Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2011, 10:39 PM   #1
FES
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spokane Valley, Washington
Posts: 4
Air Filter Restriction Indicator

I purchased a 2002 Winnebago 40 J Ultimate Advantage, 350 HP Cummins with a Banks turbo kit, a couple months ago.

The Air Filter Restiction Indicator shows the filter needs replacing after reseting and driving a few mile with a new filter.

I suspect the indicator needs replacing, but wonder if the Banks turbo could be part of the issue. Do I need to concider the banks turbo when replacing the indicator?
__________________

__________________
FES is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-08-2011, 12:09 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,423
Sort of the same thing ours does. We also have the Banks Power Pack on a 350 Cummins. New filter shows about 15 after the install.Much lower before.
The Banks Power Pack kit includes a new turbo housing and increases the air flow so the gauge shows more restriction.
If it's too high you may need to open up the intake setup with a larger filter and tubing, but that still leaves the CAC and it may be too small for the change.
However the gauge is cheap so it wouldn't hurt too much to try it just to be sure.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 08:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
H. Miller's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,523
We have the ISC-330 with the full Banks kit and factory filter. The filter restriction guage is still at minimum after new filter and 15,000 miles.
__________________
Hal & Ginny Miller '04 Beaver Santiam PRT40
'04 Saturn Vue - US Gear Brake - Blue Ox tow
4"girls" (3 Irish Setters - 1 Retriever) - RIP Annie
H. Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 10:25 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
If you are showing that much vacuum in the air intake, I would say you have a problem. If not the filter, something else in the intake plumbing. How is the perfromance? Mine begins to fall off when the filter minder gets to around 50%.

A diesel is extremely dependent on a large air flow. If a new filter minder gives the same reading, you need to think seriously about enlarging the air intake and filter size. By the way, make sure it is the right filter. Maybe a previous owner stuck in a non-standard one that is simply too restrictive.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 11:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,500
Even a brand new filter will jump your indicator to 11"s. Start with the least and easiest thing to replace i.e. your indicator. Pull it off and draw a vacuum on the end. That is what Mike Cody teaches in Camp Freightliner.
__________________
MaverickBBD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 09:27 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,382
I don't have an answer to the problem, however I can tell you for a fact, about 25% of the DP's came from the factory with the indicators maxed out.
__________________

__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What should normal air intake maintenance consist of? spike45 Monaco Owner's Forum 9 06-22-2011 03:03 PM
Check Your Air Filter! gmfryer Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 11-20-2009 02:44 PM
Changed the air dryer filter. Letsgoagain Monaco Owner's Forum 8 10-24-2009 09:47 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.