RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2019, 04:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 60
Adding Freon to Class A RV

Will the over the counter cans of Freon work on the dash air for 2012 Newmarket le?
__________________

eddiehop is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-09-2019, 05:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
TLGPE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CLEARWATER, FLORIDA
Posts: 1,041
Yep, with the usual caveats.
__________________

__________________
Tom & Jan ---- Westwing43 (RVM28)
2008 NEWMAR MOUNTAIN AIRE 4528
Pulling a 2014 CHEVY CAPTIVA
TLGPE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 60
What problems?
eddiehop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Metamora, MI
Posts: 2,290
RV dash air is same as auto air.
It is charged the same.
The question is - why do you need to charge it?
Was the system opened for service?
Is there a leak? Is the leak fixed?
Do you have a vacuum and gauge set?
Those are some of the usual caveats.
__________________
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire Limited 4370 w/ Spartan K2 and Cummins 500hp
ASE Master Certified (a long.....time ago...)
Dav L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 35,854
Well, simplistically the answer is yes, but actually you can't use Freon anymore and only licensed HVAC techs can even buy it.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 68
depending on what State you are in, anyone can purchase the cans and a hose with gauge of R 134 at an auto parts,Walmart,Target etc, to add to your automotive HVAC system.
__________________
Where We Go 1 We Go All
1995 Bounder 35 UWB, F53
Mr Lars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:44 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,993
….OP says he owns a 2012, so I "assume" he is asking about 134a.....as for the OPs question--unless you have the experienced and HVAC equipment, servicing your own dash A/C is kind of a crap-shoot....yup -- lots of folks through in a can of 134a and go on down the road, sometimes for years...however, there is probably a reason the system is "low" and if so, it will eventually come back.....
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 05:22 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiehop View Post
Will the over the counter cans of Freon work on the dash air for 2012 Newmarket le?
R134a is available at many Walmarts for $4 a can, there is no difference between that and a high dollar R134a. Add a hose with gauge https://www.amazon.com/FJC-6036-R134...4a%2Caps%2C304
put a can in and see what happens. If the compressor starts running and cooling you know the system is working and that you have a leak. It may cool for a day or a year, who knows? An upright can is gas and an upside down can is liquid. Liquid is not compressible so don't do that with the engine running, it will liquid lock the compressor.
__________________
2007 Monaco Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600HP
hypoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 06:06 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
G Schulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 405
Iíve always thought that the 134A should be added to the low pressure side with the can upside down with the engine running and the AC set to high.
G Schulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 06:16 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by G Schulz View Post
I’ve always thought that the 134A should be added to the low pressure side with the can upside down with the engine running and the AC set to high.
"Can upside down" is adding refrigerant as liquid.

The answer is - it depends where the low side port is.
If it is at the compressor, then add your refrigerant as a gas. If it is at the accumulator (i.e. on those vehicles with an accumulator rather than an expansion valve) you can add refrigerant as a liquid - in that case it doesn't matter.
__________________
Mike -----2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, 42-ft Tag, with HydraLift
**Beaver Chassis Info/Types https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
**Wiring Diagrams (1984-2009):https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 06:17 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Metamora, MI
Posts: 2,290
I have always tilted the can back and forth so liquid is sucked in but not in big globs that can kill a compressor. And yes, must be connected to the low pressure side only. As they are different diameter orifices, it would be kinda difficult to do otherwise.

But, there is / was a leak. It went somewhere.
__________________
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire Limited 4370 w/ Spartan K2 and Cummins 500hp
ASE Master Certified (a long.....time ago...)
Dav L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 08:30 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav L View Post
I have always tilted the can back and forth so liquid is sucked in but not in big globs that can kill a compressor. And yes, must be connected to the low pressure side only. As they are different diameter orifices, it would be kinda difficult to do otherwise.

But, there is / was a leak. It went somewhere.
That is the instructions typically right on the can....

And you are right it is leaking somewhere, it doesn't wear out.
__________________
'09 Camelot 42KFQ
PlanBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 08:39 AM   #13
Dom
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 236
The likely cause of a leak is that, being a motor home, it sits for long periods at a time. This dries out the seals on compressor shaft. You might want to first add a leak seal can first. It comes with a small amount of refrigerant to push it into system. Thats ok because you will likely need a little more that a can anyway. If compressor keeps cycling at medium throttle, you likely don't have enough refrigerant.
Dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 08:51 AM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,993
...all good advice here but with out a set of gauges, an ambient air pressure chart, and some HVAC experience, you are only guessing.....good luck
PS--might be a viable option in this case but I never liked adding "stop-leak" to any closed system, except as a last resort....
__________________

Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
class a



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Freon KimoJames National RV Owner's Forum 14 05-19-2018 08:11 AM
Adding freon to dash air without compressor running wagonmaster2 Newmar Owner's Forum 18 11-28-2017 03:38 PM
Adding Freon DIY? MSHappyCampers RV Systems & Appliances 51 06-07-2014 05:03 PM
Adding dash A/C freon TXredfish Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 1 07-20-2013 07:21 PM
adding freon to dash air on 94 coachman diesel Class A MH mammer Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 08-03-2012 08:07 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.