Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2015, 08:49 AM   #1
Member
 
MKeilbach's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 32
Angry AGS "FET fault" message on Magnum Inverter

Hi - we own a Palazzo 33.3 and last night when we pulled into an RV park we got this message "FET fault" message and the red light was on. We tried to reset according to the book, but without any luck. Now we don't have any A/C power, no fridge, no microwave. We are on our way to a CW, but thought I would check with our friends here to see if there any suggestions. Thanks!!
__________________

__________________
Meg and Eric Keilbach - Lansing, NY
3 human children and 2 English Labs
2014 Palazzo 33.3
MKeilbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-15-2015, 08:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 573
I have had my Magnum inverter display a similar fault. It happened after driving all day through a very hot area. My suspicion is that the unit overtemped to protect itself due to inadequate ventilation. The factory install is in a relatively small enclosed compartment. Not optimum IMO. In my case I disconnected the DC input for about 15 seconds and then reconnected. That cleared the fault and it has been fine since.
__________________

__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X\2013 Honda CRV AWD
2015 Polaris RZR XP 1000\2014 KTM 350EXC
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 09:17 AM   #3
Member
 
MKeilbach's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 32
thanks for the quick response.... trying to find the DC in put now...
__________________
Meg and Eric Keilbach - Lansing, NY
3 human children and 2 English Labs
2014 Palazzo 33.3
MKeilbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 09:18 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jondrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKeilbach View Post
Hi - we own a Palazzo 33.3 and last night when we pulled into an RV park we got this message "FET fault" message and the red light was on. We tried to reset according to the book, but without any luck. Now we don't have any A/C power, no fridge, no microwave. We are on our way to a CW, but thought I would check with our friends here to see if there any suggestions. Thanks!!
No power at all? Even when connected to shore power or running the generator?
__________________
2015 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
2014 CRV w/EZ Tow
jondrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 09:26 AM   #5
Member
 
MKeilbach's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 32
Right - no power at all even when we were connected to shore power. We put the AGS in test mode to figure what was wrong and tried to manually start the generator but we couldn't get it started either.
__________________
Meg and Eric Keilbach - Lansing, NY
3 human children and 2 English Labs
2014 Palazzo 33.3
MKeilbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 10:26 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
CampingCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lafayette, La.
Posts: 1,144
My inverter tripped a while back. I reset the small breaker switch & turned the inverter on, nothing. Did this a couple times & while I was standing in the door I happened to look at the switches next to the passenger footwell. For some reason I pressed the battery isolation/salesman switch & everything came back to life. Might be worth a try to see if this helps you.
__________________
2011 40' Monaco Cayman PBQ ISC 360
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
CampingCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 11:30 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
The Magnum manual says that an FET fault is overheated FETs (solid state components inside) and that a manual reset will be needed on some models. As near as I can tell, a "manual reset" always means to remove all power, 120vac and battery, from both the inverter and the remote display if you have one. Unplug shore power and remove the battery cable. The operator manual for your Magnum model should cover the reset procedures, both standard (using the buttons) and "manual".
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 12:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
dons2346's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,479
You can check the temps of the FETS, battery, and the transformer by using the controls on the remote.

A reset can be done by removing the telephone like plug from the inverter and then reconnecting
__________________
Don
2002 Country Coach Intrigue
dons2346 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 09:20 AM   #9
Member
 
MKeilbach's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by dons2346 View Post
You can check the temps of the FETS, battery, and the transformer by using the controls on the remote.

A reset can be done by removing the telephone like plug from the inverter and then reconnecting
We pulled into a CW and a nice technician showed us how to pull power which reset everything. Thanks for everyone's input... Now we are having problems with the generator :-( not starting... getting the dreaded code 17 which I believe it means the pump needs to be replaced...
__________________
Meg and Eric Keilbach - Lansing, NY
3 human children and 2 English Labs
2014 Palazzo 33.3
MKeilbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 09:31 AM   #10
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,565
That is great. Please tell us the procedure.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 10:15 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 573
On my coach there's a doc disconnect switch for the inverter. Turn it off, wait a few seconds and turn it back on. Reset
__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X\2013 Honda CRV AWD
2015 Polaris RZR XP 1000\2014 KTM 350EXC
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 11:00 AM   #12
Member
 
MKeilbach's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
That is great. Please tell us the procedure.
To complete remove DC power (which is what the manual said to do), we had to remove the DC terminal which was located in the compartment where the inverter is located. The technician used a 1/2 wrench, removed the terminal for about 60 seconds and then reattached. The AGS immediately reset itself. Tada!!
__________________

__________________
Meg and Eric Keilbach - Lansing, NY
3 human children and 2 English Labs
2014 Palazzo 33.3
MKeilbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cummins EC-30W AGS beech35p Newmar Owner's Forum 7 04-19-2016 09:45 AM
Have brand new 2014 Phaeton with a Magnum inverter. PCS control shows "wiring error" debnjack Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 6 12-07-2014 09:41 AM
Inverter Wiring Question DaleM RV Systems & Appliances 9 08-24-2014 08:52 PM
Full Time TV on Inverter max49 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 18 12-23-2013 09:37 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.