you need both, or all 3 AC's running? If all you are doing is running the inverter/charger, the refer and maybe 1 AC, 30 is enough. You will save on the wiring and hardware. But some people want to be able to use the RV as guest quarters, so maybe 50 amps are appropriate. Just saying if you don't need 50 try something smaller.
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 10:37 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 2,392
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
The box I bought at Lowes doesn't have the breaker, I turn it off at the panel to prevent arching.
__________________

__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with adding,removing potable water and adding antifreeze to holding tank highway dave Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 11-04-2015 12:54 PM
50amp from house to the RV pete davis RV Systems & Appliances 26 08-17-2014 02:35 PM
50amp / 30amp switch box Gary111 National RV Owner's Forum 3 06-06-2014 11:30 AM
Turning off House Batteries kills 50amp!?! RickO Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 36 08-23-2010 02:05 PM
50amp to 30amp to 50amp SwampTrash RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-09-2010 09:23 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.