Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-12-2012, 08:22 PM   #1
Community Moderator

Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Aftermarket TurboCharger's For Gas Class "A"'s

Hello all, I am pretty new to iRV2 and new to Class "A" Motorhomes. But I'm not new to motorsports and know the benefits of turbocharging.

It's on almost every modern Diesel MH. And Ford is pullling some serious V8 power out of a V6 while keeping V6 MPG with their new EcoBoost engines.

So, I was wondering if anyone has any experience putting an aftermarket turbo on a gas powered Class "A"?

I have called STS Turbo (here: Squires Turbo Systems - Turbocharged Innovation!) because I really like their remote mount universal system that doesn't need an intercooler because of the placement of the turbo farther down the exhaust path, under the chassis. The sales rep said I could get " a 20-25 hp increase per pound of boost and a 3-4 mpg gain" For my coach (Workhorse - W22/8.1L Allison 1000) and at current West Coast gas prices, that could pay for itself in about a year!!

I'm not trying to make a hot rod out of my RV, just get a little/safe increase in HP with a focus on boosting MPG.

What do you think?
Steve

Kim and Steve, Mustang LCDR (Ret), Damon Outlaw #1193
I have seen gross intolerance shown in support of tolerance, Samuel Coleridge
https://www.irv2.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic84535_7.gif
WE LOVE OUR OUTLAW RV
Scarab0088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!