Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2016, 05:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Adding a 2nd A\C Unit

So we're new to the world of MH's ... just purchased a 2010 Windsport 31J about six weeks ago. This week we traveled from the Northeast down to Orlando, the heat index down here this week has been well over 100 causing our single 13,500 BTU A\C not to keep up.

My Question is: the unit is setup and pre-wired for a 2nd A\C unit in the back bedroom area. If we added the 2nd unit would our generator run both? (Onan 4000) Would we still run everything off the same 30A service?

Thanks in advance for your comments and help.
__________________

__________________
rmiller110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-14-2016, 05:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Rich-n-Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 884
Adding a 2nd A\C Unit

A 4,000 watt generator will not run 2 A/C units. You need 7,500 to 8,000 watts for that.

You can run 2 A/Cs on 30-amp service, but nothing else with a heavy current draw, like the microwave. If you need to use the microwave, you'll have to shut down one A/C for a few minutes.
__________________

__________________
Rich-n-Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 07:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
charliej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 893
Our Onan 5000 GEN Set Emerald Plus runs both AC units, and microwave. It's set up as 50 amp service.
__________________
charliej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 08:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tinstar 1114's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 235
If you find you don't have enough watts, you could consider a smaller a/c unit. Here is a unit that is only 9,200 and only draws between 1200 and 1500 watts as opposed to the 2500 to 3000 watts for the 13,500 or 15,000. They also make some 13,500's that have a low amp draw but you'll have to search for them.

Small RV Air Conditioner on Sale - PPL Motor Homes


Here's another and it's specs:
1/3 hp compressor motor, the most powerful in the RV industry today
Running Watts for Cooling - 1225 to 1450 Watts
Approximate full load amps - cooling - 11.1 amps
Evaporator Air Delivery on high speed - 200 CFM
Dimensions: 44 2/25" L x 32" W x 10" H
Weight: 92 lbs
Optional 5,600 Btuh heating element to take the chill out of cool mornings.

http://www.adventurerv.net/coleman-p...oner-p-76.html
__________________
tinstar 1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 08:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,453
Check the data sheet for the ac you have now.

Then look at what is on the market as many new units draw less than they did before.

Others can comment on what your genny can output but main issue is starting current of ac units and you may be able to have staggered operation of ac where one set to lower temp so one comes on always first then second comes on to help.

Highest current one first..
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 08:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
tinstar 1114's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 235
OK, last one.

Coleman RV AC 's on Sale-pplmotorhomes.com
__________________
tinstar 1114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 10:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
harleyjt's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-n-Linda View Post
A 4,000 watt generator will not run 2 A/C units. You need 7,500 to 8,000 watts for that.

You can run 2 A/Cs on 30-amp service, but nothing else with a heavy current draw, like the microwave. If you need to use the microwave, you'll have to shut down one A/C for a few minutes.
Plenty of motorhomes out there with a 5500 genny that run 2 13.5 A/Cs. But, I would not try it on a 30A rig. You really do need 50A.
jt
__________________
2005 Newmar Kountry Star Gas 3742
Workhorse W24, 8.1L/Allison 5-spd
JT, Em & the boys, Kong & Baxter (rescued grey tabbies)
harleyjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 04:36 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Does anyone know if my 2012 Monaco La Palma is able to have a 2nd AC unit installed,not much air in the rear of the couch
__________________
1963jarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 05:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Johndale's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ft Worth texas
Posts: 946
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1468582005.675186.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	133078Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1468582038.806804.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	78.9 KB
ID:	133079Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1468582075.822651.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	133080
I have a 5500 Onan with 2 units on top. On shore power my 30 amp system will run both but if you use any thing that uses high currant you will need to shutdown one unit. The gen has no problem taking care of the ac and what ever. When I first got this RV I installed a 30 amp transfer switch and love it. But running both ac was hard on shore power so I came up with an idea and added a second transfer switch coming off the second leg of the gen. I bought the adapters for a 50 amp system to plug in on 50 amp on shore power. It is a manual switch but that's ok. System works great. Installed volt amp and frequency on both legs.
__________________

__________________
2003 Sightseer 33L
Ford F53
Johndale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd AC unit JMS2452 iRV2.com General Discussion 5 04-11-2016 07:36 AM
Outside blower will not start when 2nd unit starts walt.0.meal Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 11-02-2014 05:59 AM
Do I need a 2nd AC unit? jaceface369 Travel Trailer Discussion 8 08-19-2012 12:36 PM
2nd A/C Unit Dave Leeper Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 07-10-2012 06:39 PM
Adding a 2nd remote Gen. switch max49 Damon 12 04-23-2007 03:42 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.