Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-21-2013, 08:53 PM   #1

All Electric versus Propane and Electric

We are looking to trade up from our 2007 Fleetwood Excursion to either the American Coach Revolution or a Winnebago Tour.

The problem we are wrestling with is that the Revolution is an "all electric" coach where as the Tour can be either.

I'm a retired airline pilot and I like "back up systems" which I feel I get with a combo propane and electric coach. I don't like my eggs all in one basket.

I know the move is to residential refrigerators which only have one power option. I like the dual power option even though the refrigerator size is smaller.

I know the move is to "induction cooking" but we also like the propane stove. I love cooking with gas. Never have used induction.

I like the option of either using the heat pump option or propane heat depending on how cold it gets. I also like the aqua heat concept.

I like the extra storage that you get from the all electric option.

I would like to hear from people who have gone with the all electric option to see how they like it.

Really conflicted.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!