Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2014, 04:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Allegro Bus thermostat problem

I have a 2005 Bus and the wall thermostat that controls the air and heat for the motorhome is not working. I have replaced the thermostat without positive results. It is obviously not getting power since the LCD screen is blank. Does anyone know exactly where the thermostat gets its power from. I have been told its power comes from inside the front air return and that there is a fuse there. I removed the vent but could not see a fuse. I removed the roof air cover and found a compartment that housed a printed circuit board, but still did no find a fuse that might have blown. I could use some expert advice.
__________________

__________________
twjcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-04-2014, 04:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
I have a 2005 bus 38ft dp. I have an electrical panel below the refrigerator. The AC for the various things that run off of AC Power only has circuit breakers there. In the panel to the left of the Circuit breakers are several car type fuses. I would start looking there first. I am sure the thermostat runs off of 12VDC because you do not have to have AC power for the furnaces and the thermostat runs the furnaces. If it is not one of those fuses there are fuses under the bottom drawer next to the drivers seat. Take the drawer out and the fuses are on the floor. If not there then there are 12vdc fuses in the outside bay right under the drivers seat. To the best of my knowledge that is all the places you will find 12vdc Fuses on the bus.

Once again thought I would be surprised if the thermostat reciveved power from the AC units because of the furnace.
__________________

__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 05:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jimooo's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Amite, La.
Posts: 289
Does your control board have power going to it and out to t-stat?
Check breakers.

Thanks,

James
__________________
Jimooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 06:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Shadow0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by twjcamper View Post
I have a 2005 Bus and the wall thermostat that controls the air and heat for the motorhome is not working. I have replaced the thermostat without positive results. It is obviously not getting power since the LCD screen is blank. Does anyone know exactly where the thermostat gets its power from. I have been told its power comes from inside the front air return and that there is a fuse there. I removed the vent but could not see a fuse. I removed the roof air cover and found a compartment that housed a printed circuit board, but still did no find a fuse that might have blown. I could use some expert advice.
I have a 2005 Bus I will look at my wiring schematic and see what I can find and let you know.
__________________
Shadow0120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 06:27 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Didn't have my voltmeter when I was on the roof, but I will check. Thanks.
__________________
twjcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 06:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,250
Many home thermostats are 24 v, you need one that is 12 v. If you use the search function at the top you'll find many threads about thermostats. Here's a few links from outside the iRV2 forum:

Hunter 4299B Digital Thermostat RV Installation

Hunter Thermostat
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
it looks like power goes from Fuse # 7 ( labeled as furnace #2 ) in the panel under the refrigerator. From there the prints are not super clear but it appears to go to the duotherm control box in the roof. I would check the fuses. in the panel under the refrigerator first. The wiring diagram has some confusing numbers check both of the 20 amp car type fuses with furnace annotated beside them

I believe the printed circuit board you found on the roof was probably the duotherm control module. The power for the thermostat runs into that from the fuse then out of it to the thermostat. It is 12vdc by the way
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 08:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,281
Don't forget the fuse in the thermostat itself.
__________________
Roger & Mary
2017 Winnebago Navion 24V
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 36GH (Sold)
luvlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 12:51 PM   #9
Member
 
Shadow0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow0120 View Post

I have a 2005 Bus I will look at my wiring schematic and see what I can find and let you know.
On my schematic it is fuse 3 furnace 1 then to the Duo Therm control box on the roof then to the thermostat. But I just pulled my fuse and the power stayed on the thermostat.
__________________
Shadow0120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 08:17 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
I thought about doing that but it is 12 degrees outside and I did not want to mess with anything.
__________________

__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.